Re: Smokey 4/24 AMPS-461| +5 399| PMPS-363
I'm sorry, I got called away with a minor emergency (leaking washer)...I wanted to post a more detailed response to you.
Denee', I understand that you want Smokey to feel better...now! Lantus requires patience and consistency to work. You are not going to see instant results....but you won't see instant results from
any insulin. It takes time, and you need to use the insulin properly to get the results you want. If you want to dose based on preshots, you will need to choose a different insulin....you can use ProZinc that way, but NOT Lantus.
Smokey said:
Laurie,
I understand the protocol and have read it several times however, with that said I feel that the BG is just 1 part of this process and that I need to take smokeys behavior into consideration and look at the whole situation.
Lantus is dosed based on BG, not behavior. The behavior will improve when you get the BG numbers to improve. The fact that what you are doing isn't helping his behavior just proves the point.....it's not working because you are not using it properly.
I too want smokey on the lowest dose possible but according to how i understand it, when I get these high numbers consistently, I should increase..? My vet has also told me two different times to decrease the dose as he wants his pre shots between 300-350 (as this should be his highest of the day...I know, I know)
You are not seeing these high numbers
consistently. You are seeing some high numbers, some lower numbers, and some numbers too low to shoot. There are nadirs, and they are not all high...some of them have been in the low blue numbers, which does not indicate a need for more insulin. When you see a 43 at PS time, that indicates a need for LESS insulin, not more.
and then when smokey continues to drink and drink a whole bowl every 12 hours, and his numbers are purple and yellow, we raise it back up. I know this is not exactly as the protocol states and I struggle with that every day. But, when I decrease and see worse behavior (than before) and high numbers, it makes me feel like i should increase again! @-)
But you are increasing again based on seeing higher numbers from a bounce. You don't want to do that, because when the bounce clears, his numbers drop too low because the dose is too high....like last night with the 43.
Furthermore, when I read the renal value is 216 and I am always higher than that, it worries me that I'm damaging organs. It also worries me that smokey doesn't seem to have a nadir and that his highest readings come at +6...that alone throws me off. On 2 units he has days when he is still so high! If i was seeing some type of improvement in behavior like others do, it would at least give me hope! This is so challenging! Thanks for hanging in there with us! Denne'
Sent from my ipad
Do you think it would be more damaging to have him in some higher numbers temporarily, or having a full blown hypoglycemic episode when you are not there? :shock: As far as when the nadir is, and the highest readings at +6, the days when he is high on 2 units....he is bouncing some of the time, and you are looking at bounce cycles. Right now, 2 units is too much for him. Let's try 1.75u and see what happens, ok? You need to try to dose consistently, post as often as you can, and ask questions. It will get better...really it will! But you need to have patience.
If you get low PS numbers, please don't shoot! Post and ask for help, ok? Our top priority is Smokey's safety, and some of us were very concerned about him last night. I'm glad he's ok...but please let us help you...we care!