slight hypo? dose decrease tomorrow?

Status
Not open for further replies.
We are at +4 now? He didn't drop enough yet for a decrease (50) and its not a hypo unless he goes under 40 and /or shows symptoms.

Anyway another test in 30 please and hold off on any more HC till we see that next test and decide.

Thanks
Wendy
 
this is re-typed...for some reason it did not post...or if it did sorry ditto

okay tested again 30 min later and he has gone up

+4 was 66 +5 was 66 +5 1/2 86

okay......I think I can relax. sorry I freaked as I have never seen a 66 and certainly not at +4......didn't know how quickly it would drop before nadir. I went back and re-read HYPO ON ALPHATRAK and saw where I should have (yes waited for 50, but freestyle was 54) but given 1 teas of regular LOW FF. I gave the higher carb FF. but at least I didn't break out the syrup!!!!! my e-cig is hot though!!!

okay.....I guess I keep this dose......I am home all day/night to monitor and try not to freak so quick.......

so test again when? when can I rest?

thanks all

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... yd1E#gid=0
 
Its okay, we have all gotten a little scared and panicky when our cats had there first low number. You are doing great - and as long as you test & feed when needed - you are in control, and have nothing to worry about.
 
Ok I think I see that you gave HC at +5? So the current +5.5 86 could well be the HC. Another test at in 30 please to ensure he doesn't drop when the HC wears off.

Also if this was the alphatrak, you do get a dose decrease (anything under 80)

Lastl can you add "alphatrak" in big bold letters to your signature

Thanks

Wendy
 
no not alphatrak......

using relion confirm

PMPS 331

+4 66
+4.5 66
+5 86


FREESTYLE (as backup)

+4.5 54
+5 93


fed 1 teas. of HC FF at +4.5


re-test when?
 
sorry about the alphatrak confusion!! I meant to say I went back to an older 911 posting titled: something alphatrak...either this am or last nights

I do not have an alphatrak
 
Ah ok.. Sorry long day and I am tired;)

Another test at +5.5 please...

We can stop when we get two rising numbers without HC influence.

Thanks
Wendy
 
okay....now 132

feel so bad that I blew that nice low number.,.......it is what we all want....I get it and can't open up that HC food quick enough!! so glad you all just told me today just 1 teas....I would have given him entire can. god, what a newbie!!!
 
Its okay!!! I mightve done the same thing for my cats first low number!! You still did great!!! And good you only gave him 1 tsp. dont worry you did good - but now you know for next time to save the HC food for numbers under 50 :-D
 
No worries. If he has earned a decrease he will do it again.

Maybe another test in 30 just to be sure?
You did the right thing by coming here and posting.. Don't worry it's a lot to learn.

Wendy
 
yes,,,,,,,,,,,,remember next time:

wait until 50's.....then 1 teas. regular LC FF

it was nice to see how quickly those numbers do rise....puts me back in the driving seat~~~as Jamie and Jupiter said

I am in control......right?

hahaha

thank you all so much......you all care so much about our sweet kitties.....and overly stressed beans.....meanwhile, my hubby is snoring away.......why is that?
 
Depends where he is in the cycle. If he hits 50 fast early in the cycle I might reach for the HC to abort the cycle and bring him up. If in doubt , post.
 
sorry for the delay.......I tried to get last test, nope kitty won't have it....too much of a struggle. I tried several times but have finally decided to leave him alone.,...he acts fine.,...

I can't thank you all enough......

I will be much cooler next time......

I haven't had time to figure out how to signature my SS yet....but will.

here is a copied link


https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... yd1E#gid=0
 
tomtom13 said:
.. my e-cig is hot though!!!
Hey fellow vaper!!!! What brand/cartomizer do you use? favorite flavor? In our house, we use the eGo Mega with e-juice. Hubby uses dual coil cartomizer and I use the iClear 16 :-D We mix most of our juice and are slowly stepping down on the nicotine--e-cigs are so awesome--we quit the nasties one and a half years ago...I buy my clearomizers in pretty colors and try to coordinate my batteries :lol: Hubby tends to like the RY4 and 555 flavors; whereas I go for the dessert and beverage flavors: strawberry banana smoothie, pecan pie, mocha, irish cream, banana, cheesecake, pecan cheesecake pie, orange creamsicle, white chocolate, blah, blah, blah :-D
 
