Shakes - 5/25 interesting

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Very Active Member
Hello everyone!
hope you all are doing well in PZI land!

I decided to take up someones idea and try goving shakes a higher carb wet food
instead of a very little dry Evo to bring down his amps or pmps and it did not work

He had a preshot of 400!!

not good....

so, I will not give anymore higher carb food and just a touch of dry if I need to bring down the preshot

I upped him today to 3 units per my vet, (I am home today due to a wisdom tooth extraction yesterday..FUN)
so I am keeping an eye on him
his amps was 328 and +4 was 273
so I think we need to settle into this dose for awhile
hope all is well and we will talk to you later

Denise and Shakes
 
My two cents from our personal experience is to try and hold onto a dose for awhile (numbers permitting obviously) and see what happens. That has worked for us recently. Things are still evolving after two weeks at the same dose (and the same low carb canned food). I am thinking some kitties need that on PZ.
Hopefully this 3 units will be good for Shakespeare and you can get those preshoots down.
All the best comin your way :)
 
Maybe I am not remembering this from other threads, but why are you giving higher carb food to combat higher numbers? It seems counter intuitive to me confused_cat
 
I don't know much but I was thinking the same thing as Kelly. I thought the HC or dry food would raise BG? Maybe I read it wrong?
 
Some background - she has been feeding a few pieces of EVO dry and found it seems to lower the PS. I recalled a thread on Health that some cats respond better with a little bit of carb, rather than the lowest carb possible - I'm guessing something to do with how it stimulates the pancreas. So I suggested a compromise of some canned food more in the 10% range (on a limited basis) to see if that would let her get the dry out of the picture. Guess that experiment did not work. :razz:
 
Thanks Joanna for summarizing
and no, it did not work, so I am still perplexed as to why the dry food brings down his ps,
but I guess I will just have to take what I can get!

Thanks for all the input
!

Denise and shakes
 
Could be that the dry food takes longer for the body to process, so it is more of a time release of the carbs, whereas the wet food is processed quicker and hits the body quicker, and is out of the system quicker. Could be, could not be, but it is a thought.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top