?. Smokey 5/20 AM 366|+2 300|+9 342| PM 553

Status
Not open for further replies.

Smokey

Member Since 2010
I went to the 1.75 as recommended to me! Thanks again dosing experts! I've been getting some more spot checks!

Feel free to check on our SS if you have time!!
Have a great weekend everyone!

flip_cat
 
Re: Smokey 5/20 AM 366|+2 300|+9 342 (1.75)u

Smokey said:
I went to the 1.75 as recommended to me! Thanks again dosing experts! I've been getting some more spot checks!

Feel free to check on our SS if you have time!!
Have a great weekend everyone!

flip_cat

It's great that you're getting spot checks today Denne! Good for you. Smokey is having a nice steady day today. I realize that he's in the pinkus schminkus, but better he be even like this than covering all of the colors of the spreadsheet in one day. :lol: That is what my Alex used to do and it can be frustrating. I'm doing some experimenting now and it's happening to me so I can feel your pain when you see that. It's horribly frustrating and the urge to do SOMETHING to the dose can be overwhelming...but don't.

When Libby comes by later I'm sure she'll tell you that the only way to know what Smokey needs (increase, decrease; etc) is to keep at this dose for at least a couple or few days and see what Smokey does with it (spot check, spot check, spot check). If he doesn't move you'll know he needs more,or the opposite... but at least this will be based on several days of data...not a bounce. KWIM?

This is a really great start!!! YAY for you! :-D
 
Re: Smokey 5/20 AM 366|+2 300|+9 342| PM 553

I just tested him PMPS and he tested 553!!!!! I completely went into panic! I had only decreased .25 this morning I just don't understand! I re-read the sticky and it said that if the decrease amount made the numbers high to go back to the last dose. I shot 2 tonight.

Gosh, I just cannot believe all of this! This is the highest Smokey baby has ever been!
 
aw, hate it when you can't find the perfect dose! sorry you're having to struggle with that. sweet little smokey is probably not as crazed as you are . . . i guess it's good they can't read numbers.

hang in there!

you know you get wonky numbers every time doses change. i upped punkin's dose and he went up along with me! wish he'd read the directions!
 
Denne'

You need to shoot 1.75u for several cycles to see how it works. Lantus is not like Vetsulin, you don't dose based on preshot. You also can't make any judgement about how a dose works after one cycle...the shed has not even adjusted to the change in dose yet. Jumping around on dose will give you wonky numbers. Please stick to the 1.75u for at least 6 cycles unless Smokey earns a decrease.

You need patience and consistent dosing with Lantus. Put the handcuffs on, shoot 1.75u for at least 6 cycles, ok? ;-) The only way I would shoot a different dose is if he earns a decrease.

I know it's hard to see the higher numbers, but you can't use Lantus like this....it's not going to work. You can't chase the numbers. I really do sympathize, but please give the advice you got a chance to work.
 
Denne...
You can not keep changing Smokeys dose. You may very well need a higher dose. I think you probably do. But doing all this dose changing is not going to make the process faster. It will make Smokey keep bouncing. You like 2? Smokey is your cat. He was starting to respond to that dose until 'someone' decided to decrease it :) but if you pick 2.0 stick with it for at least 6 cycles as Laurie said and I said before . This may make you uncomfortable if he goes high but you're doing him a disservice if you don't let the lantus work the way it's supposed to.

You can do it :) we've all been been there. It takes time
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top