She has it

Status
Not open for further replies.

racn1320

Member Since 2014
My vet called today and told me my cat has diabetus,said the level should be 110 and hers is 400,does this sound right?? Are those numbers for sure she has it?? Any help would be nice.
 
Very very likely. Vet stress can raise BG by 100-150.
Has your cat (name?) been on steroids? That can induce diabetes but with stopping it remission is very likely.
Did yo hat have other symptoms?
How old is the cat?
What were you reading?
 
She lost about 4 lbs in one year,she felt boney,esp her spine. Vet checked her physically and said ok but to be sure have blood panel done,so I did. Results 400. IS this something i need to treat/get insulin? She is fine otherwise,eats,drinks alot,always has since a kitten. she is almost 8 and weighs abouyt 13.5 lbs now
 
No excessive drinking or eating?
How old is she?
Did the vent find any other problems with the blood work? There are other problems that can cause weight loss.
Sometimes a change to a low-carb canned food can cause remission if you were feeding dry food. However, usually insulin is required but many cats go into remission (OTJ-off the juice) with a short course of insulin.
 
Yes, this is something you have to treat. Otherwise she will starve to death while eating like a horse. You will want to get her on insulin as soon as possible the best insulin for a cat are Lantus, Levemir and ProZinc or BCP PZI, you do not want NPH. NPH is cheap but does not work well for felines as they have a very high metabolism rate.

You will also want to switch her diet to a low carb/high protein all canned or Raw diet. No need to buy expensive prescription food for her, most of us feed Fancy Feast Classics or Friskies Pate Style canned to name a couple that are usually available in most grocery stores in the US.

You will also want to get a human glucometer, if there is a Walmart near you they have a nice little meter called the Relion Confirm/Micro, and test strips to fit it, as well as a lancing device and lancets to fit it.

We can teach you how to test by pricking the edge of her ear.

I'm sure others will be along shortly with all kinds of links and tips and tricks to get you started, I need to run out right at the moment but wanted to at least pop in and answer your question quickly and Welcome you the FDMB Family.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
she is 8 and does and always has drank alot,since a kitten. All the vet said was only had diabetus at 400,is this high?? she will not eat canned food,only dry food,have tried over the years and diffrent kinds.
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Yes, this is something you have to treat. Otherwise she will starve to death while eating like a horse. You will want to get her on insulin as soon as possible the best insulin for a cat are Lantus, Levemir and ProZinc or BCP PZI, you do not want NPH. NPH is cheap but does not work well for felines as they have a very high metabolism rate.

You will also want to switch her diet to a low carb/high protein all canned or Raw diet. No need to buy expensive prescription food for her, most of us feed Fancy Feast Classics or Friskies Pate Style canned to name a couple that are usually available in most grocery stores in the US.

You will also want to get a human glucometer, if there is a Walmart near you they have a nice little meter called the Relion Confirm/Micro, and test strips to fit it, as well as a lancing device and lancets to fit it.

We can teach you how to test by pricking the edge of her ear.

I'm sure others will be along shortly with all kinds of links and tips and tricks to get you started, I need to run out right at the moment but wanted to at least pop in and answer your question quickly and Welcome you the FDMB Family.

Mel and The Fur Gang


Ive tried the wet food she wont go for it,can you recommned a dry food that would help instead of buying 52.00 vet food all the time?? Will she have insulin shots likes the rest of her life?? is 400 to high??? my mom and dads cat had a 247 level and didnt treat it and was fine.
 
There is only one dry food I would feed but...like the prescription foods...( which aren't good foods) . it's not cheap.

https://www.youngagainpetfood.com/10browse.asp?ProductCode=92100&category=cats
it's the one food I have seen cats get back down to regular numbers.

But that's not the only consideration with a diabetic cat.

The best choice is to get your cat to convert to wet food but that does take some convincing with a few cats....

Being diabetic means the kidneys are stressed and continuing with dry food will ultimately keep that stress on the kidneys....
kidneys are a cats weakest organ.

Just like diabetic people, this is a manageable disease....
there is just a lot to learn at first and then it will get easier.
You have lots of support here on this site with so many who have been where you are.
Keep asking questions.....
we can help you figure it out.
 
Im going to try and switch to wet food under 10 calories starting next weekend, I want to get her better first then switch. Then i wont have to buy prescript dry food i hope. Went to pharmacy and got lantus solo pen and pen needles,they said it was much cheaper and easier to use,anybody have thoughts on that?
 
rhiannon and shadow said:
Yes. The pen is a cheaper way to go.
But you want to think of the pen like a vial. You still need syringes...
you just draw out of the pen. here's the info on drawing from a pen

The reason is that you don't always have a 1 unit dose.... the pen dispenses 1 unit increments ..

read that information ....

