SIMMIE - AMPS 195 shoot or don't shoot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

LydetteSimmie (Iceman)

Member Since 2014
...that is the question. Can you say Boing??!!

His ss is up to date. Yesterday he was running in the mid to high 300s. Then, last night at about 5:30 am he did something I had not seen him do in months...he actually walked up a flight of stairs then jumped on our bed looking for a cuddle. I thought it was Princess Kitty Kat but as soon as I put out my hand and touched the fun I knew it was Simmie! There he was, happy as can be. I thought for a second that I should get quick reading but I hadn't slept in a couple of days so I fell right back to sleep.

What should I do? I know someone told me that on this forum people still shoot up until BG150. I am still a newbie and don't think I can handle the fear of shooting and him plummeting. Should I just shoot a little? Only once before he got into the greens and it scared the bejesus out of me! I am wondering what if it happens again and no one is around!

As mentioned, his profile is complete, I just have to link it to my signature today.

Hugs
Lydette and the Iceman
 
If you are, I would read the Sticky on Shooting and Handling Low Numbers (above).

It says "no shoot" on your spreadsheet. I am guessing that you are planning to skip.
If you decide to stall, don't forget to withhold food to see if Simmie's numbers are coasting along in the same range, or going up, or going down.
 
OK, I'll go read that now.

Unfortunately Simmie would not tolerate me if he didn't get his breakkie so I did feed him.

I didn't shoot yet but I could. It is about 45 minutes later than normal though.
 
Why don't you do another test at +13 and see what it is? Would that be an hour after eating?

I have to run to the vet to pick up some paperwork, and then hop in the shower and then go to another vet, so I won't be around much this morning. You need to do what you are comfortable with. If he is rising significantly, you may want to shoot some insulin.

I'll check in with you in a little while.
 
Will do.

Thank you so much Dyana. Enjoy the shower and good luck with the vets.

Lydette

ps - I read all the instructions on the sticky but I feel a bit confused as I am readying in a slightly foggy state this morning.
 
Also, I do believe he will rise and he did have his breakfast. I'm afraid if I don't give him some insulin he will start going into the mid-300s again but I have a question. How much is enough insulin for him when I check within the next hour and how does that impact his shooting cycle? My vet will have a cow if I start playing with insulin levels without her knowledge but I do think she recommended giving him a little insulin even when he is in the mid-high blues.

Thank you again for all the help.
 
I have to leave.

Um, if you shoot the insulin 2 hours late, then that will make your shot schedule 2 hours later, and so on. You can slowly change it back to your preferred shot schedule by 15 minutes each cycle or 30 minutes once a day. Would that work for you?

I didn't look at your spreadsheet. Did you test at +13?
 
Hi,

Oy, I had a long message in response about all my issues but unfortunately my system crashed before I could save a draft. I'll deal with the immediate response now then write again later. sheesh. :roll:

Yep, I tested Simmie at +14 and he was at 203 so I shot his normal 2.5 units. He had eater at +12 but he eats no carb food so I don't think that would have impacted toooo much. I could be wrong.

I will test him all day to keep an eye on him.

You have all been great. Really. To know that someone is there for us is so comforting. Simmie thanks you very much.
 
Hello again ~O) :cool:

A few 'housekeeping' tips -

Right now your ss looks like you shot 195 at +12 (on time) and the +2 is 203.
When you stall and shoot late, it really helps if you place it in the ss cell you use for PS. Below is an example:
You can easily see all my stalling and the number I actually shot.

Also, being that you shot 2 hours late, your next shot will be 12 hours from when you last shot.
If this is problematic and you need to get back to schedule, the safe way to do it is to shoot 15 mins early each cycle or 30mins early every 24 hours, until you reach the desired shot time.
On the ss you would indicate early shots something like this:
In this example I shot 30 mins early on the first day and 15 mins early on the following.

When time is of the essence and you need help quickly, it's easier for those willing to help to get the full picture quickly.


