MaryB & Chester
Member Since 2012
From my vet
But around here, the protocol is test/feed/shot or test/shot/feed. We don't test AFTER eating because (as I understand it) the food can (somewhat) artificially increase BG beyond what they would "normally" be. My vet says to feed, wait an hour, then test and shoot.
I'm getting confused again...
I ask because Chester is giving me more incidences of BG <= 150. I know some people shoot numbers like this all the time, but it makes me really nervous. I can't always stay home or stay up all night to make sure he's safe. If I don't give him his shot, I'm greeted by something >400 next test around. I don't want to jump his dose around because that's not how Lantus works. But i don't want to skip a bunch of shots and keep him swinging like that.
I feel like I'm asking the same questions over and over again - because I just don't get it.
And my husband gets frustrated that I want to test Chester so often (AMPS, lunch, PMPS, bedtime) and he asks "Why can't you just do what the vet says?"
'Cause I'm not sure that what my vet is telling me is right!
But in any right, if you feel that for your comfort level you want/need to take the BG before you give insulin, then I would suggest waiting to the BG until about 1 hour after he eats (if your schedule will allow that time difference). Often if you are taking the BG in 30 min or less after he eats, that will be when his BG is on the rise and you might be getting it at a low or lower, point.
I agree with you, I would be concerned about giving him an insulin injection if his BG is < 150. However, if we skip the dose totally then we often get a rebound effect in the BG value and the next value is often quite high.
What I would suggest, is that if he ate his full meal, and you have taken the BG at least an hour after eating and is still < 150 would be to perhaps skip that dose or give a 1/2 dose. That way we can likely prevent both rebound hyperglycemia or significant hypoglycemia. If you find that you have to consistently skip doses, that may be an indication for dose adjustment.
But around here, the protocol is test/feed/shot or test/shot/feed. We don't test AFTER eating because (as I understand it) the food can (somewhat) artificially increase BG beyond what they would "normally" be. My vet says to feed, wait an hour, then test and shoot.
I'm getting confused again...
I ask because Chester is giving me more incidences of BG <= 150. I know some people shoot numbers like this all the time, but it makes me really nervous. I can't always stay home or stay up all night to make sure he's safe. If I don't give him his shot, I'm greeted by something >400 next test around. I don't want to jump his dose around because that's not how Lantus works. But i don't want to skip a bunch of shots and keep him swinging like that.
I feel like I'm asking the same questions over and over again - because I just don't get it.
And my husband gets frustrated that I want to test Chester so often (AMPS, lunch, PMPS, bedtime) and he asks "Why can't you just do what the vet says?"
'Cause I'm not sure that what my vet is telling me is right!