Nice info! Not that it prob matters but my pen vial goes in hlf incr. maybe try it this way then get non/pen or??
 
Welcome to FDMB!

Yes, 400 is high. When I took my grandkitty, Hank, to the vet 2 times to get his BG checked, both times it was over 700. And that was on the alpha trac, pet meter!

A normal BG on a human meter is 50-120.

It's very important to test his BG before each shot. If ever the pre shot number is 200 or less, you should skip the shot or recheck in 30 min without feeding before the retest.

The reason is the insulin could lower his BG levels way below the safe zone (bg above 50). Please read and print what to do for hypo's. I did.
Have corn syrup, pancake syrup, high carb cat treats or anything else suggested in article available just in case he goes too low.

One time Hank went to 49. I gave him 12 kitty treats! I know, I panicked!! He was fine, just scared me.

Maybe this has happened because of the steroids so maybe with diet and insulin he'll go into remission soon.

I just converted Hank to wet food this week by sprinkling a few soft kitty treat pieces on top of wet. It worked!

He has only ate dry food for 11 years. So this has been a challenge since I got him from my son on Sept 18, 2014.

You can do it but it may be a little work.

Kimmie
 
Could you add a few things to your signature, to help us give you better feedback?

Go to the top left of the screen.
Click on User Control Panel.
Click on Profile
Click on Edit Signature
A text box displays.
This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
Add any other text, such as
your name, cat's name,
city, state,country
date of Dx (diagnosis)
insulin
meter
any other pertinent issues like food issues, allergies, IBD,

etc.
Then Click on Submit to save it.
 
Yes, regular corn syrup is fine.

What you're going to do, if ever you need to, is to rub that on their gums or pour a tablespoon on wet gravy food or dry kibble. This is to raise the BG levels FAST.

Did you find the article on Hypo's? It's on the main health board before everyone's new posts. I started a folder on info that I can refer to. So I printed it out and put in the folder. If not, maybe someone can send the link so all you have to do is click on it.

Sorry, I'm not very computer savey. I'm shocked but did have a little trouble, that I was able to get Hank's SS up. :smile:

Kimmie
 
Anything sweet, corn syrup, honey, pancake syrup it all works just fine to bring up numbers fast. It's the sugar content that you want, in a pinch even vanilla ice cream works. Just nothing with chocolate as chocolate is poisonous to a dog or cat.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Are there difffrent amounts of sugar in corn syrup or pretty much all same, stoping at store after work
 
Pretty much all the same, unless it says sugar free you're good to go. Personally I just use regular honey since that is what I always have on hand in the kitchen. It only takes a drop to bring the numbers up fast and you aren't trying to shoot them over the moon, just get the numbers back up above 50 if she is sinking too low. Hopefully you will never have to pull out the hypo kit. In 4 years with 5 different cats I think I may have had to use mine twice.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Larry it's Lantus

I think the OP might be looking at the unit marks on the glass itself that shows how much insulin is left in the pen, not the dial on the top that sets the dose. Because even the makers of the Solostar pen doesn't say they have one with 1/2 units for dosing. I went and checked to see if that was something new they came out with.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Does it look like this?



If it does those are full unit marks not half unit marks and that is the only Solostar pen that I know of.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 

Attachments

  • solostar_injection_pen.jpg
    solostar_injection_pen.jpg
    14.7 KB · Views: 595
MommaOfMuse said:
Does it look like this?



If it does those are full unit marks not half unit marks and that is the only Solostar pen that I know of.

Mel and The Fur Gang


yea thats its,your right 1 increments
 
well you the pen needles will not work,says the vet,i agree,and you were right,had to go get need;es/syringes.
 
To calculate a starting dose for Lantus when starting out:
How much does she weigh?
How much should she weigh?
Convert to kilograms (pounds / 2.2)
Multiply by 0.25
Round down to the nearest 0.25 units

For other insulins, 0.5 to 1.0 units are safe starting doses in many cases.

Test the blood glucose before you shoot.
If below 200 mg/dL on a human glucometer, wait 30 minutes without feeding and re-test.
If above 200 mg/dL, you may shoot
If the re-test is rising and above 150 mg/dL, AND you'll be home to monitor, you may be OK to shoot.
As you get more test data, you'll learn how your cat responds.
 
She weighs 13.5 lbs. I dont have a home test im going back to vet for them to test little over a week. They said 2 units but i was think maybe a little over one. Ill have to.wake up feed her,few min later give her shot then im off to work for 10 hrs. So i wont be home to monitor as of monday.
 
