Smokey 5/25 AMPS 310 | PMPS 293

Status
Not open for further replies.

Smokey

Member Since 2010
I bought some of the Ketone strips. I use scoop away clumping litter, can I still try to dip it in fresh urine? If not, I'll have to wait until he backs up too far and pees on the back of the litter box so I'll have somehting to dip it in :lol:
 
Re: Smokey 5/25 AMPS 310 - Ketone Question

Hi, I hope Smokey is feeling good this AM. Putting the ketone test strip in fresh urine is the best method of testing for ketones.
 
Re: Smokey 5/25 AMPS 310 - Ketone Question

Though not easy to do, I resorted to stalking Abby and using a long handled kitchen spoon to catch some fresh urine in mid-stream before it hit the litter. Of course then that spoon is forever off limits to the kitchen, but it served it's purpose!
 
Re: Smokey 5/25 AMPS 310 - Ketone Question

Gabby will tolerate my sticking a strip into her urine stream as she's peeing. Some people will put plastic wrap over the litter to get a test. Others will use fish gravel or some other non-absorbent material.
 
Re: Smokey 5/25 AMPS 310 - Ketone Question

I have followed Tarragon around and, when he squats in the box, I stick a piece of plastic down real quick on top of the litter. There is usually at least enough to test. Hope you find your trick! :smile:
 
Re: Smokey 5/25 AMPS 310 - Ketone Question

Hi guys .. glad you bought the ketone testing strips .. thankfully with mocha she always pee's up onto the bag in the LB so it was easy to test .. I hope you figure out the best way to do it .. now come on down off that pink floor smokey! have a great day guys!
 
Re: Smokey 5/25 AMPS 310 - Ketone Question

i have a temporary box made with a box lid (from a case of computer paper) inside a garbage bag and filled with lentils. haven't tested yet, but it's sitting there ready. i'm not sure at what number you're supposed to test. at one point i was told that the first home remedy for a trace of ketones is to get water into them, and i add water to all food - quite a bit.
 
Smokey said:
I bought some of the Ketone strips. I use scoop away clumping litter, can I still try to dip it in fresh urine? If not, I'll have to wait until he backs up too far and pees on the back of the litter box so I'll have somehting to dip it in :lol:

If the litter is freshly wet..yes it will work. Passing it through a stream is better...but I have done this many times. If there are ketones, they will show up this way.
Nice numbers for Smokey today! I am following suit and lowering Alex's dose to see if he'll stop bouncing around. That has worked for me before. Sometimes less is more ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top