Skipping PM Dose: right decision?

Status
Not open for further replies.

123joan

Active Member
Skipping PM dose because of falling numbers. For heaven's sake, I cannot get through this decision without support/advice.

I've been keeping her dose steady at 1 unit for ten days (world's record for us).
Today:
AMPS 296
PMPS 175
waited 20 minutes: 164
waited 20 minutes: 160
Decided to go ahead and feed them, and skip her PM shot.
What about that decision?
Holy Moly.
Lucy is such a good girl, patiently waiting through poke after poke, just wanting that FANCY FEAST.
 
Re: Skipping PM Dose

Good decision, Joan. Don't doubt yourself; you know how this works. Encouraging numbers! I think you are getting close with this dose. Wonder if she had a nadir of lower numbers or if this is just a long cycle...... I wonder about the next cycle trying a skinny one unit - just a tad less than one- if you can be around midcycle?
 
Joan,
Your other option when your right on the no-shoot line would be to shoot a reduced amount like .5u, or just a token dose like .25u, just so you don't go 24 hours with no insulin.
For reasons known only to Lucy, however, today she figured tossing a blue number into the mix would be fun. Nice to see, but I can't find the logic. Something just worked better today, and/or for longer than normal. Was her feeding routine different?

Carl
 
AMPS +24 306
1 Unit

She must have had a good time throwing that blue number at me. Watch me go into a TIZZY!
I think that's a good idea, to shoot a token dose. If and when this happens again, that will be my plan. I wonder what will go on today, after yesterday's big blip.
 
I like the token dose IF the number is rising. Yours was falling. I think you played it right. If you could have waited until it was moving up, not down, without feeding her, then a token dose would have been good. But usually they are biting your ankles by then. :mrgreen:

The other time to do a token dose is 2 hours after feeding when you can be sure the number is "true". If she is high enough then, you could shoot a lower dose than usual. The problem then is that you have screwed up your 12/12 schedule as you would have been at least +14.

She is not super high this am, even at 24 hours without insulin.

I know my advice is not the same as Carl's. Either he is braver than I am (quite possible :mrgreen: ) or he missed it was a falling number.
 
The screwing up of the schedule takes almost a week to get back on track, I don't want to go there if I don't have to. Last night I really couldn't have waited any longer for either another BG test, or to feed.
I am happy that her number isn't super-high this morning even though it's been 24 hours since her last insulin injection.
Even though I say I have a plan for the next time it happens, knowing me I will be right back at the board scrolling through past posts, and trying to come up with yet another last minute decision. Not boring at our house.
It would seem that .25 is hardly a dose at all, but then if this morning she was in the blues again, I would have been at a loss for what to do.
Once again, Lucy and I are thankful for the advice, encouragement and all this discussion.
Am I WACKO? I don't think so, but sometimes it occurs to me that maybe I am. At least just a little.
 
Sue,
That's what peer review is all about:-)
I didn't presume it was a falling number though. Flat maybe? But I think there was a lower number in the middle somewhere.

Also, not as concerned with falling numbers unless the drop is sizeable. You could have boosted it with medium carb food at shot time, or two feedings instead of one in the first few hours of the cycle. The reduced dose should lessen the drop?

Food, and reduced doses are the "weapons" we have to influence a cycle. I know food works well. Having spent much of my time watching things in TR, and seeing what food does, I believe PZIers actually have an advantage in that we can tweak the dose if needed. They can't do that. They stick with a dose and use food to steer the numbers. We can do either, or both.

It's a matter of experimentation, and data collection.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top