So I'm back again unfortunately after my last post about a furshot a month or so ago. We still haven't gotten his condition well managed. He was slowly going down, he was having readings in the 30.0mmol/L area (right before injection), and after consultation with the vet and his curve we increased his dose to 3.25 units of Lantus, and he seemed to go down to around 20.0mmol/L (pre-injection) for about the last week. When I did his curve I believe his nadir was around 12.
He also started showing signs of neuropathy which is making us quite anxious. Walking on his hocks, can't really jump, unsteady walking, etc. We had to switch litter boxes because he was having difficulty getting in and out to pee. I know it can take a while to improve, he's had signs of it for about 2 weeks now? So we were working on increasing his dose, etc and hoping we can get him managed. Its kind of upsetting me to see him struggle like this. I really want to get this fixed.
Unfortunately tonight he registered "HI" for our human meter, and 40.2mmol/L on the Alphatrack 2 meter. I don't think he's had a reading this high in the two months we've been home testing him. Again, for the last week he's been hovering around 20. His food is all the same, been on strict canned only, etc. I'm getting kind of discouraged and confused about this whole situation. I'm really wondering what the next steps would be. I will be hopefully talking to his vet tomorrow (they have a rotating schedule so it can be hard to catch her specifically).
He also started showing signs of neuropathy which is making us quite anxious. Walking on his hocks, can't really jump, unsteady walking, etc. We had to switch litter boxes because he was having difficulty getting in and out to pee. I know it can take a while to improve, he's had signs of it for about 2 weeks now? So we were working on increasing his dose, etc and hoping we can get him managed. Its kind of upsetting me to see him struggle like this. I really want to get this fixed.
Unfortunately tonight he registered "HI" for our human meter, and 40.2mmol/L on the Alphatrack 2 meter. I don't think he's had a reading this high in the two months we've been home testing him. Again, for the last week he's been hovering around 20. His food is all the same, been on strict canned only, etc. I'm getting kind of discouraged and confused about this whole situation. I'm really wondering what the next steps would be. I will be hopefully talking to his vet tomorrow (they have a rotating schedule so it can be hard to catch her specifically).