Smokey 4/18 AMPS 459; +6 56/66/62/62???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Smokey & Kim

Member Since 2013
He took a PLUNGE again... feeling a tsp of gravy ff until I get can get to 70, then I am going to keep a close eye. I'll be around a little more than I have been lately, had a bunch of things to take care of such as taking care of speeding tickets, getting my car legal,... etc..

Before this On the 16th n 17th he was starting out AMPS at 420-429, buy never saw a dip below 200 except at the PMPS on the 17th, where it was 200 on the dot. I gave 1.25 instead of the usual 1.5.


Off to check his 15 min interval. I'll be back. SS will be updated today.
 
I'm guessing you at +7 or 7.25 now? I'd go for every 30 mins, he should be coming up at this time. If you feel more comfortable with 15 min intervals, then stay with that.

You're doing a great job!! :thumbup Those are not dangerous numbers, they are normal for a non diabetic and healing for Smokey. cat_pet_icon

The thing you have to remember is consistency, shooting his normal dose at 200 and monitoring him so he can earn a reduction. If you weren't home, then it's safer to reduce the dose. I don't know if you work outside the home. If he's starting to give you numbers that you can't shoot, he may be looking for a reduction. He can't get that if you don't allow him to, hence the monitoring.

Congrats, you're doing beautifully! :YMHUG:
 
Even once you get him to 70 you will need to check him again for about every hour because the food will wear off and he may dip again. But you are handling this very well. :-D Now tonight he is more than likely going to bounce and be high off those lower than normal numbers.

If he was mine now that you have him on an all canned low diet here is what I would do, I would drop him back to 1u and hold that for 5-7 days unless he give you another super low number again...if that 1u doesn't get him into good numbers we can always slowly raise him, but we don't want a repeat of today.

Also remember on a human meter...normal is between 40-120 so even at 56 you have wiggle room especially since he should start raising on his own shortly towards his next preshot.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
LOL @ Mel, we're posting over each other :lol:

Need to remember to only give a teaspoon full, not 1/4 can, if you need him to eat in 30 min, he won't be hungry. Corn syrup is for hypo, might want to hold off on that and keep it for emergencies.
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Even once you get him to 70 you will need to check him again for about every hour because the food will wear off and he may dip again. But you are handling this very well. :-D Now tonight he is more than likely going to bounce and be high off those lower than normal numbers.

If he was mine now that you have him on an all canned low diet here is what I would do, I would drop him back to 1u and hold that for 5-7 days unless he give you another super low number again...if that 1u doesn't get him into good numbers we can always slowly raise him, but we don't want a repeat of today.

Also remember on a human meter...normal is between 40-120 so even at 56 you have wiggle room especially since he should start raising on his own shortly towards his next preshot.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
Shoot saw that after I gave the korn syrup. I guess Ill know for next time. He's being watched. For me, even when they are GREAT numbers, I've never seen them, so their kinda intimidating!!

Ok, No more karo, and Ill check him every 30 til they start movin on up!! To the kitty side!! lol :lol:
 
You got this girl!! We're hanging out with you, relax and breathe. :-D

I know, the first few times is scarey, it does get easier. :-D After you do this a few times, you'll have more control over it, most of the time anyway and you can let him get closer to 50 so he can earn his reduction. I think his 51 is close enough, chime in here Mel. Obviously, Smokey is telling you he doesn't need as much insulin and would have dropped below 50 had you not been keeping an eye on him. But that's just MHO. :-D I've reduced Lucian at 51 cause I was fighting the drop and knew he would have gotten there.

Good to see some greens! Kitty playing in the grass!

Way to go Smokey!! :RAHCAT
 
LOL I think we all jump the gun when we see our first low numbers. They are scarey as hell when you aren't use to them...then you get to a point like I am with Autumn now where I look at the 72 I just got at +6, (now remember she is a Levemir cat and doesn't nadir until +11), smile, feed their normal lunch and go back to doing what I was doing before I tested, but set an alarm to remind me to check her again in an hour.

Yep he has earned a reduction...I would take him to 1u if we have to go back up later fine, but with the recent diet change...even 1u may prove to be too much.


Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
nckitties3 said:
You got this girl!! We're hanging out with you, relax and breathe. :-D

I know, the first few times is scarey, it does get easier. :-D After you do this a few times, you'll have more control over it, most of the time anyway and you can let him get closer to 50 so he can earn his reduction. I think his 51 is close enough, chime in here Mel. Obviously, Smokey is telling you he doesn't need as much insulin and would have dropped below 50 had you not been keeping an eye on him. But that's just MHO. :-D I've reduced Lucian at 51 cause I was fighting the drop and knew he would have gotten there.

Good to see some greens! Kitty playing in the grass!

Way to go Smokey!! :RAHCAT

Well, see, thing is, I was allowed to sleep in this morning. My dad did his tests food shots,.. he's diabetic so I trust him, but Smokey's needles are alot skinnier than his. Plus his eyesite isn't great. I've showed him a bunch of times where the 1.5 mark is, but who knows if he got the 1.5 or a little bit more.. Im going to do it tonight and tomorrow, and see where that puts him, just to be safe...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top