Glad you are able to monitor today. :cool:
 

Attachments

  • stall.jpg
    stall.jpg
    18.1 KB · Views: 875
  • Early shot.jpg
    Early shot.jpg
    16.4 KB · Views: 882
lydette, you want to work on gradually lowering your no-shoot number to 50, not 150. experienced users will shoot most everything over 50 as long as their cat is eating normally and they'll be around to monitor.

that sticky on what to do when you're faced with a low preshot is a little hard to read, but try to muddle through it. you'll notice that it says that most cats can be shot at +12 for everything over 50. when folks are new here on the Lantus/Lev Tight Reg forum, we suggest you post if you have a number under 150 to get help on whether or not to shoot - but the basic quesion is, is Simmie eating normally (ie, his lower preshot isn't from being sick and not eating) and can you monitor him?

I finally bookmarked a discussion on shooting low because i keep saying the same things over and over again to new folks. Shooting low, which is not 190 - which is fairly high - is an entirely different game. Shooting low means shooting insulin into a cat that has blood sugar in the normal range, 50-120. You have to remember that Lantus doesn't start working (onset) for about 2 hrs after you give the shot. During that time his blood sugar is going to be rising because the previous shot is wearing off and you've fed him. And yes, even low carbs will raise blood sugar in a diabetic cat.

You don't need to even hesitate to shoot a 190. That's high and there's no doubt Simmie needs insulin. But please read what i linked here, as well as the Shooting Low sticky, and watch others on the forum shooting less than 120. You can read the subject lines and see who is doing that. Read their posts and feel free to ask questions on their condos. This is a chance for you to learn and get rid of your fears. Shooting normal numbers is a gift and opportunity to do a huge favor to Simmie - it can lower his entire blood sugar range, make him feel immensely better when his blood sugar flattens out, and it is the path that leads to OTJ.

Newly diagnosed cats have the best chance of having their pancreas heal and going off of insulin, and the sooner you shoot lower numbers (while monitoring) the better the chances are that Simmie could go off of insulin and become diet-controlled.

Just a reminder that since you shot 2 hrs later than usual this morning, his shot tonight is due 2 hrs later than normal as well. You can work back 1/2 hr per day to get back to his normal shot time. If he's over 300 tonight at +11, you might be able to shoot then - you could post here and ask for guidance on it.
 
You know I am taking all of this advice to heart and will get better with time. I appreciate all the housekeeping tips and the tried and true ideas generated by this group.

BTW yes, I only shot Simmie once this morning at +14 from his last shot at 8:30 pm Sunday. His normal 2.5 units.

Ok, now here is the rub. All this info was in my previous post that didn't get posted because of a system crash. Anyway, some of that post was discussing the issue with my vet. I am trying to educate her and others in the practice to understand all that is taught here and in peer-reviewed articles and recommendations from other vets who have done great work with FD, like Dr. Lisa. She is pretty headstrong. As a courtesy I phoned her to let her know what was happening with Simmie (this is something she wanted me to do as well as her boss, the head vet, that takes care of Buddy the Dog and who I really respect) . Keep in mind the last time she saw his ss was when I brought it in, in color printed format, about 10 days ago. I tried to explain to her his bouncing, what his numbers were this morning, and what I did. She listened but I don't think she was too impressed.

So here is what she told me to do;

1. As long as he seems to be doing well shoot again at his PREVIOUS time, not 12 hours later, regardless of when I did it this morning. That would mean I would be shooting tonight at +10.

2. She said to do a curve tomorrow when he is back on his usual schedule.

I kept saying that I was planning to test all day and what if at 8:30 pm tonight he tests below 80 (I had to give some number to get my point across) and she said to shoot anyway.

I'm torn. I really do believe the info here is right on but I need the vet practice because of all the issues I have with my other 'kids'. You'll see that when I finally link up Simmie's profile.
Any suggestions family?
 
