Shaikha not doing well again

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Active Member
I'm back again with some questions about how to deal with Shaikha. She has steroid-induced diabetes from prednisolone used to treat intractable pancreatitis and IBD. After her fairly severe pancreatitis refused to wane much, we ended up trying leukeran last May. That drug unfortunately gave her severe anemia, so we had to stop it after only a few doses. It was suggested that we switch to cyclosporine, but I decided against it and just continued with steroids because I was afraid it wouldn't work for her pancreatitis and might create problems similar to leukeran. She did relatively well on pred alone until February of this year. We had some flares of pancreatitis, but they usually were of short duration and managed with fluids and buprenorphine.

In February she developed symptoms that pancreatitis was returning -- soft stools, followed by rising blood glucose levels, then pain, skittishness/hiding, and inappetence. Then she developed a very high fever (UTI, we think), which had to be treated with IV fluids and antibiotics for several days. Her BG levels also went dangerously high due to her fever, so much so that she ended up with diabetic neuropathy. After she recovered, we debated what to do about steroids, since the higher the dose, the worse her BG levels are. I tried using half what we'd been using (2.5 mg vs. 5 mg) daily, but her symptoms got worse. My vet felt she had more problems with IBD, so we added in flagyl to her treatment and also changed her food since she refused to touch the d/d anymore. After posting here, I decided to try budesonide. Unfortunately, that hasn't been the success I'd hoped for. I was not able to taper her off pred totally, and in fact, even with the slowest taper possible, the lower the pred dose got, the worse she got. Eventually I had to increase her back up to 5mg pred in addition to the budesonide. Unfortunately, throughout this period, her blood glucose levels have not been very predictable and have been way too high (over 350-450 pre-meal), so obviously we need to figure out how to fix this. To complicate matters, during the period we started the budesonide I had to switch to PZI insulin.

Though I know that budesonide has worked well for some, I'm thinking the combination of steroids is too much and at least for her pancreatitis, doesn't seem to be working for her. I'm doing a taper off budesonide now as we've given it 1.5 months. Another reason for trying to reduce the steroids is that her red cell counts are dropping again (21% post-infection and 17.9% on Friday) and we are not sure why. It could be a GI bleed, but BUN is fine and we've not been able to find blood in her stools and they look very normal. I am hoping that being off the budesonide will make her BG levels improve, but it also could be that the PZI just isn't working and we may need to switch to another insulin like Lantus. Retic counts show only mild regeneration (1.3%) despite the anemia, which is a concern as well.

I've got two questions for you all:

1. For budesonide users, any idea what a normal taper should be like? I'm doing every other day, then was going to switch to every two days before stopping, but since it isn't very systemic I wasn't sure if it needed to be tapered a lot or not.

2. My vet is suggesting we consider putting her on cyclosporine, since he thinks it may help her IBD and anemia. My concern is that it can also cause inappetance, which isn't good for diabetes, and the last time I'd posted about this after the leukeran debacle it also seems that it can cause issues with pancreatitis. If it won't fix the pancreatitis, then we can't get her off steroids, and if we can't get her off steroids, then we can't fix a GI bleed if one exists.

I guess the big question is whether the IBD has caused the pancreatitis, so if we can get that controlled by something then perhaps the other symptoms would go away, but budesonide alone doesn't appear to be working to calm her pancreas so I'm not sure cyclosporine would either. And of course, cyclosporine can also suppress bone marrow, and she's got issues with that already. I'd love to be able to find something that would reduce her steroid use as it would help the diabetes, but not if it causes other problems. I do have her on a new hypoallergenic food that is giving her the best stools I've seen in ages, so that's a good thing.

Any ideas? This has not come at the best time for me, as I had to help another of my cats to the Bridge on Wednesday due to complications from anemia and renal failure. I found out the day after I'd lost Tabriz that Shaikha's HCT had fallen below 20%. I'm a little overwhelmed right now. What is worse, I've got an overseas trip planned for work in May, and I really need to have Shaikha stable and in a safe zone for PCV before I leave. We did put her on Nutrived and I've added folic acid in addition to her B12 shots, but not sure what else we can do to reverse the anemia.
 
Dear Wendy, and, of course, you too, sweet Shaikha,

Well, gosh, you both have a boat load of stuff going on, don't you? It's okay to sigh... Sighing is a form of breathing after all...

I'm just going to tell you, dear Wendy, that I understand next to little of what's going on with Shaikha. There are others here on The Board who will understand more to much more.

