Smiffy possible hypo or something else?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Looby & Smiffy

Member Since 2016
At about +6 Smiffy started to stagger all over the place like she was drunk (not just a wobble) .

I immediately put a bit of honey on her gums and gave her some high carb treats and then tested her - she was 8.1 (at +5 she was 8.4 so she obviously came down) ...... she was half an hour later 9 ........

Was this a hypo or something else?

At her last trip to the Vet her BP was 140 so not a low blood pressure problem.

The last time she did this was back in the early days of her diagnosis before I could test - happened twice so we reduced her dose and allowed her to graze instead of just eat twice a day ...

Thinking that now that I have given her honey and carbs I will not shoot if she is around 10, give only 0.5 if she is 10-12 and one (maybe) if she is 12 or over ...... that is all if based on whether or not she eats of course.

Advice please?

If not a hypo, what could it be?
 
Saw your post on FB. I don't usually check the main forum. Those are not hypo numbers at all. I had the same thing happen to my Doodles this morning but he has other conditions. Although I over sleep by an hour so wondering if it was because he didn't eat on time. Are you still feeding only twice a day? If so I might at least add a few small snacks. Sorry I don't have any real insight for you.
 
Saw your post on FB. I don't usually check the main forum. Those are not hypo numbers at all. I had the same thing happen to my Doodles this morning but he has other conditions. Although I over sleep by an hour so wondering if it was because he didn't eat on time. Are you still feeding only twice a day? If so I might at least add a few small snacks. Sorry I don't have any real insight for you.
No I leave food out for her to graze on so that she can eat if she feels low and take it away at about +7 so that she is hungry for her next shot which is essential as you know with Caninsulin ie it can't be given without food ....

Although she is a dry junky despite all my efforts, I have managed to get her to eat a bit of wet at lunchtime and have introduced lower carb dry food with healthier ingredients than the prescription diet and since then her numbers have been going down ...

Smiffy's main thread here on the FDMB is called 'Smiffy's numbers lower August/September' which has a bit more background if you are interested (:

What else could it be if not a hypo - her blood pressure is normal and I have just taken her for a walk and she is now stable on her feet ...this hasn't happened for months.

Thank you for responding ...
 
Sorry Jill I don't understand what this is? Oh are you giving @Doodles and Karen a reference to look at of Smiffy's other thread for background information? I am still a bit confused by the way this site works!
Yes, Jill was giving me the link.

Wish I knew what it could be. As mentioned Doodles staggered this morning for about 8ft and then was perfectly fine. He has heart conditions but don't even think it was that as he's perfectly fine now. His BG was 94 this morning which is a normal number. This has happened before but that time his bg was 500. Just keep an eye on Smiffy.

Glad you are feeding more than twice a day. It is easier on them. Dry food is better than no food so don't worry about that. After 15 months I still haven't gotten Doodles completely off the dry. He eats wet now better than ever but still not enough to sustain a proper calorie intake and I refuse to let him widdle away to nothing.
 
Yes, Jill was giving me the link.

Wish I knew what it could be. As mentioned Doodles staggered this morning for about 8ft and then was perfectly fine. He has heart conditions but don't even think it was that as he's perfectly fine now. His BG was 94 this morning which is a normal number. This has happened before but that time his bg was 500. Just keep an eye on Smiffy.

Glad you are feeding more than twice a day. It is easier on them. Dry food is better than no food so don't worry about that. After 15 months I still haven't gotten Doodles completely off the dry. He eats wet now better than ever but still not enough to sustain a proper calorie intake and I refuse to let him widdle away to nothing.
Nice to hear from somebody else who can't get their cat off dry completely!!!

Would love for you to follow us on her main thread "Smiffy's numbers lower August/September"

How are your puss cats/
 
Nice to hear from somebody else who can't get their cat off dry completely
He is finally 75% wet and 25% dry. He gets wet food every 4 hours. Keep trying but I find by giving him a little kibble he does eat the wet food better. Otherwise the brat will literally hold out and starve himself.

I'll jump over to the other thread this afternoon/ follow it.
 
It is now the evening and Smiffy's preshot number is 10.5 (146) which is a great number! And low for her as a PMPS.

Usually I would not give her a shot 10 (180) or under but if she eats well and I test her in half and hour and she is a bit higher I will give her half a unit ...

Just going to test her again now (half an hour later) and see how much she has eaten .....

She has eaten a fair amount and is now 10.9 (196) so have given her half a unit.

I will check her BG again at +3 .....

I am going to e-mail her Vet tomorrow to let her know what happened and that it may have been something other than a low BG level and she what she has to say - it could have been her bit of arthritis and/or the heat that made her stagger as she got up but she really was disoriented so I want to have the Vet's opinon.
 
Last edited:
He is finally 75% wet and 25% dry. He gets wet food every 4 hours. Keep trying but I find by giving him a little kibble he does eat the wet food better. Otherwise the brat will literally hold out and starve himself.

I'll jump over to the other thread this afternoon/ follow it.
Thank you (:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top