? Should I shoot? PMPS 91 (lowest yet) HALP

Susan & Jorel

Member Since 2020
Hello All! Our cat has bad teeth and needs dental work. (We've known for a while now) But I've heard it's riskier while the cat is diabetic. To add to the confusion, his BG numbers are improving. His spreadsheet is linked below in the signature. So, should I:

A: Get his dental work ASAP, regardless of his BG trends. This might help his diabetes improve.

B: Wait a few months to see if he goes into remission first, and THEN get dental work whether he's in remission or not.

C: Only get dental work if he's been steady and in remission for a while. (How long?)

Any other info would help a lot. Like, is there a high risk that sending him back to the vet will just send his numbers back sky high? He's always very stressed at the vet.

Thanks in advance!
 
Last edited:
Can't answer specifically. Bad teeth are a cause for blood sugar to raise and knock a cat out of remission.

Ollie has a dental 4 months after I got her. We already knew she has hcm, murmur and an abdominal mass and just confirmed acro. Blood sugar ran 300-400 consistently. Up to 9 units insulin twice a day. Guesstimate she was 11+ years and we knew nothing of her history. She was high risk to say the least. I wanted a good dental exam and cleaning if for no other reason than to take that issue out of the equation. I found a dental specialist, the pre cardio consult listed anesthesia she should never have. Ollie did great (mom not so much), no major issues. Major gingivitis though.

The acro keeps her glucoses all over the place even with medical treatment, so I can't say the dental helped the glucoses. If you can swing it I say the specialist is the best option. I know my regular vet isn't as thorough. I always have to remind him to check teeth on any of my cats. Ollie's vet does it automatically.
 
Option A. It can be really hard to get a cat regulated that has bad teeth. Lot of people here have had dentals done. My cat’s numbers were way worse than yours in her first dental, I think. I got a brief look at your spreadsheet before it died. Twice. You must have gotten the modified spreadsheet from a certain Facebook group. They took our spreadsheet, modified it, and introduced problems that causes it to blow up on certain devices, like my iPad.

If you grab our spreadsheet template for the AT and copy your data over, the problem will go away. We have people who can help you with that if you’d like.
 
I got a brief look at your spreadsheet before it died. Twice. You must have gotten the modified spreadsheet from a certain Facebook group. They took our spreadsheet, modified it, and introduced problems that causes it to blow up on certain devices, like my iPad.

If you grab our spreadsheet template for the AT and copy your data over, the problem will go away. We have people who can help you with that if you’d like.
Thanks for the heads up. This is the first I've heard it have issues, and I recently made a few changes myself, so I don't know if it's my changes that did it or if it was the SS itself from FB. Hmmm.. Sorry it didn't work. I'll see if I can start over! ooof
 
Thanks for the heads up. This is the first I've heard it have issues, and I recently made a few changes myself, so I don't know if it's my changes that did it or if it was the SS itself from FB. Hmmm.. Sorry it didn't work. I'll see if I can start over! ooof
It's the SS. I had the same problem when I first joined. I downloaded the SS template from a diff group. Peeps on the FDMB who use certain types of devices to open the SS get a brief glimpse before it crashes. I had Marje transfer all of my data from the "offending" SS to this forum's SS. No big deal, although I bugged out about losing my data. I'm not super tech savvy. Should of figured I couldn't lose the data:banghead::facepalm:
 
Option A. It can be really hard to get a cat regulated that has bad teeth. Lot of people here have had dentals done. My cat’s numbers were way worse than yours in her first dental, I think. I got a brief look at your spreadsheet before it died. Twice. You must have gotten the modified spreadsheet from a certain Facebook group. They took our spreadsheet, modified it, and introduced problems that causes it to blow up on certain devices, like my iPad.

If you grab our spreadsheet template for the AT and copy your data over, the problem will go away. We have people who can help you with that if you’d like.
I hope this one works!! Here's the new link: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1J3dAaOhDFQS6oHNqIEB_8uKRcg8j1AgaSDiMsMeIVs4/edit?usp=sharing
 
My cat had dental work done about a year into her diabetes. She needed a good cleaning & a couple extractions. All went well for us. They monitor them extra close with any extenuating health problems. I definitely think It’s best for their overall health & for controlling the blood sugar.
 
You still need to change the permission, I couldn't open it. By the way, we regularly see spreadsheets from the other FB group crash - so it's good chance it's not what you did.
Well this is bad because I need to shoot like now and the ss isn't visible to anyone. How do I change it? his PMPS is 91!
 
Last edited:
I can see it, great! Are you around to monitor tonight? This could just be a Lantus double dip where they do a second smaller curve, but not as low as the main one. Most people on really tiny doses will have to get used to shooting greens.

I see you retested and Jorel is up. I would shoot full dose (such as it is)
 
Also meant to mention I can see the SS on both the laptop and iPad, so thanks for copying it over.
 
Ok does it work now? https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1J3dAaOhDFQS6oHNqIEB_8uKRcg8j1AgaSDiMsMeIVs4/edit?usp=sharing

Sorry, this is all pretty new to me and just had to redo my ss this afternoon because the other one was the FB version that crashed, so this one should be correct now, but I guess I messed up the permissions.
Yup, It sure does. Thank you! and...no worries!...we are all new at one point. Learning is part of the process. I really cannot advise you on your dose, but making your spreadsheet available will help those who can. :)
 
I can see it, great! Are you around to monitor tonight? This could just be a Lantus double dip where they do a second smaller curve, but not as low as the main one. Most people on really tiny doses will have to get used to shooting greens.

I see you retested and Jorel is up. I would shoot full dose (such as it is)
I think he dipped the second time because of the snack. I will shoot now that I see he is going back up. and you're right, it's gonna need to be something I get used to but it's very scary. luckily i can watch him. Thank you!
 
Yup, It sure does. Thank you! and...no worries!...we are all new at one point. Learning is part of the process. I really cannot advise you on your dose, but making your spreadsheet available will help those who can. :)
haha, yeah, it will definitely help! Thanks for letting me know
 
Yup, It sure does. Thank you! and...no worries!...we are all new at one point. Learning is part of the process. I really cannot advise you on your dose, but making your spreadsheet available will help those who can. :)
What I can reply on is this: re-read the TR protocol here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/ it will guide you to knowing when to reduce or increase your dosage. Looking at your spreadsheet, Jorel is hanging in the Blues, but not consistently below 100, and has not really earned any reductions (below 50). I'm sure a Mod will chime in.
 
Note, I have merged this post with your other one you started on dentals. Due to the number of cats here, we request just one post per cat per day. if you have a new question or need help later on, just change the subject line.
 
Note, I have merged this post with your other one you started on dentals. Due to the number of cats here, we request just one post per cat per day. if you have a new question or need help later on, just change the subject line.
Understood. Thank you. Again, apologies for my newbie-ness. I won't be doing that again!
 
Back
Top