Theresa and Simba (GA)
Member Since 2010
After seeing really good results from other members here, I had high hopes for Levemir with Simba and it was effective for a short time. I had to increase his dosage about every 10 days until we were up to 6 units. After 2 months it was apparent that the insulin had expired and was no longer effective for him. This left me with 1/2 a vial of insulin wasted, $50.00 worth. I realize that it has a 30 day limit but, it was still showing BG results that is was working the full 2 months, after that it quickly teetered out. Sorry, I did not keep up with my spreadsheet here but his numbers were still similar to what he had with Vetsulin, towards the end they were higher and his urine glucose test strips consistently showed glucose in the urine. He continued to eat his usual large amounts of food throughout the day. I also feel that the excessive eating interferes with his BG results. ( older members here will be more familiar with our saga) He eats FF and Whiskas wet. We also give him meat scraps and very occasionally a few kitten chow kibbles which is the only dry he can chew. I realize the dry is a no no but this fellow requires lots of snacks.
For the time being, we have switched to the affordable Novolin, he is at 2 units now (starting out slow) and still showing glucose in his urine, he has always had UGs with glucose but, never had ketones, and we may not be at a proper Novolin dosage yet. Today his 6th hr BG check showed 172. I prefer the insulin that wimps out after 12 hours because he is hard to test and I have to rely on his UG levels and symptoms. I often wonder about the acromagely, but, cannot afford to do much about it at this time. (I also have an elderly dog who needs regular vet care) After 1 1/4 years on insulin it is apparent to me that Simba is somewhat resistant. Overall, he is still in good health and is thriving on the Novolin. We will try this for awhile and see how he does, if we have little success here, our next stop will be Lantus land. ( BTW, I thought you might find this interesting, his nadir on Levemir was at the 12 hr mark, shot time. His numbers would rise after the shot and then slowly go down as we approached shot time.) Thank you for your interest.
For the time being, we have switched to the affordable Novolin, he is at 2 units now (starting out slow) and still showing glucose in his urine, he has always had UGs with glucose but, never had ketones, and we may not be at a proper Novolin dosage yet. Today his 6th hr BG check showed 172. I prefer the insulin that wimps out after 12 hours because he is hard to test and I have to rely on his UG levels and symptoms. I often wonder about the acromagely, but, cannot afford to do much about it at this time. (I also have an elderly dog who needs regular vet care) After 1 1/4 years on insulin it is apparent to me that Simba is somewhat resistant. Overall, he is still in good health and is thriving on the Novolin. We will try this for awhile and see how he does, if we have little success here, our next stop will be Lantus land. ( BTW, I thought you might find this interesting, his nadir on Levemir was at the 12 hr mark, shot time. His numbers would rise after the shot and then slowly go down as we approached shot time.) Thank you for your interest.