? Shakti AMBG 97, skipped and had nadir of 48 regardless

Voordeliefstepoes

Member Since 2025
Hi all,

I've been out a few days trying to figure stuff out with our baby. She's been doing very well since we stopped with the higher carb, more stable, lower curve. We've been skipping her drop dose here and there due to low values, and we've noticed her curve keeping relatively low without it. Currently we're sort of playing it by ear, giving insulin at shot times when the curve is trending upwards too much. We think this approach is working. We've been monitoring during low dips, and we feed her LC then, we notice she goes back up by herself and doesn't have any issues.
I guess my question is whether I should skip tonight or dose drop based on today's graph.

link to prev ? - 26/8 Shakti -- AMPS 408?? What am I doing?- questions
 
Hi all,

I've been out a few days trying to figure stuff out with our baby. She's been doing very well since we stopped with the higher carb, more stable, lower curve. We've been skipping her drop dose here and there due to low values, and we've noticed her curve keeping relatively low without it. Currently we're sort of playing it by ear, giving insulin at shot times when the curve is trending upwards too much. We think this approach is working. We've been monitoring during low dips, and we feed her LC then, we notice she goes back up by herself and doesn't have any issues.
I guess my question is whether I should skip tonight or dose drop based on today's graph.

link to prev ? - 26/8 Shakti -- AMPS 408?? What am I doing?- questions
Glad Shakti is doing well.
I hope you get an answer soon about your dose or if to shoot tonight 🥰
 
She very well could be becoming food controlled. No need to monitor closely when not giving insulin. Just feed her lc like you normally do and get a few tests each cycle. If she trends up you will then go back to a drop dose. If low and she did not get insulin no need to worry. Many cats normally test under 50 at times. Exciting times!
 
Last edited:
I see that 205 in there at +6. 😿. Looks like she'll need a drop again tonight. Any other reason her sugars might have gone higher, such as stress? Many years ago I remember another cat whose caregiver had to give a "drop as needed" or when the numbers started climbing up.

By any chance, have you been testing any of those Libre under 50's with the human meter?
 
I see that 205 in there at +6. 😿. Looks like she'll need a drop again tonight. Any other reason her sugars might have gone higher, such as stress? Many years ago I remember another cat whose caregiver had to give a "drop as needed" or when the numbers started climbing up.

By any chance, have you been testing any of those Libre under 50's with the human meter?
I have a few days ago but not today. She did drop again andere is now quite low again..
 
I skipped, but I am keeping into account that I might need to shoot tomorrow morning, I'll let it depend on the PM curve then. She dropped quite steeply right around shot times so I did not consider it safe as I won't be up if it goes wrong. It does seem like it may be a "drop as needed" kind of situation the following days or weeks. We'll see!


Sugars do seem to drop also a while after eating, so that seems to be a good thing.
 
It's fine you skipped. I would love to know what caused her to go up to 205, that was quite the jump! I do like that she's bringing it down after eating. The pancreas is at least partially working.
 
I should have shot! Last night her values were higher. So I dosed this morning. Small drop. Seems to be helping :)
I also wonder what caused the jump. She had some soft stools this morning and seems a bit tired, but that happens more often if she's bouncy.
 
Back
Top