Jeanne & Dottie
Member Since 2016
Sorry to post again.
Ok, as we approached Dottie's targed hour for her midnight shot 1/19/16, her BG, which had been very slowly climbing during the evening...
6:26pm BG 144
9:04pm BG 172
11:43pm BG 182
12:30am BG 165 So she's dropping instead of going up. I zipped over to the Prozinc/PZI forum and the protocol said if the BG keeps climbing just after the PMeal test, give it 20 minutes or so, and retest to see if her own levels were still climbing. If they were climbing I could go ahead and give a smaller insulin dose than the one I planned to give.
But they aren't climbing. Instead, they dropped further. No food before the retest so she really is on the way down. I guess I shouldn't give her even a drop of insulin, right? Her system seems to bottom out/nadir about 9 hours after her shot...that would put her nadir at 9:30 am. I am afraid with any insulin added, she'll crash and burn.
So I just fed her. She was ravenous, a sure sign to me that her sugar was going to drop fast. She's a cat who eats to live. She doesn't eat to live, unless she's on dry food. Then she's a hogjaws. No insulin again.
I almost want to feed her a little higher carb food like Friskies pate, just so I can get her insulin regulated. But that's like throwing trash on the floor so I could watch a Roomba run around cleaning it up, yes?
Note: I'm not calling Friskies trash. It was the only picture image I could think of at the moment.
Ok, as we approached Dottie's targed hour for her midnight shot 1/19/16, her BG, which had been very slowly climbing during the evening...
6:26pm BG 144
9:04pm BG 172
11:43pm BG 182
12:30am BG 165 So she's dropping instead of going up. I zipped over to the Prozinc/PZI forum and the protocol said if the BG keeps climbing just after the PMeal test, give it 20 minutes or so, and retest to see if her own levels were still climbing. If they were climbing I could go ahead and give a smaller insulin dose than the one I planned to give.
But they aren't climbing. Instead, they dropped further. No food before the retest so she really is on the way down. I guess I shouldn't give her even a drop of insulin, right? Her system seems to bottom out/nadir about 9 hours after her shot...that would put her nadir at 9:30 am. I am afraid with any insulin added, she'll crash and burn.
So I just fed her. She was ravenous, a sure sign to me that her sugar was going to drop fast. She's a cat who eats to live. She doesn't eat to live, unless she's on dry food. Then she's a hogjaws. No insulin again.

I almost want to feed her a little higher carb food like Friskies pate, just so I can get her insulin regulated. But that's like throwing trash on the floor so I could watch a Roomba run around cleaning it up, yes?
Note: I'm not calling Friskies trash. It was the only picture image I could think of at the moment.
Last edited:



You can't help Saoirse or anyone else if you're face down on the keyboard! Sleep well!
"The Tao of FDOMB. (Face down on Mars Bar)