Simon 8/19 | AMPS 165, 154 +.5 delay, 157 +1 delay, +156 +1.5 delay, +3.5 235

Daniel and Simon

Member Since 2026
Simon 8/18 | AMPS 271 +2.25 323 +6 383 PMPS 386 +2 278 +4 191

Simon was lower than expected at AMPS (165), and now even lower after a 30 minute delay (154). I am nervous to shoot while he is continuing to drop after AMPS time. I'm approaching 2 hours off of my preferred schedule as well. I guess this is another active cycle? I'm not really sure how to handle numbers continuing to go down after pre shot delays
 
I don’t give any kind of dosing / shooting advice since I’ve only been at this since April, but commenting to bump your condo and also to say sometimes they will drop some after delaying since they haven’t eaten, and also 165 and 154 would be considered flat, so it’s not quite as big of a drop as it might seem. Meters have a 20% variance since they’re not perfect, usually if the numbers after delaying are less than 20% you could say they are dropping but Simon’s numbers are very close. I hope someone with more experience comes in soon as I don’t want to steer you wrong but if you are comfortable shooting AND can monitor him, I think it’s safe to shoot with these numbers.
 
Thanks for the condo bump. Simon is still flat after an hour. I know from past experience with him that skipping always makes his numbers skyrocket, but we're so far off schedule now that monitoring overnight will be difficult. It's 10:30am right now, I would prefer for his dose to land between 7:30 and 8 😓
 
I guess it's a good sign that Simon is still flat after 1.5 hours of delaying. These active cycles and bounces continue to confuse me. But now I'm so far off schedule that I'm concerned with the PM cycle as I won't be able to monitor him as closely overnight. We're at 11am, and a 11pm shot just doesn't work for me if I need to test out past +2. So I feel terrible about it but I have to skip, I'll give him his PM shot at 7:30pm tonight
 
Last edited:
I'm sorry you didn't get any definitive advice Daniel.
Since you skipped his shot, please keep him on track tonight. He will most likely bounce since no shot today.
They can continue to drop if no food is given.

With TR, 165 is a perfectly safe number to give his shot (while it may feel very scary if it's lower than you are used to shooting.) And Simon remained flat while you were stalling so he would have been ok to give his full dose as long as you could monitor.
It's good you could test him to see he stayed flat, good data points.

It appears Simon may have been breaking a bounce from last night. If you are home to watch and test him, it's safe to shoot, as long as you have the tools you need (high carb wet food - over 15%, and honey, maple syrup or Karo syrup).

Here are guidelines for lower preshots while following Tight Regulation (TR):

How to Deal with Low Preshot Numbers
(the following guidelines apply to those following the Tight Regulation Protocol only):

You just tested your cat’s preshot number, and there is a much lower than usual number staring back at you. What do you do?

There is no one-size-fits all answer, but there are some general guidelines. As with everything else, each cat is different (ECID) and each caregiver is different too.

The short answer is that most kitties can be shot at +12, almost regardless of the number, once you are data ready to do so. The exception is that shooting 30s or 40s is not recommended for most cats, so if a cat is lower then usually the best option is to wait until they are at a shootable number to shoot. What constitutes a shootable number will vary by cat, but we don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 50. While you’re waiting, the depot is draining, so you want to get the insulin in as soon as it makes sense to shoot.

If it is your first time shooting green, then we will likely suggest that you stall the first time, even if the number is 80-100. That will let you collect data on what your cat will do when you stall. One thing you can do if you are having a low cycle is to get a +10 and +11. Those will give you a good idea of how quickly the cat’s numbers are rising (or not) when preshot time arrives.

Beyond the general guidelines, there are other factors we consider when we are helping someone with a low preshot.

  • If the low preshot is not part of that cat’s normal pattern or there is reason to think something might be wrong, we will be more conservative.
  • If the cat is not a food spiker or tends to have an early onset/early nadir then they may not want to shoot as low. If the cat has a late nadir, then they will HAVE to learn to shoot low.
  • We will also be more conservative in some cases because of the person – if you are not able to monitor then you want to be more careful, or if you are not sure that you can get back to the board to keep us updated throughout the cycle. Trust me, if you shoot low, we will be watching for your updates and we will worry if we don’t see them.
  • We have to be a lot more careful with the cats who eat only dry food, because they don’t have access to the tools the rest of us use to keep our cats safe.
  • Also, when it comes to very low preshots, there is an unwritten rule that whoever helps that person shoot low should expect to sit with them through any low parts of the cycle. There have been times when I knew a cat’s number was likely shootable, but I also knew that I could not be around to help if the shot resulted in low numbers later in the cycle. For safety’s sake, if I could not find someone else who would be available to support for the next several hours, I would most likely suggest that the shot be reduced or skipped. I will not encourage someone to shoot low and then abandon them.
  • There are a lot of other scenarios, and you always want to keep your cat in mind.
Some general rules when stalling (ECID)
50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 50s or higher – don’t feed. The number will bump up on its own soon due to the insulin wearing off.
  • 40s or lower – you have a couple of choices.
    • When 40s occur at the end of the cycle, it can be beneficial to withhold food and test in 15-20 minutes to determine if kitty is on the rise or hasn’t reached nadir yet.
    • If they are hanging in the 40s for a while, or if they are still dropping, it is ok to feed a tsp or two of LC and retest. This is very tricky. You want to avoid feeding too much while you’re waiting for them to go over 50, because you don’t want to artificially inflate the number with food.
      • Example: if kitty is 43 and you feed a whole meal, or feed some HC, and the number bumps up to 52, is that the cat’s natural end-of-cycle rise, or is it food spike? What if it is food spike? Then if you shoot the 52, when the food wears off he might drop back to the 40’s (and when insulin kicks in a couple of hours later, you might have a problem). If the 52 is the cat’s natural rise, then he will probably keep rising for the next few hours until insulin kicks in. If you can’t tell whether the number is food spike or natural rise, it’s safest to wait. Your data will help you here. Study the spreadsheet. How much food spike does the cat usually get? How many hours after the shot does the insulin’s onset usually occur in this cat? At what number is the cat likely to be when onset occurs? If the cat does drop, how easy/hard is it to regain control of the numbers? How carb sensitive is he?
  • Test often (every 15-20 minutes, or at most every 30 minutes). You want to catch the rise the minute it starts. With most of our cats, once they start to rise they will really zoom. You want to get the insulin in as soon as possible, because it will be another 2-3 hours before the insulin kicks in and you don’t want to let the cycle get too far ahead of you.
Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading.

Using the overlap by shooting low is a great way to take advantage of Lantus/Levemir’s long, flat cycles, once you have learned to do so safely.

It does get easier with time and experience to be able to shoot lower preshots. Hang in there! :bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks for all this info @Staci & Ivy. I'm really hoping I don't hurt Simon too much with this skip. I'll be moving his PM shot time back two hours tonight, so hopefully that will soften the blow and get us back on a manageable timeline. Usually after a delay he goes up a bit, so I was unsure how to proceed with the flat numbers. Every day is a new curveball learning experience with this disease
 
Thanks for all this info @Staci & Ivy. I'm really hoping I don't hurt Simon too much with this skip. I'll be moving his PM shot time back two hours tonight, so hopefully that will soften the blow and get us back on a manageable timeline. Usually after a delay he goes up a bit, so I was unsure how to proceed with the flat numbers. Every day is a new curveball learning experience with this disease
I totally understand! It all takes time and experience and asking questions whenever you are unsure!
He will be fine (especially if no ketones in the picture). You will get back on track tonight and be more prepared for next time :bighug:
 
Back
Top