SLGS Question 4/3 Joey PMPS=287, +2=142, +4=82, +5=58, +5.5=52, +6=68

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marty

Member Since 2018
It's been a few days since Joey has been taken off of dry food so his numbers are dropping nicely. At +4 he's now at an 82 which is the lowest number we've gotten for him, therefore I'm curious if I should give him HC wet food to try to up his numbers a bit and break this cycle. Also, it would seem that since his numbers are below 90 I should lower his dose for tomorrow. Thoughts?
 
At +4 he's now at an 82 which is the lowest number we've gotten for him,
Joey has earned a .25u dose reduction. New dose will be 1.75u. The SLGS guidelines use 90 as the signal to reduce.
I'm curious if I should give him HC wet food to try to up his numbers a bit and break this cycle.
I would offer a teaspoon of LC and Check after 1/2 hr. It’s an opportunity to see if it brings him up or keeps him steady.

A change from dry to all LC wet can have a dramatic effect on BG with reductions coming fast and furious. I recommend you expect the unexpected for the near future :cool:

 
Joey has earned a .25u dose reduction. New dose will be 1.75u. The SLGS guidelines use 90 as the signal to reduce.
I would offer a teaspoon of LC and Check after 1/2 hr. It’s an opportunity to see if it brings him up or keeps him steady.

A change from dry to all LC wet can have a dramatic effect on BG with reductions coming fast and furious. I recommend you expect the unexpected for the near future :cool:
Thanks. I just tested him again at +5 and he's a 58. I gave him a teaspoon of LC and will test again at +5.5 unless I should take more corrective action immediately
 
Guess this could be considered my first PJ party. And I was ready for bed right after his shot (yawn emoji)
 
I’ll hang out with you. :cool:

You have some HC with gravy? If he has not turned around at your next test, give him a tsp of HC gravy.

I’ll be looking for the +5.5.
 

You have some HC with gravy? If he has not turned around at your next test, give him a tsp of HC gravy.

I’ll be looking for the +5.5.

+5.5 was 52 so I fed him HC with gravy. Will be doing another test in about 15 minutes for the +6

I’ll hang out with you. :cool:

Thanks, everyone else has been in bed for hours. But on the bright side it's giving me time to try to build some charts based off of his SS data
 
It generally takes 20 mins for HC to hit the bloodstream.

We had our fair share of pj parties back in the day. ;)
Numbers went up to 68 so that's good. How soon is too soon to throw in the towel for the night? :D And how do people catch this when they're away for a while? Do cats most of the time make it out of the below 50 dips on their own?
 
It generally takes 20 mins for HC to hit the bloodstream.

We had our fair share of pj parties back in the day. ;)
And sorry about Black Kitty. He's a good looking cat. We have a black one named Inky, but he's not quite as stoic looking as Black Kitty. He's more of a rollie pollie
 
Numbers went up to 68 so that's good. How soon is too soon to throw in the towel for the night? :D
its a good idea to get 2 tests where numbers are stable or rising without food. So, get another test in 30-40 mins and take it from there. Did you feed that 68?
And how do people catch this when they're away for a while?
Define 'a while'.
Do cats most of the time make it out of the below 50 dips on their own?
For safety, we like to see kitties stay above 50.

coffee.jpg

If you have not already done so, print a copy of the SLGS guidelines
, specifically the section that speaks to what to do when faced with PS numbers lower than you have experienced. Something tells me you will need to keep it handy;)
 
68 and 70 are essentially the same. Being that Joey is in uncharted territory if he were mine I would get another test in 30 mins.

Looks like it's bye-bye black for Joey :D
 
68 and 70 are essentially the same. Being that Joey is in uncharted territory if he were mine I would get another test in 30 mins.

Looks like it's bye-bye black for Joey :D
Since the numbers held consistent I think I'm going to call it a night. Thanks for the advice and keeping me company!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top