Should I shoot? PMPS 60|12+ 44| fed-45|+1 57|+2 80

Status
Not open for further replies.

Smokey

Member Since 2010
Smokey's AMPS was 245 today. I was out all day and just tested his PMPS which was 65, I tested again immediately which was 60.

I read and understand that according to the guidelines I should not shoot. I just don't want to mess anything up with his shed. Can you take a look at his SS and give me some advice as to what should I do? He's due his shot in 10 minutes!
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 65,60

I am no expert but I will tell you until yo hear from someone who knows better, don't feed. When you are stalling you dont want to feed. Someone should see this shortly. good luck
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 65,60

Denne, the lowest number I ever shot was a 63 BUT I was only shooting .25u at that time. You should probably wait until you get an answer from someone more experienced with shooting low numbers. Smokey's numbers are looking great! I would continue to test him and delay shooting until you hear from one of the shooting experts here. Good luck, sorry I couldn't be more help. You may be up late tonight :)
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 65,60

Denne, If you are getting close to shot time I would do another test and post it. Since you haven't shot yet it will be your +12. dont feed and continue to wait. If you stall a bit will you be able to give the shot 12 hours later? Like if you usually shoot at 5:30 and you stall a half hour will you be home tomorrow morning to shoot later?
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 65,60 +12 44

I have his W/D that he has always been on. My husband says to give him 1 unit (usually has 2) and keep testing. What are your thoughts?
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 65,60 +12 44

But I'm also preparred with a Hypo kit in case I need it.
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 65,60 +12 44

I definitely would not shoot right now. If you have something with gravy, I would give a teaspoon or two of the gravy. then test again in 15-20 minutes
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 65,60 +12 44

I would not feed yet. retest in a half hour and if going up I would shoot. maybe he needs a decrease. not sure cause I usually do not give dosing advise. may be a late nadir cat as was explained in other condo
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 65,60 +12 44

I really would not feel comfortable telling you to shoot even a reduced dose but I am new to this. I have shot in the sixties but you need to have HC food and lots of test strips and really stay on top of it. The thing that concerns me is he really hasn't gone into these low numbers before. If he had been in the 100's and kind of working his way down, ok. But to drop from the two hundreds to 65, I wouldn't do it. He can skip a shot, Mine has a few times. I would feed a little gravy and hold out a little longer and see if someone more knowledgeable comes along. I will stay with you until they do.
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 65,60 +12 44

I had to feed him...He was starting to close 1 eye just sitting on the couter. He is eating like it is going out of style right now. I also gave him a little bit of gravy. I will test him in 30 minutes and update you! Thanks! You all are the best!!
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 65,60 +12 44

How's he acting? Normally? Maybe wait (I know it sucks). I would say if he is now in the 40's I would not shoot at this time. So you drain the shed and have to fill it up again, that's not the worst thing in the world. I would give him some food at this point, but that is me. You could start with some high carb gravy. I'm not an expert at this, but it is probably what I would do in this situation based on my personal past experience. Guinness once got down to 37 and I had to feed him the high carb fancy feast and it brought him back up to the 50's fairly quickly and I could breathe again. I never had to resort to the karo syrup, but I would have if he had been acting funny.
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 65,60|12+ 44|

He ate 15 minutes ago with some gravy and just tested at 45.

If I test him in an hour or so or even longer than that, and he is back up to the yellow...should I shoot then?
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 65,60|12+ 44|

Smokey said:
He ate 15 minutes ago with some gravy and just tested at 45.

If I test him in an hour or so or even longer than that, and he is back up to the yellow...should I shoot then?

I would doubt he would rise that fast but I am hoping you will get some better advice here shortly. Hang tight, I know its tough waiting.
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 60|12+ 44| fed-45

how about another test in 15 minutes? Want to be sure he isn't still dropping.
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 60|12+ 44| fed-45

I'll test again in 5 minutes and update! How long does it usually take to come up after eating?
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 60|12+ 44| fed-45

every cat is different. We don't have food data on Smokey yet so we'll have to wait and see. How much did he eat?
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 60|12+ 44| fed-45

He ate 1/4 cup of his W/D. He is acting pretty normal right now...