Quite frankly, she has probably already forgotten exactly what she told you to do. You can also feign confusion about her instructions or forgetfulness. ;-) Please have confidence in your ability to manage Simmie's FD. You can do it much better than a vet, even the best intentioned one, because FD is such an unpredictable disease. No vet can provide the kind of rapid response that Simmie needs.

How wonderful that he came upstairs for cuddles! :-D :-D :-D
Liz
 
First off...NICE JOB SIMMIE ON THE 195!!!!! Way to hit the blues....

You are definitely in a pickle with the vet. You need to trust your gut in regards to your animals. You, not the vet are the ones that are there day in and day out and seeing how they are reacting to things. I am realizing how blessed I am that I have a vet that actually SENT me to this forum telling me that the people here really know what they are talking about. She has not once questioned anything I have done on the advice of the FDMB forum.

I am not sure what issues your other fur babies have, but perhaps it would be time to shop around for a new vet either just for Simmie or for both? I know you trust the head vet that treats your dog, but you also need to have vets that are supportive of the care you want to try. Again, not knowing what other issues your other fur babies have, there may be specialized vets who can help with all the care needed. The other option is to talk to the head vet again, ask them where they are getting their research for how to treat the diabetes and see if maybe you can get through to him. Maybe even saying you don't want to have to switch clinics, but you need to have the support of the vet of what you want to try, might help make him see the light.

As for shooting low....I was SCARED TO DEATH shooting anything under 200.....now, the other day, I shot a 105 without hesitation. You need to start trusting that you know what you are doing.

I am too new to give advice, but if it were my cat, I would not be shooting two hours early, with the depot that Lantus builds up, you may see numbers that scare you and you may think you did something wrong, when you didn't.

This is not an easy process to navigate and you are basically forced to learn a ton of info all at once. Unfortunately, this isn't something where we have the luxury of saying ok I will learn this part now and then this other part, etc. We have to try and learn about every aspect at once, which is just so overwhelming on top of trying to wrap your head around the diagnosis itself. I have had my fair share of nights where I have just sat and cried wondering if this would ever make sense. Slowly, but surely it is starting to make sense.

Julie's idea of reading other condos and spreadsheets is excellent. I have spent many an hour just reading over other people's condos, to see the advice and support given to them and when they are specifically referencing parts of a SS, I go to the SS, look what they looked at and read what they wrote and try to see what they see. That has helped me a lot.

It is very apparent how deeply you care for your fur babies.....just don't forget to take a few minutes and breath :) I also printed out a lot of the sticky notes so I can be looking at that as well as the condos to try and help everything settle in my head.
 
Hi again :cool:

my $0.02-
julie & punkin (ga) said:
Newly diagnosed cats have the best chance of having their pancreas heal and going off of insulin, and the sooner you shoot lower numbers (while monitoring) the better the chances are that Simmie could go off of insulin and become diet-controlled.
I could not agree more. Being newly diagnosed is an advantage. I would make the most of it .

I'm glad you brought all the info on TR to the vet. Did they tell you it's hogwash? Did they state their objections?
Did they provide an alternative protocol, one with similar credibility, one that they have had success with?

The fact that the vet is advising you to shoot 2 hours early tonight indicates to me she does not know proper use of long acting insulins in cats.
Shooting 2 hours early can act like an increase, which may bring his numbers lower tomorrow and skew the curve she is asking you to do.
It then may appear to her that his dose is too high, then she will suggest a reduction. . . .or dose hopping. . .

They work for you. In this case humor them . . .and carry on. You will get results, results that can't be denied, no matter what they think.

