Shoot or not???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Likameow

Member Since 2014
Could someone take a look at Ben's numbers? His PMPS was 93 and he had another mild hypo during the day. But a couple of days ago, when I held his PM dose, his AMPS was >600. Grr. Could this cat just cooperate? BTW, I'm home all night and can check him as often as needed.

Thanks in advance.
 
It looks to me like he is definitely bouncing from those greens. Some cats bounce right after, some have a higher number the next cycle. I would reduce the dose a smidge and see if he flattens out.
 
And definitely don't shoot a 96. You could stall for 30 minites without feeding, but I doubt he will get high enough to shoot. i'd start tomorrow with a little lower dose, knowing he will probably bounce from the green today.
 
Feed as usual and expect a crazy high number again in the AM and then dose with 1 U? Just making sure I understand.

Thanks,
Lisa
 
He's supposed to have a glucose check at the vet on Thursday. I wanted a spreadsheet that proved to my vet that I got this not that his numbers are all over the place. (However, it was her that upped his dose to 2 U and started this rollercoaster)
 
Hi Lisa,

I agree with Sue about keeping to the 1 unit.

I can absolutely understand why you tried the 1.5 units (seeing Ben in those high 'flat' numbers must have been hard), but it was just too much in the circumstances. The combination of the higher dose and (probably) the rebound effect wearing off has dropped him too low.
If you keep to 1 unit you may well find that that numbers settle out and you get preshots than you can shoot AM and PM.

There are some situations in which it is possible to shoot into rebound. I've done it myself with my own kitty. But it requires a fair amount of data history to attempt that safely. My cat's rebounds lasted a long time (days) so I learned that I could raise the dose in the initial phase of that and lower his numbers a bit without too much risk. But problems can arise; for example, when the dose is raised and then the rebound wears off during that cycle. (Yikes!).

My cat saw a lot of very high numbers for a long time after his dx. I found it helpful to increase his fluid intake during those periods to make sure he was well hydrated. He seemed more comfortable and, interestingly, it seemed to lower his BG a tad too. I made 'chicken soup' for him (simmered chicken carcass in water and then reduced the stock) and froze it in muffin tins to thaw and warm as needed. But others might simply add extra water to the normal food! :lol:

It's early days, Lisa. And you're doing brilliantly. But this is a stage that requires patience, Grasshopper. ;-)

Eliz
 
Thanks, Eliz and Sue. I shall practice my patience. His sugar was "HI" this morning but I gave 1 U. I'll check him later and see what happens. Thanks again for everyone's advice and stories of their own experiences.
 
I'd suggest giving one unit 3 cycles, at least, to see if he smooths out and you can shoot every 12 hours. Then, if he is in the yellows and pinks overall, increase by .25 for 3 cycles to see how that impacts his numbers. Gradually increasing and watching the numbers is the best way to get to a good dose.

Have you seen the ProZinc protocol we put together?

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=109077

I did see that he had trace ketones this am. Watch that carefully! I'd add some water to his wet food to make a gravy to get some more fluid in. Is he eating well? Does he have an infection? If he registers anything over a trace, you need to have him checked out by a vet.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
II did see that he had trace ketones this am. Watch that carefully! I'd add some water to his wet food to make a gravy to get some more fluid in. Is he eating well? Does he have an infection? If he registers anything over a trace, you need to have him checked out by a vet.

He is being treated for a UTI so that might explain the ketones. AMPS was "HI" again but I stuck with 1 U and rechecked at +6 and it came down to 250. Much better than a dump into the green like last time.
 
So now he has PMPS is 107. So I don't give them a shot tonight, right? But does that mean that I'm going to get the crazy +600 again in the morning?
 
The good news is it looks like one unit is a little too much. The bad news is that makes tonight hard. If it won't ruin your schedule, you could wait till he gets to 200 and shoot - but you'd have to plan to shoot 12 hours after that shot.

Interesting that your pmps was so low on one unit.
 
Two hours after the time he should've had his shot and it still only 107. So I'll hold the shot and try .8 in the a.m. Besides kitty wants his dinner. :-D
 
Here we are again. AMPS was "HI" on the meter again. I'm starting to think it just wants to greet me in the morning. :lol: Gave 0.8 U using a U100 syringe (2 on that syringe) which has such tiny markings that I had to bust out the reading glasses. I'm going back to bed now since I have to work tonight but will do a +6 check when I get up.
 
Please don't increase based on pre-shot numbers. Increase baased on the nadir, ie how low the dose takes him.

OK. Saw your response.
 
BJM said:
Please don't increase based on pre-shot numbers. Increase baased on the nadir, ie how low the dose takes him.
I'm not increasing. I'm actually decreasing because he drops too low for a PM shoot.
 
OK. (I need to wake up some more!)

And I think the antibiotic is definitely kicking in. Fingers crossed.
 
PMPS was 193. So I'm giving 0.8 U again and hoping for a reasonable number in the AM. I'll sneak home from work in the middle of the night to check a sugar as well.
 
+6 was 199. Can't wait to see what AMPS is. Dare I hope I might have hit on the right dose?!?

BTW, I updated my SS with the right dates. I was only a month off. :lol:
 
There is a reason we call this a sugar "dance". The right dose today may not be the right dose by the end of the week. Especially in the beginning, their body is adjusting to the insulin and the wet low carb is reducing the numbers, and they can continue to lower overall. That is one of the many reasons why home testing is so important! You have to stay on top of the numbers and be sure to always test before shooting.
 
AMPS was 181 so I went ahead and gave the 0.8 U again. Was nice not to see a cheery "HI" from the glucometer.
 
Knew it was too good to be true. +6 was 45. So I gave a little gravy lovers FF and will recheck in a little bit. Seriously, this cat is determined to wreck any sleep I might possibly get.
 
Good problem to have! Sounds like he would like to go off insulin maybe?

Yes, check again in 20 minutes to be sure he is rising, not falling. And tonight, he has earned a dose reduction. (He might bounce up at pmps, from a low he hasn't seen in a while, but I would still lower the dose.)
 
If he is under 200 at his PMPS, should I go ahead and give him 0.5 U? I work tonight so I might night be able to get home to check him during the night.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Good problem to have! Sounds like he would like to go off insulin maybe?
Yes, check again in 20 minutes to be sure he is rising, not falling. And tonight, he has earned a dose reduction. (He might bounce up at pmps, from a low he hasn't seen in a while, but I would still lower the dose.)
Seconding everything Sue said.
It's looking good for your boy, Lisa. :smile:
 
Maybe if he is over 180, . 5 would be okay. I wouldn't shoot under 180. He is steadily dropping (which is great!)

Did you get another test? Is he rising?
 
Math skills suck when I'm tired. The 45 was at the +4 mark not +6. At +6 he's come up to 229. So should definitely get a shootable number at PMPS. Plan on giving him 0.4 U because that is easier on a U100 syringe.
 
Hi Lisa,

That 0.4U should be fine.
It looks like Ben may be bouncing again, but don't be put off by that. This is definitely an improving picture. If the trend continues you may expect that Ben's insulin requirements will drop further over the next few days...

Eliz
 
PMPS was 380. I gave him 0.4 U. I'll try to sneak home from work around the +4-5 mark and see what his sugar does.
 
+5 number tonight was 267. Not bad considering this morning's drop. Going back to work confident that he won't bottom out before I get home in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top