Miriam Van Scott
Member Since 2020
Harriett: 7 years old, 7 lbs (down from 10lbs pre-diabetes) on 2 units of LANTUS 2ce a day
Hello all. Harriett was diagnosed May 14th and went on Lantus immediately. Her BG was 428 at diagnosis. Doc had her on Royal Canin but I transitioned her to wet pate, and began home monitoring 5 days ago. Since then, her numbers have ranged from the high 200's to low 60's.
Here's my question: for the past 3 days, once at 7am and twice at 7pm when she's scheduled to get insulin, her BG reading has been low enough that I didn't administer the shot. That means she's only getting a single dosage of 2 units Lantus once a day. Is this okay? I worry that skipping the shots means her BG is not being properly regulated, but at the same time know it's dangerous to shoot at BG 68, 52, 74
Thanks!
Hello all. Harriett was diagnosed May 14th and went on Lantus immediately. Her BG was 428 at diagnosis. Doc had her on Royal Canin but I transitioned her to wet pate, and began home monitoring 5 days ago. Since then, her numbers have ranged from the high 200's to low 60's.
Here's my question: for the past 3 days, once at 7am and twice at 7pm when she's scheduled to get insulin, her BG reading has been low enough that I didn't administer the shot. That means she's only getting a single dosage of 2 units Lantus once a day. Is this okay? I worry that skipping the shots means her BG is not being properly regulated, but at the same time know it's dangerous to shoot at BG 68, 52, 74
Thanks!