Should I reduce dose? (New member)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aspen

Member Since 2015
Hi there,

First, thanks to everyone for all the information on this forum. I've learned so much.

My monitor arrived this weekend and I just started testing my cat Aspen yesterday. I am doing a curve today. Based on the numbers so far, I think it makes sense to reduce his PM dose to 0.75. Would you mind looking at Aspen's spreadsheet and letting me know if I have enough information to make this decision?

I switched Aspen from kibble to all canned wet food right after his diabetes diagnosis 4 weeks ago. I started giving him Lantus 1.o Unit twice daily (vet prescribed) 3 weeks ago.

Thank you!
 
Wow! They're very pretty numbers. You have a well-regulated kitty there. :)

FDMB's Start Low, Go Slow protocol recommends reducing the dose by 0.25 units if BG goes below 90 on a human meter. Tight Regulation Protocol is more aggressive. One of the criteria for a dose reduction under TR is a nadir of 50 or lower.

More experienced members may have a different take on things, but given your current lack of test data for the evening cycle (where many cats run lower than during the day), following the SLGS protocol recommendation to reduce the Lantus dose by a quarter unit when BG goes below 90 on a human meter might be a wise, conservative course of action. Other members may have different suggestions for you.

It looks like Aspen is a very good candidate for becoming diet-controlled (anti-jinx). The general experience here seems to be that a steady, gradual tapering of the Lantus dose makes for a much more solid remission.


Mogs
.
 
Thanks for the reply! B/c his numbers are on the low green end, my goal is to reduce his dosage starting tonight from 1.0 to 0.75 (and stay at that level for at least a week). I am fairly certain the change in diet made a HUGE difference for Aspen. I will do some tests after the PM shot and collect more data.

Fingers crossed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top