Sharess still the bouncer

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vicky & Sharess

Member Since 2022
Previous Thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/sharess-the-bouncer.272749/#post-3066736

Hello everyone,

My sugar baby has almost no black numbers anymore, but she is still a bouncer. We are following the MODIFIED PROZINC METHOD but today my vet told me that nadirs of 80 are very low, although the Prozinc protocol says that I should not lower the dose unless it is below 50... It keeps me super confuse. What should I do?

On the other hand, Libre2 is not reliable at low numbers, and whenever the Hypoglycemia alarm warms me, I measure Sharess' glucose manually and it gives about 20 above every time.

Sharess continues to do very strange things at night: Sometimes she stays at approx 250 all night without going down too much, but during the day she goes down really fast... It makes me wonder if I have to high the dose 0.25 at night and lower the dose 0.25 in the morning... thoughts?
 
I’m not a prozync user so I can’t advise you on dosing. I’m following TR and using Lantus which also only allows for reductions if the bg goes under 50. I’ll say this, vets are not used to those lower numbers they dose by the preshot numbers not the nadir. My vet was also weird about anything under 90 but it makes no sense to me because when the normal range is 50-120, 90 and 80 are completely safe and it’s a normal bg for a non diabetic cat. They want to see a range of 100-200 because that’s how they advise on dosing. My advice to you is trust the protocol. Your cat will benefit a lot more from it than from your vet’s advice :cool:
 
My vet likes Meeko to be in the 200s at his nadir! Now I just don’t mention my nadir goals. I guess vets mostly deal with caretakers who aren’t comfortable home testing so they don’t want to risk hypoglycemia episodes with cats who drop into the low 100s.
 
Hahaha thanks so much for the tips. My husband has told me the same thing about vets :woot:

I am still confused with the difference between the day and night numbers, but the truth is that it works very well if I increase the dose by 0.25 only at night, although it is not exactly the Prozinc protocol. I've gotten her to go from being over 600 daily to her rarely going over 450 since we started this sugar fight back on December... I hope she gets a full remision sometime. fingers crossed :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top