Simon AMPS 205! So now what do I do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Simon'sMommy

Very Active Member
I know the cutoff is 200 for don't shoot and this is awfully close. Should I retest after food and then shoot? He ate a tiny bit and then walked away as though he is not all that hungry this morning for some reason.

Do I give him less insulin? Keep dose the same if I give him any? Yikes, here is where I am out of my knowledge (what little I have finally gained here after a couple of weeks) and I need someone who knows what to do! nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

Will post this on the main board too in case no one is around in PZI land.
 
Added the 911 icon to see if that brings a response. I am thinking that if I don't hear from anyone in 10 minutes, I will retest and give him 2 units instead of 2.25 as suggested by Rob and Harley yesterday. Hopefully I am doing the right thing!
 
Retested after he ate some more and it went up to 246. Gave him 2 units instead of 2.25 as suggested and will see where he is. Will recheck at +2 or +3.
 
Great problem solving, Joyce. It's always a little scary to see the first lower number. Yes, do the wait 20 minutes and retest thing. Next time, stall his food so the number isn't food influenced. This time it won't matter as he was close to 200 anyway. Glad you reduced. Let's see how he looks today.

Be sure you take time to celebrate - the insulin and food is working and he is coming down rather than going up. This is GOOD news!
 
Thanks Sue. I am hoping I see some green today at the reduced dose (higher green, not below 40!) and then I know we are on the right track. I was truly nervous when I saw the 205 since it is so close to the no shoot number, but I did not want to skip insulin and see him zoom back up either so I decided the reduced dose was the way to go as suggested. We shall see what happens.

I will test a +3, +6, and +9 today since I am home and it is wet and yukky weather today. I am cat sitting for a friend this weekend so I have to go out later to feed her babies and scoop (she has 4 cats!) litter for them, but other than that, no plans for the next couple of days so will be able to get some numbers.
 
Beautiful.

Can you get another test in about 30 minutes or so, if he gets down to 50 you will want to feed him some regular low carb food and test again in another 15 minutes.

He has a few more hours to go before he starts going up again, so you want to stay on top of his bg until then. You can stear his bg's with food to keep him above 50.

A bg of 50 is not a dangerous number but you don't want to let him go much lower than that.
 
Sorry - just saw this. Went and tested at almost +6.5 (10 minutes shy of that) and he is at 116. He seems to have an early Nadir of +5 and has since the beginning of testing for the most part anyway.
 
Oh good. I just wanted to stay ahead of it.

I'm glad you reduced the dose this morning. If I were you I would stick with 2 units on any bg between 200 and 250.

That 76 will probably bounce him up into a red PMPS but don't let that throw you off it's just his body reacting to a lower bg than he is used to lately. No matter what high number he gives you tonight I would stay with the 2.25u or maybe he'll surprise us and not bounce, paws crossed.

Beautiful day he had today.
 
Nice problem solving this morning when you did not get an answer immediately to your post. This is a holiday weekend here in the USA so there might not be as many people around to answer.

Sounds like you had asked some good questions before this and had learned some of the options if Simon was too low to shoot.

Just for a refresher, here are the options again:

1. Do not shoot if under your shoot/don't shoot threshold
2. Shoot a token reduced dose if you can't be around to monitor
3. Stall. Wait. See where the numbers are headed. Hold the food, hold the insulin and retest in 30 minutes to see which way the numbers are headed.
 
Boing! Follow the bouncing kitty :sad: I knew when he was almost 300 at +9 that he would be high but was hoping not to see 400+ grr_red
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top