Just tested him at 57 so he is coming up!

Will giving him 1/2 unit or 1 unit prevent his shed from going empty tonight? I don't know if it is worse for him to receive nothing tonight or to receive a little something to keep his body used to it. Of course, with close monitoring.
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 60|12+ 44| fed-45

I don't feel comfortable with you shooting yet, especially because the 57 is food influenced. How about another test in 30 minutes?

Did he eat normally today?
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 60|12+ 44| fed-45

I agree with Libby, I don't think you should shoot again. You might be better off just skipping this shot rather than shooting, him dropping again you feeding, etc. Just my opinion here. Bumping Up.
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 60|12+ 44| fed-45

how long can you stall tonight and still shoot at +12 after that in the morning? Do you have to be out the door at a certain time in the morning?
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 60|12+ 44| fed-45

Hi Denne',
Smokey's shed will not completely drain if you skip tonight's shot. If you don't feel comfortable shooting, don't shoot (it would have the same effect on the shed as if you had given an unintentional "fur shot"). Those greens tonight are the lowest numbers you've seen. The 57 reflects the food he just ate. You were right to "Feed the Forties". [Edited to say Disregard the following statement (in quotation marks): see below!! "And remember that a number in the 40s for a recently diagnosed diabetic is an automatic dose reduction. So tomorrow your dose would be .25 lower than today." ]
I am not a dosing expert, so I think you should wait until Libby, Sienne, Laurie, or Jill give you further advice. But I think that if Smokey were my kitty, I would skip tonight's shot.

Ella & Rusty

p.s. I see that while I was struggling with this Libby is "on your case". Carry on!!!

p.p.s: Oh dear, I see on further reading of Smokey's SS that he is not a new diabetic, but had to go back on the juice. Disregard what I said about dose reduction!! Sorry!!
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 60|12+ 44| fed-45

He ate normally this morning and this evening as always. I shoot at 6am and 6pm and have to leave the house tomorrow at 7am.

Libby - Are you suggesting that I test at 6am tomorrow...see the BG, then wait until 7am to shoot if needed? Or, if the BG calls for a regular dose, shoot?
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 60|12+ 44| fed-45

Smokey said:
He ate normally this morning and this evening as always. I shoot at 6am and 6pm and have to leave the house tomorrow at 7am.

Libby - Are you suggesting that I test at 6am tomorrow...see the BG, then wait until 7am to shoot if needed? Or, if the BG calls for a regular dose, shoot?

I think what libby meant is if you stall and shoot, an hour or two, then you need to shoot 12 hours from whenever that is. So if you ended up shooting at 8, you would have to wait until 8 tomorrow morning to shoot again.
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 60|12+ 44| fed-45

Steph and Java said:
I think what libby meant is if you stall and shoot, an hour or two, then you need to shoot 12 hours from whenever that is. So if you ended up shooting at 8, you would have to wait until 8 tomorrow morning to shoot again.

that's exactly what I meant, thanks Steph!
 
Re: Should I shoot? PMPS 60|12+ 44| fed-45

Libby and Lucy said:
Steph and Java said:
I think what libby meant is if you stall and shoot, an hour or two, then you need to shoot 12 hours from whenever that is. So if you ended up shooting at 8, you would have to wait until 8 tomorrow morning to shoot again.

that's exactly what I meant, thanks Steph!

No thank YOU for being the voice of reason, LOL!
 
if you have to shoot again 9 hours from now, then your best bet is to skip tonight's shot. It looks like he is heading up, but I would test again before bed just to be sure. That will allow you to shoot your new reduced dose on time in the morning.

If he is very high in the morning (he might be, since you'll be skipping tonight), you can shoot the 2 units one last time in the morning, then reduce to 1.75 tomorrow evening. That's up to you - some people like to do that to help bring the numbers down, but if you have to be gone all day then the safest thing is to just go ahead and shoot 1.75 in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top