should i lower then tonight to 1.5u please help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114809
im hoping ive managed to link my last lot of posts.ive really tried! I DID IT,I DID IT! (well I think I did )
can anyone look at the spread sheet from today and shed any light on this.and tonight should I lower to 1.5u and start from scratch?
im scared,nervous,on my own and really need you guys right now! im relying on you .....................and so is my gorgeous boy <3xxxx
 
Anna,

First off, take a deep breath! :smile: This is a very nerve wracking disease. We've all been where you are!

There is no harm in dropping back to 1.5units and holding it for 6 cycles (3days), as some others have advised. You'll probably see some higher numbers initially as the depot empties a bit...that's okay. It'll give you a good starting place.

Good luck! Keep asking questions. There is a lot of experience on the board. :smile:

~Suzanne
 
Anna, I agree with Suzanne and the experienced members who suggested yesterday that you lower to 1.5U tonight. Even if your vet had said 2U, that was before you got rid of dry food. Changing to an all wet food diet can make a huge difference. Today we are celebrating Scooters OTJ party. The day Scooter's mom got rid of all dry food in the house, he went from needing 5.5U of Levemir to no insulin. Way better for the BG to be possibly higher for a few days that to be too low.
 
im just worried as his little legs aren't good with the neropathy thing and the day after high blood readings hes poorly.like lethargic,slepping all the time,weeing etc.not wanting to know.i check for ketones regualary and so far....fingers crossed weve been ok but im scared hes going to get worse by lowering to 1.5 but then if I don't il always be thinking "I wonder if hed have been better on the 1.5u dose".im sure you've all felt it!
 
You're dropping the insulin, but the food change should make a big difference and drop the numbers. Better safe than sorry. I hope Bailey finds his way to lower floors soon. It's hard to be patient, but FD is a marathon, not a sprint. Hang in there! Bailey knows you're trying to do all the right things for him.
 
Julie mentioned in yesterday's condo (the link worked :thumbup ) that sometimes too much insulin can look like too little. So you can get higher numbers with too much insulin too. Good job on checking for ketones frequently. :-D

And yes, we all still worry whether we are doing the right thing for our sweet kitties. :YMHUG:
 
Hi Anna!! Great job with the link, and yes, of course we're all freaked out when our kitties act like they don't feel good!!

We're first and most concerned with keeping Bailey safe, and there's just no better way to go than to start at lower doses, follow the protocol and trust the people here who've been dealing with nothing other than feline diabetes and the problems that come with it for a very long time.

Just because Bailey's numbers didn't respond to the Canisulin, doesn't mean they won't respond to the Lantus. You can't really say "because X amount of Drug A didn't work, then X amount of drug Y won't work either". You've also made the great choice to get rid of the dry food and are feeding low carb food.

On the weakness in Bailey's back legs. Have you heard of Zobaline? I'm not sure if you can get it in the UK (that particular brand) but it's helped a lot of kitties who have had diabetic neuropathy

Methycobalamine (methyl B-12) is available as Zobaline which is specifically formulated for diabetic cats. It's one of the B vitamins and it's totally safe to give, as even if they get too much, it's just pee'd out.

It doesn't work overnight, and can take several months to see any real progress, but it's really helpful so you might see if you can either buy the Zobaline or something like it.
 
Hi there Anna :cool:

Great job on the spot checks today!
Glad to see you are reducing. While the new dose is settling in do your best to grab tests when you can.
Before you know it you will have a clearer picture of how Lantus is working for Bailey.
Collecting as much data as possible will go a long way toward making the best dosing decisions.
 
Just to offer a little bit of perspective...

In general, it's safer for Bailey to get too little insulin than too much. If the 1.5u dose isn't bringing numbers down where you want them to be, you can always raise the dose. No one is suggesting that Bailey will be at 1.5u permanently. Every time you change a dose, you usually wait at least 6 cycles/3 days to evaluate if the dose is effective. Sometimes, we fast track the dose but right now, Bailey has seen nadirs that are less than 300 so fast-tracking isn't really an option.

The other thing to realize is that Bailey's numbers are bouncing. Based on today and 192 two days ago, it's likely that Bailey sees these lower numbers and then bounces back into the pinks and reds. For many cats, these changes in BG levels, make them feel less than great. He'll get through this and will feel better.

If you can't find Zobaline in the UK, you can use methyl B-12 (methylcobalamin). Just make sure there is no sugar or carb (e.g., rice flour) in the product. You may be able to find it at a health food store. Zobaline is available on Amazon but I don't know if it's sold in the UK.
 
yeah ive already started him on zobaline about a week ago. ive just given a 1.5 dose so I will 'hang in there' as you guys call it ;-) its the starting point of hopefully making him better with a little help from you people.il do as many test as poss in between working/sleeping etc then come on here for your help.so here goes....................
 
ive done a couple of readings in the night. which aren't ridiculously high :-) but hes just so lethargic this morning.hes eaten his breakfast ok but is miserable :-( im off to work now and will be home in 4 hours or so to do his next test and shot. I do hope hes ok.i worry myself sick.x
 
I already do ketone checks most days just to be on the safe side.will do more blood tests when I get home from work .another 4 hours to go! considering we lowered his dose, his numbers don't seem too high and to get a blue is amazing.im so glad I took all your advice.x
 
A lovely PS this morning indeed! :cool:

And what a different picture emerged with the additional tests on yesterdays AM cycle. Well done!

Glad to hear you are testing for the presence of ketones - if you ever see even a trace indicated on the strip post for assistance immediately.

A quick 'housekeeping' item -
We refer to the daily threads here in Lantus Land as 'condos' ;-)
Please create one new thread each day, starting your daily thread with date, kitty's name, and AMPS.
Your thread will be bumped to the top of the list when you or anyone else posts on your thread.
This keeps all your questions, comments, and replies in one place and makes it easier for us to spot you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top