Shooting low, testing and spreadsheets

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Recently I have seen a number of people saying that the experienced members of this board advise you not to shoot under 200 (or 150). This advice is primarily for new members, since it is dangerous to your cat to shoot that low if you don't have the data to know how your cat will behave and experience on how to handle that. That is another reason why it is so important to home test and track your results on a spreadsheet.

Shooting at 200 or below, could cause your cat to drop very low if not managed correctly. However newbies will need to learn how to do this since ideally over time the cat will come down more and more into these more normal numbers. When it does so, you don't want to lose momentum and stress the pancreas by not shooting, as the cat may not be ready to come off insulin entirely. So as your cat gets regulated, you will find yourself shooting under 200 until the cat can hold normal numbers and fully go into remission. But this is something that you do carefully with experience, or have an experienced member to coach you through it.

Newbies on lantus or levemir should read the below stickies to prepare themselves for this. They should also test frequently to have data ready on the cats general insulin behaviour: every preshot, midcycle, before bed, plus occasional spot checks at other times.

When you do get a preshot number under 200 - stall & dont shoot, don't feed, and post a help message on the lantus tight regulation forum. While you wait for a response, retest in 30 minutes to see how the cats BG is trending, post that new number too and an experienced member will hopefully be available by then to help you. If not and the cat is low or dropping, you would be best advised to skip the shot.

STICKY: Shooting and handling low numbers
STICKY: How to treat hypos
How to set up a spreadsheet

Wendy
 
Its a good idea to post in the insulin-specific forum when you are ready to do this ie, have spreadsheet and data collected.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top