Simmie - AMPS 304, +259, +4 275, +6 313, +8 384

Status
Not open for further replies.

LydetteSimmie (Iceman)

Member Since 2014
Hi all,

Simmie seems to be bouncing all ove the map again. I am in terrible state. I could not test him much yesterday because I was pretty sick but now he seems to be very high.

I want to increase his insulin to 3 units. Because I do not have syringes with .5 units right now I have been trying to get the 2.5 most times then add a dollop (don't know what that means unless I am talking about sour cream really!) to try and stay within the 2.5 to 2.75 range. I have only had a couple greenies and blue nicies for the past few weeks.

If anyone has been following me you know the issues I am having with my vet and she does not want me to change any dosing without her approval. I don't care and actually I am beginning to interview new vets for Simmie. But I do not think I can wait any longer to make an insulin change for Simmie.

Can someone help? All I can think of is the organ damage and the neuropathy. I want to help my baby. Oh, I will continue testing tonight but if the recommendation is to up his insulin level, he would be do in a couple of hours, would I do it tonight or wait until his normal shooting time tomorrow morning?

Thank you very much everyone. Love ya.
 
I can't really give dosing advice, but looking at his spreadsheet, he does seem to be flatten out. If a dose increase would take place at his next scheduled shot, not mid cycle. Someone I am sure will be here to help you soon.

Again, I will refer you to Skooter's spreadsheet...if you look towards the top, look how many reds and blacks he had and a lot of his pinks were on the high side of pink....I see only one red for Simmie and no black. That is good.

I guess I would also challenge you to see the bounces differently. You are seeing it as a bad thing, and yes, we would prefer they don't bounce, but remember them bouncing is LEARNING what normal is. It is so exciting when the bounces get fewer and clear quicker.

Good for you for looking for a different vet who will be more supportive of what you would like to for YOUR furbaby. I hope you are able to find someone who will be supportive of the things you want to do.

And I know we all keep saying it, but patience grasshopper, patience. Just like I didn't gain all the weight I did overnight and won't lose it overnight....Simmie didn't become diabetic over night and it will take time to get him in better numbers.

I never would have thought when Skooter and I started out that he would EVER be able to maintain at the dose he is nor think we had a chance of him going OTJ....but now that is a possibility, but it takes time.

Hang in there and you will get dosing advice soon enough :)
 
I am going to say it again, you are one of my hero's on this site. Thank you for being there for me. How did you have the guts to follow the recommendations of this board without being terrified? We don't know everyone here...but I guess like me, everyone comes across so beautifully, so kindly and loving. Sometimes we just have to trust our gut I guess.

Thank you for the support and love to you and your baby.

I am hoping that my interview tomorrow with a potential new vet for Simmie will go well. My questions would make this board proud! All about home testing, low carb food, Roomp and Rand, etc. There is no better place than here for anyone who has a sugar baby.

Hugs to you and Skooter! Lydette and Sim
 
hi lydette!

when you want to know if you should increase, it's always fine to ask. but i want to point out how i might help you decide. looking at the protocol section on increasing, these are the 2 parts I'd look at:
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

I would count from the blue on 8/4 - you've had 8 cycles since then. Most of the nadirs have been over 200, although the blanks yesterday (not faulting you, just saying) would make me more conservative. i think i would give it 2 more cycles, for a total of 10 cycles post-8/4's blue 177, and then i would just increase by 0.25u.

i know you're working with syringes that make that tough, but perhaps if you put your plunger at the bottom of the black 3.0u line. i know it seems crazy, but even a small dose increase can make a big difference. just do your best.

good luck with the vet interview tomorrow.
 
LydetteSimmie (Iceman) said:
How did you have the guts to follow the recommendations of this board without being terrified?

Honestly? One, my vet told me about this board, and she said they were very knowledgeable and strongly encouraged me to come here....Second, if someone really wanted to harm my kitty for game or fun, they were less time consuming ways than creating a web site, forum and all the information on here to do that....anyone who put this much time into this site, I can only assume has the best for my cat in mind. Third, I learned confidence that I am in control when I am home testing and I can help guide his numbers with MC, HC, Karo, etc. As long as I am testing and keeping an eye, I am in control.

Going out for the first time really since Skooter's dx and my ride is here....

Have a great night!
 
Hi everyone. I think I will hold to the 2.5 until tomorrow, after a couple of extra cycles. Thank you so much for all advice,

I am actually excited about interviewing one of the new vets tomorrow. They sound like they have an understanding of diabetic cats, just based on what I heard from a tech but I need much more information.

I hope all of you have a wonderful time this evening and over the weekend. You guys mean the world to me and Simmie.

Hugs
Lydette
 
Hi Lydette,
I haven't visited your condo before and just wanted to say that you are doing a good job, asking the right questions, etc. The protocol is the way to go. Good luck with interviewing a new vet. But keep in mind that most vets are not specialists in FD and often were trained to use older insulins that do not require the type of protocol we use for Lantus and Levemir. Many people on the Board manage their cat's FD with the aid of the Board and rely on their vets for all of the non-FD health issues. Afrer all, here we do Feline Diabetes 7 days a week, 24 hours a day and there is great collective knowledge.

As long as you find a vet who has an open mind and is not a dictator, you will be fine. Remember that you don't have to tell your vet everything! :lol:

Have a great evening, Simmie is very handsome.

Ella & Rusty
 
sorry all, I wrote up a very nice note to all the folks who responded to me and this post. Then, as usual, I did something stupid and my note got lost. can you believe I was a high level exec in high tech? Ha!

Smmie seems to be doing ok now but he is still running too high. I don't feel I have yet gotten a consensus on increasing his dose yet this evening, HEY, WHY DOES EVERYONE FEEL THEY HAVE A RIGH TO A PRIVATE LIFE! :lol: :lol: dancing_cat Where is everyone! Is it a Friday? Really? ;-)

I'm gonna let everyone have a wonderful night. I can take care of my babies and contact all of you tomorrow.

Safe dreams and much love to all!
 
FWIW - I agree with Julie. I'd hold the dose 2 more cycles, tonight and tomorrow, and if you don't see green by then, increase the dose by .25U.

We all worry about the organ damage with high numbers. But we don't know how long Simmie was diabetic before he was diagnosed. My Neko loved to visit the land of red and pink for the longest time. Then she started dating black on a regular basis. :shock: I hated those bounces. Then I started thinking of the bounces as her liver reacting to her FINALLY getting into better numbers. So as ugly as bounces are, they happen because the insulin is starting to do it's job and lower the blood glucose closer to where it's supposed to be. As Simmie spends more time in the lower numbers, it will become the new normal and the bounces will diminish.
 
Hey there, thanks Wendy. I also appreciate your responding so late. I am really tired and getting ready to go to beddie by but Simmie is sitting with me, licking his ice, and WOW...he just went after my ice water! And now he knocked down everything on my side table! I don't think he realizes that he is unwell! He is frisky as a kitten and just as irritating as he was before he got the big D! I think this deserves a test!

Thank you all for everything. I hope to post another test in his ss in a few minute but I am pretty tired so we'll see!

Hugs,
L
 
Hi sweethearts!

Well, he is riding high. I am pretty disappointed but his spirit are just great.

I have to go to bed now, You are all wonderful.

And whomever mentioned today that Simmie is a handsome kitty cat, well, I mentioned that to him and he has been preening every since! He does have an enormous ego!

Night night. Love Lydette and the Sim-Master! Hee.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top