Skip dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jena4277

Member Since 2017
Hi- my kitty had a hypo incident last night. I tested today and at her AM +11 hour she had 157 so I decided to not shoot the PM dose. Just tested at her PM +6 hour and it's 443. She is due to shoot at 5am and I'm afraid her number will double. What should I look out for in case of a hyper emergency?
 
Well, 20 is really really low. That range can cause permanent issues. You may want to establish a no-dose value. For Leo, I selected 200. If he is below 200, then I do not dose him.

Going high is not an emergency unless it is a persistent condition. Many kittehs go high at the end of their 12 hour schedule. As you post more history, it will be easier to see a trend. Kudos to you for taking care of Abby and also maintaining a spreadsheet.
 
What should I look out for in case of a hyper emergency?

Hi numbers take time to do any damage....it's the low ones that kill quickly.

In the future, if you get a Pre-shot that's lower than you've shot before, stall, DON'T feed and post for help....someone will stay and watch to make sure you and Abby are safe. Make sure your subject line says something like "STALLING, NEED HELP!" so someone will notice and come to help out.

Test again in 20-30 minutes and see if they're coming up without the influence of food....that can tell you a lot about whether it's safe to go ahead and shoot or not.

Also, the +11 was a good test to get, but you should have repeated it at PMPS time (+12)....a LOT can happen in an hour so we never try to predict where they'll be when it's actually shot time
 
Good info from Chris.
Also please be 100% for hypos. There may be one where you need vet help. If the kitteh does not come up in BG immediately then it is critical to get help.

Not all cats exhibit hypo symptoms. You are lucky (maybe). The BG=20 means almost no blood sugar was in your cat. That low level immediately starves and kills body cells. Watch your kitty carefully over the next few days for any after effects.

If anything, for the next 3-5 days, I would underdose, and err on the side of caution.
 
Thank you everyone for your replies! It is very helpful. I am posting in the Vetsulin forum primarily so they were able to help me immediately when she was in hypo.
The 157 was her technically her PM12 hour check, I just do it 15-20 min before food and shot so it's "kind of" the 11th hour. She takes a bit of time to get things done that she doesn't like...
 
I just tested her before food and shot. It's 417. Phew-I'm glad it didn't climb tremendously like I anticipated. The other posters advised me to give no more than 1.5 this morning but to try to eyeball 1.25 if possible. I don't have half mark syringes (so it will be difficult) until I can speak with vet today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top