(end of rant) :cool:
 
couple of thoughts.

i don't think it's bad advice to shoot at +10 tonight necessarily. It can actually be helpful if a cat's BGs are high. Not if they are low, however.

vets have to know many different animals and many different diseases. very few are experts specifically on Lantus and how it works in a cat.

there is zero need to give your vet your spreadsheet. this is a common issue - vets want to control the dosing, but here on this forum, we follow the Tight Reg guidelines which call for adjusting the dosing every 6-10 cycles approximately, in order to get a cat into normal numbers. many people here simply nod their heads when the vet gives dosing directions and then do what they want to do.

my vet was equally unimpressed by punkin's spreadsheet. punkin had acromegaly, however, which pretty well throws every thing in the book out. He didn't even know what acromegaly was. I switched vets after my original vet (who i adored) made several mistakes with punkin that were really bad - one could've been fatal if he hadn't had acro.

the vet i moved to had 2 diabetic cats of her own. even she didn't follow Tight Reg, and her cats remained life-long diabetics. She didn't home test either, just treated hypo symptoms when they occurred.

In my mind, you have a couple of options.

1. stop volunteering info to your vet or asking for advice on dosing. follow the tight reg here. nod your head when they give you advice. The vet isn't in your kitchen seeing what dose you draw up.

2. ask what dosing protocol they follow. The Rand/Roomp Tight Reg Protocol here is the ONLY protocol for managing diabetic cats that has been published in a professional veterinary journal. It's it. the Bottom Line. Print out the PDF that's about 5 paragraphs down from the top of that link for your vet, which is the most recent version. This protocol is what we teach and what most of us try to follow. 90+% of the cats in their study, if they got into this protocol asap upon diagnosis, would go off of insulin within 6 months. Remission is the first goal - if it's not possible in a cat, if the damage to their beta cells is too great, or they have a concurrent disease that caused the diabetes, like my punkin had acromegaly from a benign tumor on his pituitary gland, then at least keeping them regulated prevents further damage to their organs.

3. find a new vet - but i understand why you want to stay at this practice.

when i decided to move to a new vet, i visited one with punkin for a second opinion and that vet made it clear she'd be in charge of dosing. even though i'd already been at it for probably 6 months and she didn't know what acromegaly was. i chose a different vet. this is an era where professionals no longer hold all the info in books in their offices. It's available online to everyone. it was important to me that a vet view me as an educated partner in caring for punkin, not a dweeb that needed to be told everything to do.

i'd probably go with option 1. option 2 might educate them, but it might also create a conflict that became difficult for you. Or you could start with option 2 - give it one try - and if you ran into a brick wall, move to option 1.

the option i would not choose is to listen blindly to them when you're the person holding the syringe and having to deal with the consequences of dosing blindly. the protocol is proven and i''ve seen a lot of cats go off of insulin if they get into it asap. i've also seen many people afraid of shooting normal numbers, who modify it because of their fear, who end up with life-long diabetic cats. i'm not being critical - i did this myself sometimes because acromegaly cats can be unpredictable and you end up with big doses. sometimes i reduced the dose when faced with a normal preshot - although now i kick myself for having done that. hindsight can be very cruel, you know.

in any case, those are some things for you to consider. good luck. you want a good partnership with your vet - i hope you can get that.
 
Sandy & I were posting at the same time.

She has a good point about shooting early tonight resulting in tomorrow's numbers being lower overall. that's very likely. If a cat has been high, that can be a good thing, but you want to be aware of what's happening in the situation and how it impacts the dose. Not just do it blindly.

The question here is what will help Simmie the most? What's best for him? The ideal solution is for you to be confident that you can adjust Simmie's dose to reflect his needs, following the TR protocol, with people here teaching you how to interpret it. Figuring out when to increase can be tricky because of bouncing. Figuring out decreases is comparatively easy, although you'll still want some help if you have consecutive low numbers.

in any case, people here deal with Lantus and Lev in diabetic cats 24/7. Most vets deal with few diabetic cats because most people put them to sleep upon diagnosis.

I hope you can find a solution you can live with that works for you and Simmie.

