? Should I shoot a little more if BG is higher than usual (or less if BG is lower than usual)?

soreto

Member Since 2025
I am a few months into diagnosis. I was doing the Go-Slow method, which got kitty to a somewhat steady range. However, there are still times where his BG is higher or lower than usual. If I continue to follow the Go-Slow method, I would just be constantly bouncing between 2-3 dosage amounts. (1.0u, 1.25u, 1.5u)

So what I've been doing the past month or so is just adjusting the dose based on what the individual reading is. If his BG is 100-250, the dose I give is 1.25u. (this is his norm) If his BG is lower than 100, I either don't shoot at all or wait to shoot if I am around to test him a few hours later. If his BG is higher than 250, I give 1.5u.

Is this bad to do? I am getting frustrated because the GS method had me constantly having to change dosage, only to have to change it back a week later. Also, kitty is not always amenable to constant BG testing, which makes doing a glucose curve impossible sometimes, costing a lot in wasted test strips.

(I don't have an updated spreadsheet right now; please just answer based on your experience.)
 
Good morning, I do not give dosing advice but I can say is that once your cat begins his insulin the same dose must be kept at east for 3 cycles, so the system can get used to the insulin and then we can see how is reacting, you do not adjust the dose amount according to the BG, I did not see what insulin you are using, but in either case if you feel the BG is low for your comfort, before AMPS/PMPS an hour before I can stall, or feed a bit before his actual meal, or not shoot, Corky uses ProZinc , do I shoot in low 2 digits, but again that’s me, it takes a lot of practice and caution to shoot in low numbers, but I never skip a shot or change the shot according to his BG, by doing so his numbers would be all over the place, unable to keep him stabilzedUnless there is a 69–underBG then I consider stalling the shot after his meal , but once again it depends on the Insulin I will tag another member that can assist you with dosing. But we need to know what insulin you are using to tag the right members if you have trouble testing you might want to consider the continuous monitoring system such as the Libre
And doing a curve is not going to say much if you change dose on BG changes, and not able to test every 2 hours for 1 cycle (12 hours
 
Last edited:
No. With Lantus you don't dose based on the PS number. You have to give the same insulin dose regardless of what the PS is unless the PS is low which you have options on what to do. See the How to handle a lower than normal preshot number in this sticky Sticky - Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

Testing requires patience for most cats to at least tolerate and for you to get a routine set. Low carb treats as a reward helps. Have you looked into a CGM? It's more expensive but you won't need to manually test unless the CGM malfunctions or falls off or has some odd reading (all common). There's info here: Getting Started With Continuous Glucose Monitors (CGMs) for Diabetic Cats

@Wendy&Neko @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
I agree with what Squeem3 posted. Lantus dosing is based on how low the insulin brings the nadir -- not on your preshot number.

It's also very difficult to offer a general statement based on experience. We have a truism here: "Every cat is different (ECID)." How my cat responds to insulin may be very different than your cat and without benefit of seeing your cat's spreadsheet we can easily make suggestions that are nonsense.
 
Back
Top