? SLGS dosing advice

Moms2Tigger&Blu

Member Since 2018
Can someone take a look at Tigger's SS the past few weeks and comment on my choices regarding increasing and decreasing. I feel like everytime I'm about to increase he has a hypo episode and I end up decreasing. I'm always too late posting my questions and have gotten very few responses. My vet is not helpful as they believe in half unit changes and no spot testing. Any advice/insight appreciated.
 
On 9/16 you took a reduction. With AT reduction is taken under 68. You gave hc food. With those particular readings lc probably would have been ok.

Tiggers is very new to all this. He is going to fluctuate for awhile. Since your doing SLGS your going to hold this dose for 7 days unless he goes below 68.
 
When you say "hypo episode", do you mean he is showing hypo symptoms, or just showing low numbers?

As Chris said, you decrease when he goes below 90, so you've been right on those reductions. As for increasing, I don't see when you would have been thinking of those lately, as his nadirs have been between 90 and 150, which means holding the dose.

Tigger sure likes to bounce. :rolleyes:
 
When you say "hypo episode", do you mean he is showing hypo symptoms, or just showing low numbers?
As Chris said, you decrease when he goes below 90, so you've been right on those reductions. As for increasing, I don't see when you would have been thinking of those lately, as his nadirs have been between 90 and 150, which means holding the dose.
Tigger sure likes to bounce. :rolleyes:

One time he woke up from nap, seemed wobbly and wouldn't settle. When I tested he was lower than normal, not too low but it was super early in cycle. I think that was 9/15 pm.

Then towards the end of 1.25 units I was considering going back up to 1.5 - he had only ever had one nadir at 134, but then he went green the night before I would have increased. This night, 9/22, I only tested when I did because he was demanding food at 11pm. He usually gets a midnight/1am snack after I test but he was like "NO, NOW!" and he of course knew best and tested at 55/56.
 
His 188 at +11.5 today - even after only a half dose really surprised me. Thank god fasting bloodwork is over! The boy came home and ate 2 full cans of FF over the past few hours!
 
Back
Top