? Should I decrease?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andreea&Tilica

Member Since 2017
Hi,

According to SLGS rules I should have reduce the dose starting from 26th but because he ate only dy food and he was high I kept the old dose of 1,25u. I tried to reduce it on 26 th at PMPS but his numbers told me that the dose is too low, the numbers have incresed and the Bg was >400.
I remind you that because of fluid administraton, the area was inflamed and he refused the food, ultimately accepting only dry food.
His appetite is still lower than usual. When he is hungry, he wants dry food but he started to accept the wet food.

Last post
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/many-thanks.183017/#post-2029969
 
One factor you may not be considering are bounces. It looks like there are times when Tilica drops into blue or green numbers and afterward, numbers shoot up into the 300s or higher. This is a bounce. When a cat's numbers drop low, drop fast, or drop into a range that their body isn't used to, it can trigger the liver and pancreas to dump a stored form of glucose into their blood stream along with counterregulatory hormones. As a result, the numbers spike upward. It can take some cats as long as 3 cycles to clear the bounce. It's very likely that this is what you were seeing after Tilica's numbers dropped into the 70s. With SLGS, a dose reduction is indicated. Between the bounce and the depot often taking a bit of time to catch up with a change, you don't want to overreact to still seeing high numbers. It can take a cat's system a few cycles to adjust.

As for appetite, it may be that due to Tilica occasionally seeing better numbers, you're seeing less of an appetite. The more that he will accept the canned food, the better. Canned food is going to be better for any bladder or urinary track issues and is lower in carbs than dry food.


 
Hi Andreea! Looks like you didn't give the reduced dose of 1 unit enough time to clear the bounce. @Sienne and Gabby (GA) meant to say 3 days not 3 cycles for the bounce to clear. This is the 4th cycle since you took her back up to 1.25 so the depot could be filled by now so, be vigilant with testing as she could drop again soon.
 
One factor you may not be considering are bounces. It looks like there are times when Tilica drops into blue or green numbers and afterward, numbers shoot up into the 300s or higher. This is a bounce. When a cat's numbers drop low, drop fast, or drop into a range that their body isn't used to, it can trigger the liver and pancreas to dump a stored form of glucose into their blood stream along with counterregulatory hormones. As a result, the numbers spike upward. It can take some cats as long as 3 cycles to clear the bounce. It's very likely that this is what you were seeing after Tilica's numbers dropped into the 70s. With SLGS, a dose reduction is indicated. Between the bounce and the depot often taking a bit of time to catch up with a change, you don't want to overreact to still seeing high numbers. It can take a cat's system a few cycles to adjust.

As for appetite, it may be that due to Tilica occasionally seeing better numbers, you're seeing less of an appetite. The more that he will accept the canned food, the better. Canned food is going to be better for any bladder or urinary track issues and is lower in carbs than dry food.
Hi Sienne, he refused caned food, when his apettite is good he likes wet food. So it would be prudent to lower the dose starting from tomorrow?
 
Hi Andreea! Looks like you didn't give the reduced dose of 1 unit enough time to clear the bounce. @Sienne and Gabby (GA) meant to say 3 days not 3 cycles for the bounce to clear. This is the 4th cycle since you took her back up to 1.25 so the depot could be filled by now so, be vigilant with testing as she could drop again soon.
Hi Bobbie, I know that he can drop again with this dose, that's why I want to reduce but I don't know if I have to start from tomorrow or wait a little longr.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top