Slashy & Rick AMPS 284 - PMPS 350

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello All, been a while since I have posted. Don't like to unless I have something relevant to say or ask but am in need of some advice.

Slashy's spreadsheet https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key ... l=en#gid=0

As you can see, he is been running pretty high, dispite dosecreases. Here is our routine and situation.

He had been eating nine lives chicken dinner for quite a while.. 2 cans per day. Alot I know but he hasn't gained any weight at all. He would get just short of half a can at AMPS, following his shot and on my way to work he got the balance of the half can in an automatic feeder. then the other half a can is distributed in the feeder for feeding at +3, +6 and +9.

A while back at the same time as a dose increase I cut the total food down to 1.75-1.5 cans total, trying to get him down without another dose increase. I believe that is noted in my spreadsheet.

Another issue is constipation... he was on mirilax (sp?) for a very long time and on a pretty high dose and it just didnt work at all. Switched to metamucil and it is somewhat better. He gets approx half a teaspoon at amps and pmps, mixed with approximately 14 tablespoons of water. Water is also mixed with the food he gets from the feeder. He probably gets more water on the weekends when i am home, feeding him following testing at +3, +6 and +9.

Recently switched food to Fancy Feast chicken and liver. Hoping it drops his numbers and helps w/ the consipation.

Next issue is pancreatitis... had a bad bout sometime ago.. Most likely caused by the Methyl B12 he was getting to treat neuropathy (which is thankfully gone). I started giving him methyl 2x's per week and he had another, slighter bout followed so no more of that.

Anyway, that is all the details I can think of at the moment. I can't seem to get him down in the blue on any kind of regular basis and it is frustrating. Any advice or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Lastly, Slashy is a 12-13 year old Mainecoon. Has cardiomyopathy, but is totally controlled and havent had any incidents in many years. Takes 15 mg of time elapse diltazem (sp?) every day.

Thanks all.. happy Holidays! Hope all is well with everyone.

Rick
 
Re: Slashy & Rick AMPS 307

Hi Rick....I was wondering what food he gets during the night? Any snacks and at what time?

I think you might do better if you feed at different times during the cycles....feeding earlier on and having Slashy fast for at least 4 hours before preshot. That 3 hours between his last snack could be raising the preshot number. That is if he eats it all then at +9. If he eats right before you test him, there will be a food spike.

I see that you do not do testing at night regularly. The kitties do seem to go lower during the PM cycle and without tests, there is no record of what they are doing. If you are home in the evenings, maybe you can start doing some spot checks and get one before bed time check too. Without the night time information, you are only seeing half the picture. There can be a range of numbers even if the prehot is pink.

How did his tests turn out awhile back? Was there a reason for the vet visit? I am thinking that if you can, it would be good to always get a preshot test in too.... So, how is Slashy feeling? All Ps in place usually? Purring, Peeing, Preening, Pooping, Playing?
 
Re: Slashy & Rick AMPS 307

Hello..thank you for the reply.

I know I am not good at nighttime testing... Hard to get myself to do it when he is so high. I have been better with them when he is lower.

He gets tested before the am/pmps feeding.

At night he gets a snack at +1.5 or +2. Then another when he wakes me up at around +4 to +7. (he is relentless for this snack).

Reason for the vet visit and tests a while back were his bout with pancreatitis... we wanted to test for that in a more normal situation (not during the attack).

As far as everything else, I know he still has constipation.. I think he poops every other day. Sometimes they are very large and pretty hard. Peeing all over the basement, but sometimes uses the boxes (we have 3 others).. I beleive he doesnt like the box because of the constipation. I have seen him pee because he is straining so hard to go. Other than that, he is grooming, cuddles and easily goes up and down stairs. Havent seen him play in a very long time.

Thank you Pat!!!!!!!!
 
Re: Slashy & Rick AMPS 307

Have you tried adding some Omega 3 oil to his diet at all? Raja will not eat it, but Shadow will lick it right off a plate if I open the capsule. I know some people use a tiny bit of olive oil on the food too....the oil might help with his straining.
He might just lap it up like Shadow does. Or, he might be like Raja and sense it in the food and balk at it. Dunno unless you try it.
It is good that you are giving so much extra water with the metamucil....

