simonsugar
Member Since 2025
Hi all, this is my first post here, but I have been tracking my sugar cat's numbers for almost a year, please see spreadsheet: Simon's SS
I am having a really hard time. EVERY time I try to bump him up above 2.5 as per SLGS guidelines, we have a horrible time and I get super frustrated and feel like I've failed my sweet sugar cat, Simon. He is incredibly tolerant, and I want to help stabilize him so he feels better. I home test using his back paws, he hates the ear pricks. The vet doesn't really want me messing with dose (she wants him on 3 IU), aside from "no insulin if <200" which would have sent him into even more bounce cycles. I will do whatever is best for Simon, my whole life revolves around his shot routine and testing, but right now, I feel like I am not doing a good enough job taking care of him.
Please look at the SS and let me know if you see what I am missing?? He is VERY picky and gets low carb wet food (refuses FF and Friskies pate) 4-5x/day. If I miss his midnight snack or he won't eat, he WILL be low for AMPS. I work at 530AM so it is very challenging when he decides not to eat when I wake up at midnight to feed him. He won't eat from an autofeeder unless I am sitting with him (defeats that whole purpose). His brother will scarf and barf if I just leave a bowl of food out. Right now, his choice food is Kirkland wet food pate, and Petco Wholehearted Chicken Flakes. I will top with Dr. Elsey's Chicken dry food as a tempter. The dry does nothing to his BG as I have tried to give it to him to bring him up from a mid-low when I need to leave and then I retest in 20-60 minutes and BG has not changed by more than 5-10. He was on Prozinc previously and we could not get him regulated, so I asked to switch to Lantus. Please, help me help him so I don't lose my mind in the process.
I am having a really hard time. EVERY time I try to bump him up above 2.5 as per SLGS guidelines, we have a horrible time and I get super frustrated and feel like I've failed my sweet sugar cat, Simon. He is incredibly tolerant, and I want to help stabilize him so he feels better. I home test using his back paws, he hates the ear pricks. The vet doesn't really want me messing with dose (she wants him on 3 IU), aside from "no insulin if <200" which would have sent him into even more bounce cycles. I will do whatever is best for Simon, my whole life revolves around his shot routine and testing, but right now, I feel like I am not doing a good enough job taking care of him.
Please look at the SS and let me know if you see what I am missing?? He is VERY picky and gets low carb wet food (refuses FF and Friskies pate) 4-5x/day. If I miss his midnight snack or he won't eat, he WILL be low for AMPS. I work at 530AM so it is very challenging when he decides not to eat when I wake up at midnight to feed him. He won't eat from an autofeeder unless I am sitting with him (defeats that whole purpose). His brother will scarf and barf if I just leave a bowl of food out. Right now, his choice food is Kirkland wet food pate, and Petco Wholehearted Chicken Flakes. I will top with Dr. Elsey's Chicken dry food as a tempter. The dry does nothing to his BG as I have tried to give it to him to bring him up from a mid-low when I need to leave and then I retest in 20-60 minutes and BG has not changed by more than 5-10. He was on Prozinc previously and we could not get him regulated, so I asked to switch to Lantus. Please, help me help him so I don't lose my mind in the process.