:YMHUG:
 
Hi All,

Thank you, thank you. I feel like that should be in my signature at this point. But I have to admit I have learned a lot and the more I respond to the teachings of this board, the better Simmie seems to feel. I was just talking with my DH at lunch and told him that I thought if I hadn't found this board, and simply blindly follow the vet's advice, Simmie would be much sicker. I know it in my gut.

The biggest hump was doing the home testing. It seems to require nerves of steel for a newbie nailbite_smile . Following that it is coming to terms with all the recommendations. I think I feel comfortable shooting what I believe are low numbers (blue) now, from all this discussion, but might need time to shoot anything :mrgreen:

As for the vet, I think I'll do the 'nod' and feign confusion when I finally have to talk with her. Then after giving her and her boss one more shot at education I will plan on finding a vet more interested in treating diabetes in a kitty that wants to be tightly controlled or get otj_icon .

All of this advice, and almost as important, the way and emotions that are part of the giving of the advice, has made an unbelievable difference to me and Simmie. Seeing him in our bedroom at 5:30 this morning is proof of that.

I would like to respond to all of you individually because every one of you had something, or many things, important to say. I'm just in a little pain today so I'm going to go and get another test out of Simmie than sit back for an hour.

Warm hugs,
Lydette
 
Lydette

I am going to throw my two cents in here on the vet. Not to overwhelm you but to support Julie and Sandy.

Treating FD is not about your vet's ego and what makes her happy. Simmie is your cat and the vet works for you....not the other way around. Is your vet going to be there for you at midnight If you shoot two hours early and his numbers come down fast? I think not. But there is most likely someone around here even at that time who will stay with you until Simmie is safely up.

I understand the owner of the clinic is awesome for your dog. I would agree with Julie that you could just not share the SS, tell your vet he is doing just fine. You have to keep a door open in the relationship because you will need prescriptions for the insulin. So either just nod and say "ok" and "he's doing great" or have a heart-to-heart with her and tell her that we deal with this 24/7. We follow protocols based on scientific research, there are many experienced eyes who will stay with you and walk you through all situations. Ask her if she is prepared to do all that. Tell her that you want to give Simmie the best chance of remission and TR is that chance.

I agree with Sandy that your vet does not understand how the insulin works if she told you to shoot two hours early. If he goes up fast, you could shoot one hour early and be ok. If you had a little more experience, I'd even say two hours early is fine if he goes way up but baby steps.

I loved our original vet who dx Gracies FD. But if I had stayed with her and followed her advice, Gracie would likely not be alive. I owe LL for Gracie's health today and for all my knowledge about FD. It's a big step for all of us to trust a website. We changed vets even though we'd been with our other one for over ten years. Our current vet admits I know more about FD than she or any other vets in her practice. They actually had me give them a presentation on FD and the TR protocol. We discuss Gracies FD but she never gives me dosing advice......she only gives me support for what I need to take care of Gracie. That is what your vet should be doing.
 
Hi Loves!

Simmie is at 177 right now. I still haven't decided what to do about his PM shot but I have time for that and a number of tests to do before then.

It must be so inspiring to you experienced folks to see how newbies come along and grow with your kindness and advice. Things we thought we could never do we are doing and that benefits our fur babies so much. Your inspiration, your being there is a way of paying it forward in one of the most innocent and pure ways of doing it. I see no ego here on this board, never. Just a soft touch to move us along when the time is right but solid and consistent scientific information to help us battle our own fears and the natural inadequacies of the veterinary profession.