tomtom13 said:
okay....now 132

feel so bad that I blew that nice low number...iI get it and can't open up that HC food quick enough!!...what a newbie!!!
You don't need to "feel so bad" and you didn't "blow [blew] that nice low number" on purpose. We've all been there/done that (well, most of us and ME especially). You're new and this is a learning process. The first time Gobbles' went in the 70s I gave him karo and had to physically restrain myself from pulling my hair out :lol: I was a total whacko, basket-case, wreck; but a very worried mommy!!! I see that you've started to test more often; that's awesome and gives you (and us) a bigger picture as to how the insulin is working and how he reacts! We are all "in control" of our cats, but newbies need a lot of guidance and need to ask lots of questions; please ask away and remember: the dumbest question asked is the one you haven't asked. Believe me, I've been where you are right now. It's a learning process. Don't beat yourself up. I did that when I was a newbie as well (probably for more than 2 months!!!) and was chastised for doing so. You are doing a fabulous job and I'm so glad you joined our family here. We're here to help you, to support you, to hold your hand and educate you :-D One day soon, you'll be ready to help others....
 
I loved looking at Goobles' SS.......very encouraging to see his numbers (all over the place at first) and to see the final result!! YA to you and Goobles!! That has to be the best feeling in the world......I tell myself if I am ever fortunate enough to join the OTJ Club it would be my greatest accomplishment! truly

E-cigs: my hubby has the flavors with cartomizer....switches them out all the time. I just use the disposable Blu classic tobacco.....times like these I really would like the real thing.....but can't stand the smell on me....so this is a great option. and believe me........they have been a mind and nerve saver lately! so awful we need our crutches. I keep telling myself I need to just have a glass of wine every night for Tom's mystery numbers.....I do so wish I could be one of those blessed laid back chill people

the reason I freaked out over his green numbers is because I don't understand how his BG can drop so drastically and then for some reason I am to believe they will just level out before hypo starts? is it because the liver will help this from happening? (obviously it does not in some unfortunate kitties....but usually?)

Another concern: if I know that his insulin has the strength to drop his numbers almost 300 points some days.....how can I give that same amount when he doesn't have a high AMPS or PMPS?
~~meaning he doesn't have 300 points to spare
another question: I am usually home to monitor and encourage eating (fresh can), but I do have to leave this house sometimes (or I will soon be divorced!) ...and I am worried too death to do so ...........can I shoot lower those mornings/evenings?

thank you all for your value to me

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... yd1E#gid=0
 
the reason I freaked out over his green numbers is because I don't understand how his BG can drop so drastically and then for some reason I am to believe they will just level out before hypo starts? is it because the liver will help this from happening? (obviously it does not in some unfortunate kitties....but usually?)
Yes the liver helps by pumping out glycogen and counter regulatory hormones to raise the numbers back to what it considers normal. If your cat has been in high numbers for some time, too low may mean numbers in the100's and 200's, not just below 50. A clinical hypo with symptoms with Lantus is rare. We don't know which kitties will have symptoms when they get into the 20's and 30's so we treat all cats with numbers in the 40's with a bit of food. We think it's better to give some support and not risk convulsions, seizures or death.

We manage with food and karo if needed to stop the bounces from going too high as well as to keep the numbers from going too low and a hypo occurring. The goal is to keep your cat in lower healing numbers, for as long a period as possible. bounces are counter productive to this strategy. This is why we feed sometimes to keep the numbers on a more even keel. Surfing we call it.

Another concern: if I know that his insulin has the strength to drop his numbers almost 300 points some days.....how can I give that same amount when he doesn't have a high AMPS or PMPS?
~~meaning he doesn't have 300 points to spare
You get those tests mid-cycle, to see how your cat reacts. Your cat may not always drop 300 points in a cycle. You may feel more comfortable following the SLGS protocol. Number below 90 earns a dose reduction.

another question: I am usually home to monitor and encourage eating (fresh can), but I do have to leave this house sometimes (or I will soon be divorced!) ...and I am worried too death to do so ...........can I shoot lower those mornings/evenings?
You really don't want to be changing the dose frequently with Lantus because you will be constantly draining and refilling the depot. And get wacky numbers most of the time. What you can do is, you can leave some extra food out. Either some low carb or medium carb, depending on the BG number before you have to leave the house. Kitty will usually go searching for food when they feel themselves dropping low.

