Simmie - Happy days and a question

Status
Not open for further replies.

LydetteSimmie (Iceman)

Member Since 2014
Evening everyone!

I tested Simmie and his BG is 181 so I didn't shoot. I'm still a bit uncomfortable about this protocol, not because all of you didn't explain it properly it is just because I get a little anxious. So what I plan to do is what was recommended last time. I won't shoot again until his next test, tomorrow at 8:30 am and only if his BG is 200 or above. Should I still give him 3.5 units of insulin (dropped 2 days ago from 4) or should I drop it one more time to 3 units?

He is SO happy. I know my Simmie. He's becoming his normal, obstinate self. You guys are making me cry...really. To think what my situation would be like with Simmie if you weren't there. It would be tears of pain instead of happiness.

Another question though. I have gotten so accustomed to loading up my syringe with insulin when I get his test stuff and food ready since I figured I would always end up shooting after the Test Feed Shoot process but I'm thinking this is dumb and a waste. This is the second time I didn't need to shoot. I hate to throw out an unused syringe filled with expensive insulin. Is it possible for me to just put the filled syringe in the fridge for when I might need it next?

Hugs all. OH, you'll see that I finally did the spreadsheet for my Iceman. Newbies, it really is easier than we think. The directions are just perfect.

Love Simmie and Lydette
 
With Lantus insulin, it's not recommended that you prefill the syringes. That's because the coating on the inside of the insulin syringe can react with the insulin and change the acidic base of the Lantus and how the insulin reacts in your cat.

Once you gain more test data, you can start to lower that shoot/no shoot pre-shot number. For now, it's ok to skip the shot, but do expect Simmie to be higher in the morning. Yes, the shoot/no shoot threshold is 200 here on the Feline Health forum, but it's 150 over in the Lantus Tight Regulation forum.

Not sure what to tell you on the dose. Simmie has not officially had a number low enough to reduce the dose, but you are there with him and we are not. If you think you may need to reduce the dose, then go ahead and do that.

With the TR protocol we follow, our cats need to dip below 50 on a human meter or below 80 on a pet meter to "earn" that dose reduction.

p.s. Great job on getting that SS (spreadsheet) up and running. It will really help us to help you better, now that we can see your test data in our standard format, color coded grid. The only thing is, we can't see it until you change the permissions to "anyone with the link". There is a Share button in the upper right hand corner when you are looking at your SS. Click on that and change the permissions to 'Anyone who has the link can view'. Then we can see Simmie's SS.
 
Morning! :oops: Duh. I reset the privacy to Shared. Sorry about that.

I gave Simmie just 3 units this morning. Based on this note probably not a good idea. I guess I was thinking that I'd rather him be consistent over a 24 hour period than to have those big spikes. I should have read your note first. I think I am just getting ahead of myself. I really do feel like a pain sometimes. Can you say obsessive-compulsive. :-)

Thanks Deb. I'll do another check on Simmie in about 6 hours.
 
Hey! Simmie was only up into those high yellow numbers this morning, even after that skipped shot last night. Not bad at all. Yes, it's above renal threshold, but still better than he has been. I was expecting even higher this morning, into those stinky pinkies (300's).

How is his appetite these days?
 
Thank you - you made me feel better. Like everyone here, I just want to do the right thing.

Simmie has always been a big eater so his appetite is spot on. But at the same time he is not complaining about not having enough to eat. I thought he might complain because he got more M/D overall than he is getting from the PurinaOne but I was wrong. There are also lower carb food than the PurinaOne (I think it's about 8%) and I was planning on moving him to one of those in the next week or so. From what I have read that might lower his BG even more!

Everything about him is so much better. He was actually playing this morning, chasing my fingers on the couch. His mass is better..he had been losing too much mass (ketone issue) prior to this, and I am very serious about his neuropathy getting better...I no longer think it's my imagination. All in all, he has had a 180 shift in all aspects. Oh, one thing I didn't mention, he no longer hides for a few hours of the day which is what started happening before I found you guys. He has always done the normal "stop HAUNTING me" hiding that all cats do when we play with them too much or do too many household chores that get in the way of their beauty sleep but I noticed that during part of the day, he would hide in really weird places. Not over the past week and he has stopped making his water fountain his best and only friend. :-) Everything is just great.

I guess at some point I will need to transition to the tight regulation but I'm too nervous still. I'm not ready for it. I also worry about forcing my hubby into doing all the stuff that I do with Simmie...he adores Simmie and he'll do what needs to be done but I know it makes him very uncomfortable. I only mention this as at some point I will need some surgeries and I won't be able to give Simmie the attention he'll need during that period. But, I'll cross that bridge when I come to it, right? nailbite_smile Thanks for caring.
 
With the change to the lower carb food, that is probably helping Simmie to get better BG readings. Hope that trend continues.

T-E-A-M Team! We are part of your team, but so is your DH. It's great that he is willing and able to give Simmie the shots when you are off working. Hope you can win him to your side and get him to test. He must know how important a part of your life Simmie is and that you are just trying to get Simmie to feel better. Keep working on him and hopefully he will come around and realize how important the home testing is.

Since you talk about moving Simmie to an even lower carb food, you know how important it's going to be to test and make sure his BG levels are not too low. Take a look at my Wink's SS, from early 2013. You can see his numbers dropping while I was switching him from high carb food to low carb food. Quite a dramatic change as you can see.
 
LydetteSimmie (Iceman) said:
I gave Simmie just 3 units this morning. Based on this note probably not a good idea. I guess I was thinking that I'd rather him be consistent over a 24 hour period than to have those big spikes.

At this point, because he is going progressively lower even after dropping the dose yesterday to 3.5u, I'd say stick with the 3u for now and tonight (remember, Lantus likes its consistency). This rapid decrease in dose often happens with a food change and I have a feeling you'll probably end up around 1 to 2u anyway when all is said and done. ;-)
 
Thank you guys. Between you and recommendations from BJM I think I hear a consensus. I'll keep Simmie at 3 units for about a week, try and get my vet into the loop with my spreadsheet and other material from the website, and move slowly to an even lower carb food than I have been feeding. Of course, regular testing but without being obsessive. If you think I am on the wrong path in any way please let me know.

Huge hugs all around and I really need a cup of ~O)

Hee, Love Lydette and Simmie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top