Simmie - skyrocketed REMOVED 911

Status
Not open for further replies.

LydetteSimmie (Iceman)

Member Since 2014
Hi all, Simmie had a 125 reading at 8:30 this morning so I didn't shoot. It is 3:30 pm here and I retested him and he is at a whopping 385. I assume I need to shoot but how much and how will this affect his normal 8:30 pm dose? I can drop his dose but I feel like I am running blindly right now. Please help. Thank you.
Love Lyd and Simmie

ps- I have created my own spreadsheet but I am just figuring out how to include it in my signature given the character limitations. Gotta know what to delete (probably my GA kids as your help is for the present.

ps I did log this as a 911 note but realized that should be reserved for a different situation. I do still need help and hope you can help me figure out what my next step is...thank you.
 
Are you still giving 4u BID? Since you had to skip this morning due to low numbers, I would suggest you drop the dose to 3.5u for now. Tonight, shoot at your regular time and you can either start shooting 3.5u from here on out or give a 4u dose for tonight since you skipped this morning and just be prepared to monitor more if necessary. Then tomorrow, start with 3.5u for a few days (unless he drops below 50 or you find yourself having to skip shots again).
 
Re: Simmie - skyrocketed

Hi, now that is getting closer to Simmie's evening shot and as mentioned his BG went from 125 at 8:30 am to 385 around 3:30 pm, Eastern, I'm worried. I only took the 911 icon off at last post as I always assume that should indicate a hypo event. I'm putting it back on cause I don't know what I should be doing right now. Help.
 
Kpassa! I didn't see your post until now. THANK YOU. I'll follow your expertise. Thanks again. I'll get my ss up tomorrow with the results from the changes tonight and tomorrow. They make a lot of sense. Hugs, Lydette and Simmie
 
The key to Lantus is consistency. You want a dose that is safe to give twice a day so if you find yourself skipping shots, that's usually a sign the dose needs to be lowered. Some cats don't always throw low numbers when they need a lower dose. Instead, their cycles just last longer (Mikey did this a lot to me when he was on Lantus).

And since you just recently changed the food, that's why I suggested dropping the dose by .5u instead of .25u. If 3.5u shows to be too little over the next few days, then you can increase to 3.75u and see how he does.
 
Re: Simmie - skyrocketed REMOVED 911 -update

Hi folks. Simon tested at around 225 at 8:25 this morning. (I finally loaded my spreadsheet this morning if you'd like to look!)

He is doing so incredibly well guys. Late last night, before I went to bed, he did something he hasn't done in months...he pawed at the basement door (he is always curious what about is going on down there since my hubby works out of the house in the finished basement), I opened it and he went down! I finally realized that I was not losing my mind, his neuropathy IS getting better. Anyway, I tried to convince him to come back upstairs, or yowl to let me know where he was so I could get him but nothing worked. I left the door open and went to bed, assuming he'd still be in the basement this morning. BUT, he was sitting, not lying down, on the kitchen floor! I went to the bathroom and he actually walked in to see me and rubbed against my legs, like he used to before the neuropathy signals.

He still has a long way to go but without you folks so many people like me, who want to do the best possible for feline buddies, wouldn't really even know what the 'best possible' is.

Simmie is enjoying yet another cube, As he is lying next to me I realized he is looking like the majestic cat king he used to be. That's an amazing gift from the people on this board.
Love Lydette and Simmie (Iceman)
 
That is fantastic news! And a fantastic pre-shot, too! :thumbup What dose did you end up giving? BJ recommended dropping down to a more conservative 2u in one of your other posts.

One last thing to do on your spreadsheet. Right now, we have to ask permission to view your spreadsheet. Go into your spreadsheet and select File->Publish to the web. Then, make sure the box that says "Automatically republish when changes are made" is checked and copy the link in the box under "Get a link to the published data" and use that link to post your spreadsheet in your sig. It should start with "https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub..." (vs. "https://docs.google.com/ccc...").
 
Thank you BJM! This will be a good read, especially since Murphy has pancreatitis and is acutely constipated on occasion. Now, I haven't read the article yet but my vet used to tell me to mix in a little pumpkin with his food regularly to aid with that. Yet on another post concerning Simmie I was told that pumpkin can be used to deal with diarrhea. I meant to ask about that.....anyway, I was planning to find a site that dealt with pancreatic kitties instead of bringing yet more issues to this board. If someone has thoughts though, I am listening!
 
Fiber holds moisture - it soaks up excess and it keeps it in the feces, so it helps both diarrhea and constipation.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top