? Shot Cycles With Lantus ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeff D / Sketch

Member Since 2017
I have a question on Lantus shot cycles. I know that it recommends 2 cycles 12 hrs apart and discourages early or late shots in the cycles. However, due to schedules and my cat Sketch being a part outdoor cat its almost impossible to keep at even 12 hr shots. I consulted my vet and she felt the minimum to short a shot would 10 hrs after the first. I have been able to keep it within an hour short or over and haven't seen any negative effects. I am still trying to get him regulated and after consulting with the vet that his numbers are still seeming to be in the low to mid 300 with occasional spikes up to 400's mid cycle she advised me to up his dosage from 1 unit twice a day to 1 1/2 units twice a day.
Anyone in the same situation regarding the short or long shot cycles and if so what are your thoughts, experiences or recommendations?
 
Hi there Jeff. It is always best to try to keep the shots approx. 12 hours apart. If you do earlier than that, it acts like a dose increase. And if you shoot later it acts like a decrease. I had the same situation with Bubba being an indoor/outdoor cat and while I was trying to regulate him I had to keep him inside only as it was just too stressful to me to have to go outside looking for him to test him to keep him safe. After I got him Off the Juice (OTJ), I started letting him outside again. The only way you will know if the dose is working is to get pre shot test, and at least a mid cycle test each cycle. If Sketch starts to go lower, you would need to test more and if he is outside it is going to be very hard to know and he could go too low.

Also, we recommend taking increases in .25 unit increments and if you go up more like you vet is suggesting, you could go over the ideal dose. So, if it were me, I would only increase to 1.25 units.

Can we get you to set up a Spread Sheet ? If you look in my signature you will see SS and you will be able to view it. In order to give you the best dosing advice, we need to see the numbers you are getting for Sketch.

How to create our spreadsheet

Keep asking questions as we are here to help.
 
Thanks for the info Bobbie. I've had Sketch on the "juice" for about 4 weeks, and 2 a days for just the past 2 weeks. Sketch is a difficult cat but has been getting much more tolerant. No problem with shots but testing has been erratic at best so I haven't set up the spread sheet yet for the site although I am keeping one of my own. I have been working with him and like I said he (and I) are getting better. I have been trying to test him approx mid way thru the day cycle just about the same time every day. I am hoping to be able to achieve a curve in the near future. I know what you are saying as to the amount of dosage increase because it can cause a bounce from what I've read but the vet felt given his numbers (before and after him being on Lantus) that we probably wouldn't see a diff at .25 increase. He has been getting the 1.50 units twice a day for just 2 days and have't seen any negative behavior. The vet suggested that I don't test for 3 days to have the dosage change take effect and become stable. Given that info would you still think about dropping it back to 1.25?
 
We usually hold a dose for 3 days or 6 cycles if following TR OR 7 days or 14 cycles if following Start Low Go Slow. I misunderstood and thought you hadn't increased yet. But , if you have been on 1.50 for two day all ready I think I would hold it for another day as long as you are testing pre shots and getting a mid cycle test in to keep him safe. It takes 4-6 cycles for the depot to fill and if you move around the dose before that it makes knowing how the dose is really working. But , going forward, I think it would be wise to only increase in increments of .25 units.

Have you given any thought to work protocol you are going to follow?
 
We are on start low go slow method right now. But will try to get a pre shot pre meal test tomorrow am. I agree on the .25 jump if his dose needs to be increased in the future.
Just for practice I tested him last night about a 1/2 hour after dinner and shot and he was @425...so not low but I know with the meal and that Lantus nadir is several hours down the road...but more practice for me and Sketch. Not sure on work protocol...been a bit consumed with diet, testing and shots...(and reading!!!!)
 
Welcome! Lantus generally kicks in 1-2 hours after giving it. Food will cause tge BG to rise about 20-30 minutes after eating. Sonuts best to TFS(test, feed, shoot) all within about 5-15 minutes. Some see a response in an hour but for my cat it took 2-2.5 hours mostly.
 
Welcome! Lantus generally kicks in 1-2 hours after giving it. Food will cause tge BG to rise about 20-30 minutes after eating. Sonuts best to TFS(test, feed, shoot) all within about 5-15 minutes. Some see a response in an hour but for my cat it took 2-2.5 hours mostly.

Thanks! Maxee looks almost identical to my late cat Bud....made it to 23 and still miss the guy. Sketch has entirely diff personality....very difficult!!! I inherited Sketch from a neighbor that wouldn't allow him in the house and had very little interaction with him. He had an abscess from a fight they hadn't noticed so I took him to the vet. Then a couple weeks later he showed up at my back door at 11:00pm when it was ten degrees and snowing. I didn't have the heart to turn him away...I opened the door and in he came. A couple weeks later the previous owners asked if I would take him as he was a tough cat to deal with. That was 7 years ago and with a lot of patience he has improved and trusts me but is still "Sketchy" with everyone else...hence the name!
 
We usually hold a dose for 3 days or 6 cycles if following TR OR 7 days or 14 cycles if following Start Low Go Slow. I misunderstood and thought you hadn't increased yet. But , if you have been on 1.50 for two day all ready I think I would hold it for another day as long as you are testing pre shots and getting a mid cycle test in to keep him safe. It takes 4-6 cycles for the depot to fill and if you move around the dose before that it makes knowing how the dose is really working. But , going forward, I think it would be wise to only increase in increments of .25 units.

Have you given any thought to work protocol you are going to follow?
@Bobbie And Bubba
Question how did the number of cycles/days to hold come about? ErDVM wasn't pleased I changed doses so fast. I'm wondering if her point was for my cat specifically or general (frazzled nerves got me and I didn't think to ask erDVM.
So, how did the time protocol come about here?

Thanks
 
@Bobbie And Bubba
Question how did the number of cycles/days to hold come about? ErDVM wasn't pleased I changed doses so fast. I'm wondering if her point was for my cat specifically or general (frazzled nerves got me and I didn't think to ask erDVM.
So, how did the time protocol come about here?

Thanks
The protocols are in the Stickies at the top of this forum, Tight Regualtion (TR) or Start Low Go Slow ( SLGS)

Tight Regulation Protocol with Lantus or Levemir for Diabetic Catswas developed by laypersons from the German Diabetes-Katzen Forum. The protocol was eventually published in the Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery.


The START LOW, GO SLOW METHOD (SLGS) with Lantus or Levemir for Diabetic Cats has been adapted from the FDMB's original 5 Steps to Regulating Your Diabetic Cat. Adaptations were necessary to accommodate the action, nuances, and exceptions of the newer Lantus and Levemir insulins.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top