Hi Joyce and Callie
I am uncertain of the protocol. My cat’s PMPS was 99, so I gave her less insulin. I can’t find any information on how much insulin.
To help you decide how much insulin you should be giving, you need to first determine how low the dose is taking the BG's. Unlike the in out insulins, Lantus is a depot insulin and it's dosing is based on how low the dose is getting the cat, in other words, the nadir.
The best way to do that is to regularly get a couple of tests in each cycle, as well as the amps and pmps.
As you are following SLGS, really you should be reassessing the dose weekly, determining whether the dose is too low or not too much by looking at the spot checks you have been able to get and running a curve at the end of the week.
As Chris noted we additionally only make adjustments in 0.25u so from 0.5u you would go to 0.75u, but only once you have determined how low the 0.5u is getting Kallie, you should be holding the dose for a week before changing it.
So going forward, my suggestion to you would be to go back to the 0.5u, because she hadn't been on that dose long enough and you don't know what her nadirs were on this dose, try to get some spot checks in each cycle, run a curve at the end of the week and then based on the numbers you are getting alter the dose. Remember on SLGS if you see her drop below 90 that earns her a reduction.
Do you think that is feasible for you?
If you work long hours getting a +1 or +11 just before you leave for work or just as you walk in the door can be helpful. If that is not possible then at least a just before bed test in the evenings.
Do post here and ask for advice before changing your dose, we can talk you through your options and help you make an informed decision.