Bacio
Member Since 2015
My kitty (Bacio) was diagnosed 3 weeks ago. His BG was 499. I'm certain I caught his condition early as he was drinking/urinating too much for only a week or so.
Vet started him on Novolin N (I am aware that this is one of the harsher insulins). We started at 2U, tried 3U (we quickly learned this was too much) and went back to 2U.
He was on Hill's Prescription W/D for about 2 weeks. I switched him to Fancy Feast Classics based on recommendations here. He has been eating that for about a week now.
The past few days, 1U or no dose at all has been keeping his numbers pretty normal.
Yesterday, he had no insulin at all and was 80-115 all day. This morning he was 167 so I gave him 1U (based on previous testing #s) he dropped to 48 this afternoon and I gave him some high-carb treats.
Questions:
- What is the lowest preshot BG test # I should still shoot at? This morning for example @ 167, I'm sure he would have gone up after eating without the insulin, but 1U took him pretty low (48).
- Is skipping doses bad? Am I putting him at risk in some way by being irregular with insulin usage? Someone told me yesterday their cat takes a does of insulin every few days and that is normal for them. I had never heard that before.
- Could these low doses/skipped doses be a sign of remission?
Vet started him on Novolin N (I am aware that this is one of the harsher insulins). We started at 2U, tried 3U (we quickly learned this was too much) and went back to 2U.
He was on Hill's Prescription W/D for about 2 weeks. I switched him to Fancy Feast Classics based on recommendations here. He has been eating that for about a week now.
The past few days, 1U or no dose at all has been keeping his numbers pretty normal.
Yesterday, he had no insulin at all and was 80-115 all day. This morning he was 167 so I gave him 1U (based on previous testing #s) he dropped to 48 this afternoon and I gave him some high-carb treats.
Questions:
- What is the lowest preshot BG test # I should still shoot at? This morning for example @ 167, I'm sure he would have gone up after eating without the insulin, but 1U took him pretty low (48).
- Is skipping doses bad? Am I putting him at risk in some way by being irregular with insulin usage? Someone told me yesterday their cat takes a does of insulin every few days and that is normal for them. I had never heard that before.
- Could these low doses/skipped doses be a sign of remission?