I also don't want to trounce too much on the vets. Buddy the Dog has serious respiratory illness, horrible arthritis and is going slightly senile. Murphy the Cat suffers from pancreatitis and FIV (he was feral when he found us). Our vets have helped them help us through many days and nights of trauma. In fact, I found our current vet (I was looking for a new one anyway) when I was coming back from shopping and saw a pure white kitty lying in the road. He must have just gotten hit. I jumped out of my car (and you know, a good Samaritan on the other side got out of her car to stop oncoming traffic for me!) and ran him to the vet just 2 minutes down the road. I ran in yelling "trauma cat - help" and they grabbed him right then and there, with a full waiting room, and took him into surgery. He had head trauma but survived and thrived under their care and I was able to find a great home for him, where he lived for 10 more years, happy - at that time, Simmie was really strong, a bully and did not like male cats). It's hard to walk away from a practice like that...oh, and they weren't going to charge me a dime but I was working then and wanted to pay the full bill. They also provide 24 hour emergency care for established clients.

I know vets have a million things they have to understand and deal with - I get it. But I also really dislike the normal physician perspective of 'we are smarter than you' that sometimes comes across. I don't believe they understand that this type of attitude can make us worse, not better, caregivers. That's one of the key differences I see between them and this message board. Here, we're all in it together, fighting the same cause.

I'll shut up now. I'll let you know how Simmie does over the course of the day but right now, he is napping next to me, with his little custard bowl of ice, by his side.
 
I'll share a bit of our journey with you and any new folks struggling who may not know. . .
(please don't feel the need to respond)

LydetteSimmie (Iceman) said:
The biggest hump was doing the home testing. It seems to require nerves of steel for a newbie nailbite_smile .
We had the same problem. BK was a 5-ish years old, intact male fresh (like 1 day) off the streets, with BIG teeth. It took 2 of us to test him at first, which was not practical. I thought I would never be able to test him solo. With encouragement, support and lots of tips & tricks from folks here I managed. Good thing too as treating BKs FD was quite the challenge.

The first vet I took him to held no hope for BK. Below are the office visit notes from June 2008, which turned out to be the LAST time BK saw him-
(it enlarges if you click it)
Prognosis Poor - the vet sent me home to give me time to come to terms with what he saw as inevitable. He included his cell phone number for me to call when I was ready for him administer the final solution.

When I posted the update, the Lantus Landers of the day were outraged.
We didn't take his advice. That was late June 2008.
The rest as they say, is history. :cool:


Sometimes I feel like grabbing BK and taking him to that vet and saying
"here is your 'poor prognosis' "
 

Attachments

  • Prognosis Poor 06-2008 (400x228).jpg
    Prognosis Poor 06-2008 (400x228).jpg
    123.6 KB · Views: 839
  • BK 5-2008 vs 10-2008 (400x332).jpg
    BK 5-2008 vs 10-2008 (400x332).jpg
    129.3 KB · Views: 841
WOW Sandy, this is an amazing illustration of pictures painting a thousand words. What a fantastic mom you are....thank you so much for your help.

Oh and Liz, the Iceman...hee. We really still find it hysterical. Sometimes he actually puts his head on top of his little bowl while he sleeps! Ah, he's dreaming...his little paw is curving in and out. I love Simmie. We want a pic or little video of his ice licking but every time he hears the click of a camera we lose him in mid-action!

He sends his love to all of you.
XO
 
Hi Lydette:

I just wanted to tell you that you are doing a great job. When you first get the diagnosis, it is truly terrifying, and the amount of information you find here on this site is totally overwhelming. The fact that you have come this far shows how much you love your kitty and want to help him get better.

I, too, got poor advice from Cinco's vet. He was very, very sick, with DKA, when he was diagnosed. After just a couple of weeks of treatment, following the vet's advice, he was worse and she advised euthanization. We actually made the decision to let him go that evening, while we were out, but when we came home he was standing up in his cage, meowing. He was telling us he wasn't giving up, so we didn't. A friend steered me to FDMB, and I was scared to death to take his care into my own hands, but what the vet was doing wasn't working, and my friend said the board had saved her kitty's life, so I put my faith in these people, and three months later Cinco went OTJ. He relapsed the next year due to a Bartonella infection, but he's still here and relatively healthy despite glaucoma, blindness and lymphoma, on top of the FD. If I had followed my vet's advice, he would be dead. It wasn't a bad vet, just a typical one that doesn't understand enough about diabetes and doesn't have time to learn. Since then, I've taken the nodding and smiling approach and have done what I know to be right, and it has not led to any problems with that vet, as they are too busy to remember those kinds of details the next time. All they see is that Cinco is doing well, and I'm sure they think they have had a hand in that. That's fine, as I need them for prescriptions and non-FD issues. I hope you can reach a similar arrangement with your vets, with or without their realizing it.

