Simon 8/21 | AMPS 343 +2.5 310 +4.25 264 +6 220 PMPS 224 +2 243 +4 197

Daniel and Simon

Member Since 2026
Simon 8/19 | AMPS 165, 154 +.5 delay, 157 +1 delay, +156 +1.5 delay, +3.5 235

Simon barely ate dinner last night and is not interested in his food this morning. He did happily lick up the dehydrated salmon treat I crumbled on top of his breakfast. He was always a slow, uninterested eater before the diabetes, so nowadays I never know if he's feeling sick or maybe feeling better and just back to his usual Simon eating habits.

I did give him his shot this morning, so hopefully he eventually eats some food here.
 
I think Simon is not feeling well today. He finally ate a little bit of food at +4 with some chicken treats mixed in. He's gulping and licking the air a bit, so I suspect he's nauseous. No spit ups or throw ups. He's walking over to me and purring when I enter the room at least. Sometimes he gets like this before he eventually coughs up a hairball and then he's fine, I hope that's all this is.

I'll try to catch him in the litter box for a ketone test. I have a pretty busy afternoon (having work done on the boiler before the cold weather season) but I'll at least be home so I can listen out for him
 
Feel better soon little man! Pookey has been gulping the last few days too. Mostly when he purrs. Reading online is a wide array of things it could be, but I'm guessing a little nauseous too.

Does Pookey drool when he purrs? Simon tends to drool when he purrs, so sometimes he'll purr and swallow a bunch of drool, start gulping, and then spit up the drool. Very gross, but it's usually pretty predictable with him.

This is a little off from Simon's normal gulping/drooling/purring act. But he's finally eating a bit more food now at +6, so hopefully he's feeling better. And I was able to get a ketone test too - negative!
 
Daniel, I'm so glad his eating has improved and that he has no ketones!

Two thoughts: You said that Simon occasionally doesn't eat well, but if you think he's nauseated, perhaps it's worth getting him into the vet to see what's going on and getting some anti-nausea meds. I'm not sure if it's possible to do that. Many of us here keep anti-nausea meds on hand (e.g., Ondansetron and/or Cerenia) because a diabetic cat that won't eat can be a problem since they need food when receiving insulin.

Also, I would check with someone on the board about a dose increase (raise your "?" prefix and put "need dosing advice" in the title). He hasn't really seen lower nadirs since 8/12, and you don't want to hold him at a dose with higher numbers for too long or you run the risk of glucose toxicity, which can make it harder to get his numbers down.
 
Last edited:
Does Pookey drool when he purrs? Simon tends to drool when he purrs, so sometimes he'll purr and swallow a bunch of drool, start gulping, and then spit up the drool. Very gross, but it's usually pretty predictable with him.
Very similar here. The drooling isn’t bad I’d say more just some spit leaks out when he aggressively rubs my hands or something.
 
Same here. Reinforcing the importance of having Cerenia and ondansetron in your home so you don’t have to scramble if Simon is nauseous.
It happens way too often around here.
I just placed an order on Chewy and it’s finally been approved by my vet so I should have it in a few days.
Recently burned through my supply since Ivy wasn’t feel well.

I hope Simon feels better! And good luck if you increase his dose 🤞🏄‍♂️🌊💖
 
Thanks for all of the suggestions and check-ins! Simon is finally looking better tonight and enthusiastically eating his dinner. I'm about to give him his PM shot.
I want to make sure he doesn't have any sudden issues after eating tonight, so I'll wait until at least tomorrow to increase his dose. Every time I've increased to 4.5u he's had some big movements in his numbers.

Simon is due for his six month blood panel anyway, so I'll be sure to ask about Cerenia or other anti-nausea meds at his appointment. Today was definitely a bit different from his usual food strikes.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top