I favor the starting at 1 unit or just barely above.
It takes time for Lantus to build up a depot.
The only number you shared was a 400.
Maybe one of our members could help you get a spreadsheet started....
the folks here need a little bit of data to help guide you.

There are several sticky's you might want to read .... the first five topics here
 
racn1320 said:
She weighs 13.5 lbs. I dont have a home test im going back to vet for them to test little over a week. They said 2 units but i was think maybe a little over one. Ill have to.wake up feed her,few min later give her shot then im off to work for 10 hrs. So i wont be home to monitor as of monday.

If she is currently underweight, that would start her at 1.5 units.

If she is overweight, I'd start with1.0 units or less.
 
Ill prob do just a little over one,i just hope the vet doesnt yell at me ... she used to weigh 18 lbs. She is almost 8. No other health issues. Im just worried when im gone at work,making sure she is ok. Thats why im a little hesitent about 2 units. If they start to go into hy? How long do they have before they wont survive? If i ever came home and she was gone id be devastated.
 
Im.sorry,she is 8 years old and used to weight around 17 lbs now down to 13.75. All in a year. She seems to be acting better,not sure if that is possible or not?
 
Of course it is possible. Both getting the food switched and getting insulin to bring down the glucose should help her feel much better and begin resuming her more regular behaviors.
 
Would you please add that information to your User Control Panel that BJM asked you about adding? It sure would help us out and help us to help you better. Sure do appreciate you considering doing this.
 
Deb & Wink said:
Would you please add that information to your User Control Panel that BJM asked you about adding? It sure would help us out and help us to help you better. Sure do appreciate you considering doing this.

How is this done,not comp savy lol. Or if someone wants baby step me threw this. I could use the help then you all would have more info
 
To edit your signature:

Go to the top left of the screen.
Click on User Control Panel.
Click on Profile
Click on Edit Signature
A text box displays.
This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.

Add any other text, such as
your name, cat's name,
city, state,country
date of Dx (diagnosis)
insulin
meter
any other pertinent issues like food issues, allergies, IBD,

etc.
Then Click on Submit to save it.
 
Alrighty! Let's get you started using our grid to record your glucose tests. It will help us give you better feedback.

Instructions are here.

Understanding the spreadsheet/grid:

The colored headings at the top are the ranges of glucose values. They are color-coded to clue you in as to meaning.

Each day is 1 row. Each column stores different data for the day.

From left to right, you enter
the Date in the first column
the AMPS (morning pre-shot test) in the 2nd column
the Units given (turquoise column)

Then, there are 11 columns labeled +1 through +11
If you test at +5 (5 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +5 column
If you test at +7 (7 hours after the shot), you enter the test number in the +7 column
and so on.

Halfway across the page is the column for PMPS (evening pre-shot)
To the right is another turquoise column for Units given at the evening shot.

There is second set of columns labeled +1 through +11
If you snag a before bed test at +3, you enter the test number in the +3 column.

We separate day and night numbers like that because many cats go lower at night.

It is merely a grid for storing the info; no math required.
 
Ill see if I can do this soon. Wont be really testing until next week. Is it normal to do it daily or every other day?
 
Too much insulin kills quickly. Too little insulin kills slowly. That is why we test.

We test before each shot every day to see if it is safe to give insulin.

We test sometime during the middle between shots to see how low the glucose is going and how effective the dose is. Any time you change or start dosing, you want to do this so you can keep your cat safe. You do this on weekends, or set an alarm at night if you can't get mid-day tests.
 
If you need help creating a spreadsheet.... there are folks here who can help.
Let us know and we'll get one to come post.


Did you start giving insulin?
And what amount?

once we get you a spreadsheet.... we are able to see the answer to these types of questions.

You definitely want to monitor/test when you can.... that's the only way you will keep your kitty safe.
Not all vets recommend testing because they don't think the client will do it.
But it's very important. Hypos can happen really fast and often by the time you recognize the symptoms, they are in real danger.

We can help you learn everything you need to do.
At first, it is overwhelming.... but it does get better
We've all been there ... that's why we are willing to help others.
 
Im using lantus,dr said two units i do usually one or maybe one and half. Ill ssk info of home testing while at vets next week.
 
Just bought some fancy feast classic,how much do u recommend to give her before insulin? Half a can? Thx for the help everyone
 
It depends on how often you feed.....

I have given anywhere from 1/4 to 1/2 of the 3 oz cans....
especially when they are so hungry in the early stages of diabetes.


My 16 lb girl eats 2 3 oz cans a day... sometimes more depending on the food and the day. I also feed her several mini meals, day and night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top