Should I still administer insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

squeecat

Member Since 2021
I did a pre breakfast test and she is at 173, she gets 1 unit of vetsulin. Is it safe to still give her that shot or should I skip?
 
With Vetsulin it's recommended to skip if BG is below 200, especially if you don't have much BG data.
 
what is his usual preshot numbers? If you can set up a spreadsheet to add in your signature it will be super easy for us to offer any suggestions and help. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/ If you have trouble setting it up one of us could help.


I will be setting that up sometime in the next couple days. She just got diagnosed on Monday and I just learned how to successfully get readings a couple days ago.

She was somewhere in the 500 range at time of diagnosis

So far I’ve gotten:

Thurs before Dinner: 361

Fri Breakfast:270
Fri Dinner: 280

& the 173 this morning.

I also switched her diet from normal cat food to low carb, FF Feast Classic. So I’ve been wary about the diet change affecting her sugar levels as well.
 
Last edited:
oh that IS quite a bit lower. Looks like the food is making a big difference. :) try to get a mid cycle and/or before bed reading too so you can see how low she's going. :)
 
It's possible that that might be a bit of a bounce after the cycle that began with the 173 this morning. Assuming the 173 was the preshot BG then BG may have gone a fair bit lower mid-cycle.

I see your kitty is called Sansa. Game of Thrones link?


Mogs
.
 
It's possible that that might be a bit of a bounce after the cycle that began with the 173 this morning. Assuming the 173 was the preshot BG then BG may have gone a fair bit lower mid-cycle.

I see your kitty is called Sansa. Game of Thrones link?


Mogs
.

I wish I could have been home to retest after the initial low reading & maybe not skipped a dose completely.. . I'm just extremely afraid of having her experience hypoglycemia.

Yes, she is the queen in the north!! ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top