? SHOOT OR SKIP PM shot? PMPS 173

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bruce Wayne

Member Since 2021
When I first read through the ProZinc sticky I read this-
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
So I went with option C, and fed him to shoot in a few hours. Then I kept reading and saw that some updates were made where the recommendation was NOT to feed for a while and check BG again.

Since Bruce is usually in the 400s for his preshots, I am thinking maybe I better skip it. We had a hypo night two nights ago and maybe he is just prone to lower numbers at night?

I have one more test strip until my new ones come in the mail, so I was thinking rather than checking in a few hours, maybe I should skip tonight and save that test strip for tomorrow PMPS?

Any thoughts?
 
Hi Lauren! You are correct, another option is you can "stall" feeding, waiting 15-20 minutes and testing again to see if the numbers go up on their own. That method is recommended for people with more data of their pets, and preferably more strips available. I think you are fine to skip tonight (assuming he has no history of DKA/ketones), considering your lack of strips and the recent near hypo.

If it hasn't been recommended already, the ReliOn Prime from Walmart is a much more affordable meter option, plus you don't have to wait on special ordering. :)
 
Hey Elizabeth ! Sorry if I called you the wrong name in another thread ! I don’t know why I read it as Suzanne elsewhere.

I was running out of time so I ended up giving him 25% shot (.8u) just to keep him on a schedule.

I have not heard about those meters. Is that a human meter ? I def need a more affordable option so I will check this out ASAP.
 
No worries!

Yes, most of us use human meters due to cost. Pet meters are still fairly new on the market and before that everyone used human meters on their cats. You'll find unless specifically stated, all BG numbers here will be in reference to human meter numbers. Human meters run slightly lower than pet meters but we adjust for that. 50-120 is normal BG on human meters while I believe on pet meters it's somewhere like 80-150? Definitely recommend Walmart's ReliOn brand, the meter is only $9 and strips are $18 for 100.

I am glad you lowered the dose after that 62 the other night (you do not want Bruce going below 68 on Alphatrak) but I wonder if he'll need a bigger reduction.
 
You might be right. Might need to head to 3.0 or 2.75 for a little while. I’m glad to see him in the 100s but it’s been so long since he’s been there that I worry about bouncing.

awesome :) just bought some of those so hopefully they will be here soon. Thanks for that tip!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top