Sissy's numbers are weird

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandy S

Member Since 2020
Sissy's numbers have been kind of all over the place since I gave her that first reduction and then started working her back up. She got into that patch of green and blue and that was great. Now she's up and down. I was trying to feed her small meals every 3 hours, but I think that's too often...so I've been stretching out a little bit longer, trying to figure out what works best for her.. She's gotten on to the sound of the auto feeder so that's good. Today I was so happy to see her amps under 200 and the blues most of the day then that big pink hit and I was like what the heck happened.

This disease is so frustrating. We're barely 2 months into this journey and it feels like a lifetime already. lol
 
She’s being a typical cat. It takes time for most to adjust and stop bouncing around. It took Max a whole year. You are doing a great job with her. For all but the lucky this is a marathon and not a short dance. Look how far you and she have come. So much is trial and error. Then when you think you have them figured out they throw you a curve ball
 
Ummm that kinda says it all. I dont see any reds or blacks... You're doin something right. I know its frustrating but you really are doing a good job. Just need some fine tuning... Enlist some aid from the lantus board or/
@tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko

I usually do ask there and did last night, but a lot of times I don't have replies for a few days. This forum I always do. I posted over there last night hoping I'd have some input before amps today. I know everyone is busy and try not to take it personally.
 
I know everyone is busy and try not to take it personally.

Well darn... I dont blame ya but it is true. Everyone works very hard to keep up. I'm glad you see that. I just figure it never hurts to try especially when you post in BOTH forums..
Thank you for understanding:bighug:
jeanne
 
Well darn... I dont blame ya but it is true. Everyone works very hard to keep up. I'm glad you see that. I just figure it never hurts to try especially when you post in BOTH forums..
Thank you for understanding:bighug:
jeanne

I do understand, but it still sucks sometimes. Being fairly new at this and knowing no one in real life who knows anything about diabetes, this is my only source of information and help. Waiting 2 or 3 days or more for a reply to a question is really disheartening sometimes. I went ahead and bumped her dose up tonight by .25 to .75 and I think it was the right thing to do, but idk.
 
I do understand, but it still sucks sometimes. Being fairly new at this and knowing no one in real life who knows anything about diabetes, this is my only source of information and help. Waiting 2 or 3 days or more for a reply to a question is really disheartening sometimes. I went ahead and bumped her dose up tonight by .25 to .75 and I think it was the right thing to do, but idk.
Totally get your frustration :bighug: Hang in there. I really feel this is the right place for you and Sissy. I'm on the LBL board and am pretty new myself so I don't give dosing advice BUT I can give advice on asking questions :)
  • Use the ? from the title drop-down
  • Change your title to your question - this helps anyone scanning the board!
  • Once your question is answered, replace your title with your AMPS and other testing info and remove the ?
  • If you aren't getting an answer, add a post to your thread/condo that says "bump" and it will bump your condo up to the top. There is a LOT of activity on LBL and posts get lost so bumps help.
  • If you aren't getting answers, feel free to tag someone if you think they may be able to help (or helped you in the past). You just write their username with the "@" before it (a little drop down will show up once you type a few letters).
I see your post from Saturday AM here - as an example I would have changed the title to: ? 9/26 Sissy - NEED DOSING HELP - once your question is answered, I would have put back your AMPS and numbers (I cut and paste mine over to Notes on my Mac and then cut and paste them back when my question is answered).

Also, if you aren't getting an answer, re-read the stickies. I read them all the time. I honestly think even the experienced folks refer to them.

FWIW, if you're following SLGS, the guidelines say to hold the dose for a week (link to guidelines)

Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
Hope this helps some :bighug: Have a great night.
 
I do understand, but it still sucks sometimes. Being fairly new at this and knowing no one in real life who knows anything about diabetes, this is my only source of information and help. Waiting 2 or 3 days or more for a reply to a question is really disheartening sometimes. I went ahead and bumped her dose up tonight by .25 to .75 and I think it was the right thing to do, but idk.
Sometimes? It sucks anytime. I totally understand. I like the post above this. Has all the options ESPECIALLY my favorite the BUMP.
Hang in there we try very hard even when everyone is on board, it gets hectic. Like yesterday I developed a massive headache and just couldnt look at this screen another minuet. I had to shut down. I dont give dosing advice so am rarely needed. But I know connecting people is important . I felt SO guilty yesterday I wound up eating a chocolate bar. :eek:
We love all our members and want them to thrive. :bighug:
j.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top