Starting shoot/no shoot threshold is 200. You have 3 choices in this case. Skip the shot, stall the shot and food until the number is higher, give a reduced dose. So if you need to leave and are really worried, pick one of these options.

You hold the needle, you make the decisions. It is always your choice.
 
So once the liver becomes more and more accepting of "insulin drops" in BG....that is when the BG curve levels out better...not so many ups and downs in a 12 hr period?
 
tomtom13 said:
let me get this straight: if following the Tight lantus Protocol , once kitty drops below 50 (newly diagnosed), a reduction is needed.

Does this mean ONE TIME? meaning drops below 50 once.....

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... yd1E#gid=0
Hey Vaper :lol: Below is a link that lays out the Tight Regulation Protocol. Yes, one time below 50 for newly diagnosed kitties (believe it or not, "newly diagnosed" means a cat that has been diagnosed within the last six months), When you have a little bit of extra time, read the sticky below. It is somewhat difficult to absorb at once, so please ask, ask, away any questions you have.

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581
 
tomtom13 said:
I loved looking at Goobles' SS.......very encouraging to see his numbers (all over the place at first) and to see the final result!! YA to you and Goobles!! That has to be the best feeling in the world......I tell myself if I am ever fortunate enough to join the OTJ Club it would be my greatest accomplishment! truly....
I'm glad you looked over Gobbles' SS and I think it is really encouraging for new members to see it, especially when their kitties are bouncing to kingdom come as he did...and he did it for quite a long while! I never really thought he would be OTJ; I'd break down in tears for him...and more than a few times! Total whack job, I was (well, still am and proudly always have been--just much worse pre-OTJ). Don't sweat freaking out--happens to all of us in the early days, really. OTJis really such an awesome feeling; I'm so happy to see my BFF (best fur friend) back to his old self: CPC-ing (FDMB lingo--CPC = Clean Plate Club = a kitty with a real good appetite), normal-size pee clumps, running, playing and doing his normal wake up call: licks my face (eww....with the same mouth that cleans his butt), "hits" me in the face (if the licking doesn't wake me up), sinking his claws into my scalp (if hitting doesn't work), biting my nose (if all else fails) THEN he prances to the bathroom and kindly takes some TP off the roll for me; such a thoughtful boy :lol: TomTom has an excellent chance at being OTJ; cats on the Lantus TRP have the best chance during their first 6 months of diagnosis; Gobbles' OTJ Trial started at exactly his sixth month! It took a lot of hard work, worrying, sleepless nights and lots & lots of testing--but he did it. Paws crossed that TomTom does as well!!!
 
Ha ha ha-------I love Gobbles! what a fun morning routine for you both. Now I know why you worked so hard to heal him....you missed your nose bites!

Thank you so much for the encouragement----I can only hope for the best but at the end of the day all I can ask for is a happy mostly healthy insulin getting kitty.........

now it is time for me to get my +4 reading......I don't know if I am wishing for a 60 or a 160..........ha
 
tomtom13 said:
Ha ha ha-------I love Gobbles! what a fun morning routine for you both. Now I know why you worked so hard to heal him....you missed your nose bites!

Thank you so much for the encouragement----I can only hope for the best but at the end of the day all I can ask for is a happy mostly healthy insulin getting kitty.........

now it is time for me to get my +4 reading......I don't know if I am wishing for a 60 or a 160..........ha
Let us know what the +4 is -- don't worry if its low -- we'll help ya!!!
 
well darn it, hasn't moved..........PMPS 366, +4 360. I know it was a good shot.....no smell.....what is that called? a bounce? is that it for the night then for testing or could it still kick in?

a question about med. carb foods. Does this mean in the 5-10% range from Dr. Pierson's list?

does a low carb food from the list mean less than 5%?

or anything 10% or less is good anytime?

thanks
 
A bounce can take up to 72 hours to clear so it could still be a bounce

I think a low carb is under 10%
Medium 10-15%
High above 15%

But it depends on your cat and how they react to carbs. I prefer my boys under 8%.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top