So hang in there and remember to keep Simmie's well-being as the top priority, and I'm sure you'll do just fine.
 
Hi all,

Simmie was at 342 +10 from the shoot I did at +14 from my am time. Is this making sense?

Anyway, I'll be testing frequently to make sure he doesn't dive down for any reason.

Thank you for being with me and Simmie all day long. You're a gift that most people don't even know is out there.

Love
Lyd
 
One thing that would be very helpful is if you could update what shows up on the forum - that's the subject line of your very first original post. It should be something like this:

8/4 Simmie AMPS 195;+? 177;+6 229;+10 342

We always start the clock over when the shot is given. Looks to me like he's bouncing but it's hard to tell that unless you have all of the data in one spot. You can also summarize everything in one post.

Good luck dealing with the vet situation. There are some amazing stories posted here. :-D :-D :-D I'm so proud of everyone in LL who gives such great care to their kitty and to everyone who gives such great advice. You are absolutely right, egos take a back seat to the kitty. :-D
Liz
 
Hi Liz,

I'm not sure I understand but I feel like I am doing something wrong . I think I am just really tired. With the spine disease I have I sometimes go days without a good nights sleep and then I'll have a couple of days when I crash and burn and have to set our alarm clock so I wake up in time to take care of the Simmie! I'll look at your notes again, and some others that I saw today that explains how I need to structure my postings. Given all the help I am getting from the family here I want to be sure I am optimizing the info to make it easier for all to respond. If you all could be patient with me for a bit I'll get it all figured out.

One of the nice things about not sleeping is the wonder of late night animal wanderings. Tonight I am seeing a lot of fawns, raccoons, possums, etc. It's actually a lovely night.

Anyway, I'm falling asleep guys. Thank you for your friendship and kind sweetness all day today and for every day since I have joined the group.
 
Let me see if I can make it easier to understand.

The number you put in the AMPS and PMPS cells is always the number you get when you actually shoot, so this morning, you didn't shoot until she was at 203 so that's your AMPS number for today

The 195 at +12 you can either put in the +11 from last night (and put in your remarks something like Stalling for 8/4) If you put it in the +11, if you put 195 space @ space +12 it will help too

Or you can put all the numbers in the AMPS cell...you'd put 195 @ +12 203 @ +14 (put a space between each)
 
Thank you very much Chris. I'll make the modifications after my coffee for today. I was going to do a curve today but I am waiting until I get more treats delivered by Amazon tomorrow. When I run out of the treats (rare) he gets a little bit of the Tiki chicken canned food BUT that's really expensive stuff so I'd rather hold onto those cans for his general feeding. What a spoiled little baby!

Hope everyone's day goes brilliantly. I plan to test Simmie again at +6 today (2:30 edt) just as a spot check. I'll start a new report then.
 
once you're getting spot checks and working towards tight regulation, you don't have to do curves. it's more helpful to just get a spot check here and there, and try to identify when his nadir is. you want to get at least one spot check in every cycle, somewhere around +3-6 is typically best.

you can give a bite of his regular food for a post-pokey treat. treats need to be small - i used 1/2" cubes of boiled chicken breast for punkin.

it's very helpful if you start a new condo (thread) every morning with amps, then edit the subject line of the first post of that thread to keep updating whatever BG test numbers you get throughout the day. that helps those of us watching to see immediately from the main page if someone needs help. You can see from the main page what others do.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top