Should kitty get insulin this morning?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jess and Marky Mark

Member Since 2017
Good morning!

Mark's AMPS was taken about 10 minutes ago. His bg was 100 (that was +11 after receiving his last shot. We are very new to this but my gut says to either not give him insulin or a much reduced dose this morning. We will not be home to monitor him today so I'm afraid of causing him to go too low.

His prescribed dose is 2U Lantus twice a day but we dropped to 1.5U after doing a curve on Sunday. I have not been able to discuss the curve with the vet yet as she's been out of town but hope to hear from her today.

Thanks in advance!
 
Good morning. You are still pretty new to this sugar dance and don't have a lot of data yet. It also looks like you are still trying to hone in on the right dose for Mark. In this case, when you can't monitor, I'd be inclined to skip the shot. The saying around here is high for a day is better than too low for a moment.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top