Sitka had first curve - vet was really pleased

Status
Not open for further replies.

nwnews

Member
Thought I'd share some good news. Sitka went in for her first curve and the vet was very pleased. She said that Sitka's numbers were amazing for a cat recently diagnosed and that she has cats that take her months before they get numbers so good. Whats even better is Sitka is picking up weight. She was looking pretty thin and now she is getting back to her round self again. Sitka is 19 years old and has multiple health issue (CRF, Seizures, Inflammatory Bowel Disease and now diabetes). Vet said that "Sitka is one tough kitty" - a great compliment from an internal medicine vet. This vet is also very supportive of home testing and I'm sure glad of it. So a good report card - now we just have to keep her feeling good. Hugs to all the sugarbabies out there. Jan
 
responding to jan's pm -

jan, lantus really needs twice a day dosing. if you are seeing preshots in the morning in the 200-300's, give a shot, and then in the evening you're seeing 100-120 (i think that's what your message said) you likely need a reduction in dose.

if you could post numbers, or do a spreadsheet, it would really help figure out what you've got going on. the way lantus works is that it usually is at its strongest (resulting in numbers that are at their lowest) about 4-7 hours after the shot. if you are seeing 100 12 hours later, that likely is telling you that sitka is considerably lower at that low point several hours earlier. i don't know if you have any tests that show mid-cycle numbers, but lantus dosing is based upon the lowest point a cat gets to in each cycle. Lantus also has a cumulative effect, so BG that you see at one dose this week will very likely be different next week.

also - i would be concerned from your comment that sitka might be getting unsafely low mid-cycle.

have you changed his food to all canned low-carb since sitka started on insulin?

if you could post some numbers, including how many hours after the shot, or put them on a spreadsheet, we could help you figure out what to do next.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top