I hope you get suggestions from others too. I assume all else on his blood work was normal....
When you say Ff chicken and Liver, do you mean Filet & Pate Chicken & Liver Feast? If so, that is 8% carbs...
There are so many flavors...can't keep up with them all... :razz:
You might check the old and new canned foods on the Janet & Binky Chart: http://felinediabetes.com/diabetic-cat-diets.htm

Here's where i found the chicken: http://binkyspage.tripod.com/CanFoodOld.html

I like to feed <5% and my tow like the Wellness chicken and the FF Chopped grill feast in the kelly green.
Check the food you are giving him against the food chart and see what it comes out to, k?
 
Re: Slashy & Rick AMPS 307

Pat,

Thanks on the reply and thanks on the omega/olive oil suggestion. I am on it. If I mix it with the food/water/metimucil he will gloom it down.. He is wilding for food. Dose suggestions on either? I have olive oil and omega 2-6-9 on hand.

All other bloodwork is good..

To clarify on the pancreatitis and recent vet visit... he had the attack and measured over 50 on the Psi(?) test (5 is bad) but this was during the attack and he had eaten a bit. We did a fasted test a week later to see what a more "normal" number for him was, he got a 7.

rick
 
Re: Slashy & Rick AMPS 307

I am an Omega 3 fish oil fan myself....and try a dribble of it...like a capsule amount. Not sure if that 2-6-9 is good for long term. 2=Omega 3 I believe....and the 6 is flaxseed oil, not the best for kitties I have heard, and the 9=olive oil.
Is that ratio correct according to the label?
See how he likes that and use the fish oil after that maybe.

Check out the food carbs though...you might be able to get a lower carb food for him and that will help too...
 
Re: Slashy & Rick AMPS 307

I agree with Pat that if you can try to get at minimum, a before bed spot check routinely, that may help to let you know if numbers are dropping at night. I know you've heard this before, but many cats do run lower numbers during the PM cycle. Given that you're not home to test during the AM cycle, it can be important to get data on those days when you're not home during the PM cycle.

Has your vet made any suggestions regarding the constipation? It may be that Slashy could benefit from a stool softener. This is different from a laxative. I don't know if this is used in cats but it is used in humans.

I'm not sure that I understood your point about the Methyl B-12 causing the pancreatitis. From what I've read, there may be a relationship between folate deficiency and pancreatitis but I've not come across any information relating methylcobalamine and pancreatitis. (If you have any info, could you send it to me via PM?) Also, in most cases you want to get an fPLI done during the acute phase of a pancreatitis attack. Otherwise, you may get a false negative.

Looking at Slashy's numbers, it looks like he needs more insulin. What I would suggest is that you increase his dose. I'd also suggest you give some thought to not holding doses quite as long as you are typically doing. I'm concerned that Slashy is getting used to being in higher numbers and it gets harder and harder to get his numbers to come back down the longer he's at a dose that isn't working particularly well. Once we see a cat get into the higher dose ranges, it may be time to consider testing for high dose conditions. Neither acromegaly or insulin autoantibodies (IAA) may be present, but it may be worth getting these conditions evaluated. The evaluation is by a blood test that's sent to Michigan State University. There is a great deal of information on these conditions and the tests in this link from the high dose forum.
 
Slashy & Rick AMPS 284

Good Morning,

I am increasing the dose to 5.75 right now. Will review the high dose info and discuss w/ my vet. Will change the feeder times tonight when I have some time. Will review the food chart for something better..the FF he is now eating is chicken and beef pate.

Will also try to find the test results that cited B12 as the pancreatits cause.

Thanks all!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Rick
 
Re: Slashy & Rick AMPS 307

"When you say Ff chicken and Liver, do you mean Filet & Pate Chicken & Liver Feast? If so, that is 8% carbs...
There are so many flavors...can't keep up with them all... :razz:
You might check the old and new canned foods on the Janet & Binky Chart: http://felinediabetes.com/diabetic-cat-diets.htm

Here's where i found the chicken: http://binkyspage.tripod.com/CanFoodOld.html

I like to feed <5% and my tow like the Wellness chicken and the FF Chopped grill feast in the kelly green.
Check the food you are giving him against the food chart and see what it comes out to, k?[/quote]


According to the chart, Fancy Feast chicken and beef has 3% carbs (if I am reading it correctly).. Does it get any better than that?
 
350,, Ouch. Am resetting the auto feeder for tomorrow. He will get snacks at +3, 5 and 8. See how it goes.

Sent the link concerning large doses to my Vet today. Will discuss w/ her tomorrow or the next day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top