I do understand how much you clearly love your furry girl. I also understand, and know this to be true, diabetes can often be treated as a secondary illness. Meaning, you can shoot around whatever Shaikha medically needs for her other issues.

What insulin did you give her before the switch to PZI? I'm asking because I'm curious. I humbly think PZI might be a good insulin for Shaikha and her other issues because it is more flexible than Lantus or Levemir. You aren't forced to that 12/12 shooting schedule with PZI. There is wiggle room that you and Shaikha might need given her other meds. You can probably verify this with the PZI Support Group here on The Board.

My mom has suffered from rheumatoid arthritis for over 40 years. She's also on pred and wears a prednisone medical alert bracelet. No, she's not a cat. But, I have learned a lot about both the wonders and, yes, drawbacks, of even low-dose steroid use long term... In my mom's case, with her waning RA options, it continues to be her miracle drug as it quells her flareups and pain somewhat...

I'm sorry I can't answer your questions, dear Wendy. But, I can and do offer my good thoughts and prayers for you and your precious Shaikha. I know what it is to be a worried mom and daughter...

Love and hopeful healing hugs for you both,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart...
 
Thank you so much for your kind reply, Deb. Shaikha was on Vetsulin before. She actually did pretty well on it, so we used the last of the bottles my vet had on her. I'm glad to hear that PZI is more forgiving than Lantus, actually. With my work schedule, that's probably for the best, as my husband can't always get here 12 hours after her other dose, and he won't check her glucose levels. He is good about giving her the shot, but she wiggles too much for him to test glucose. I've got a friend taking care of them in a little while, so a more forgiving insulin would probably help with her schedule as well.

I realized that I've got to update her profile (edit -- updated 4/17) and glucose charts (edit -- updated 4/17, though not all BG readings or insulin doses recorded -- went through several busy periods and I got sloppy on records). She currently takes:

5 mg prednisolone daily, split into two doses AM and PM
1/4 tablet flagyl
zeniquin (one tablet per day; prescribed a few days ago for another UTI)
1/8 tablet zantac, BID (for acid control)
1/4 tablet ondansetron (for nausea due to IBD; she goes off food if I stop this), BID
Also gets B12 shot weekly, plus folic acid daily now + nutrived for anemia
Is also getting d-mannose for the UTIs -- am hoping that may help with symptoms and as a preventative for future ones

She is taking budesonide still, but will be off it entirely the end of this week. She took one today, and her next doses will be Wednesday and Saturday before we stop it entirely.
PZI dose is 2 units, 2x per day. Her BG this AM was 253, which is the best I've seen it in at least a week. Yesterday it was in the 370s each time, and the day before in the 400s. It has been bouncing all over.
 
What did yur vet say about tapering the budesonide? I would not expect a taper since he is on the pred. I switched my Bailey from 1.5 mg sid of budesonide to 5 mg bid of prednesolone with no taper, just changed. Bailey BG fluctuated a lot and I would just add N insulin with high PSs, above about 400. Sometimes with with low BG I would reduce the Lantus dose. My Mitten is on budesonide and her BG fluctuate a lot also and I sometime give N.
 
Dear Wendy, and, of course, you too, precious sweet Shaikha,

I'm so glad Larry responded. He knows his special needs kitties and is a treasure around here...

wombat88 said:
I'm glad to hear that PZI is more forgiving than Lantus, actually. With my work schedule, that's probably for the best, as my husband can't always get here 12 hours after her other dose, and he won't check her glucose levels. He is good about giving her the shot, but she wiggles too much for him to test glucose. I've got a friend taking care of them in a little while, so a more forgiving insulin would probably help with her schedule as well.
Well, then, PZI is the way to go! Do cross post on the PZI Support Group here to get their input as well. They're in the sugar trenches daily with this insulin.

There was a post here recently about bribing husbands into home testing. I'll look it up for you. It was most informative and entertaining! (Just don't quote me or the sources on that...)

wombat88 said:
I realized that I've got to update her profile (edit -- updated 4/17) and glucose charts (edit -- updated 4/17, though not all BG readings or insulin doses recorded -- went through several busy periods and I got sloppy on records).
Thank you for updating! Info always helps! (Regarding getting sloppy on the records, life happens...)

Love and hopeful healing hugs, thoughts and prayers for you both,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
PS: Found the bribing significant others post...

Link to whole post: viewtopic.php?f=28&t=40631

Actual quote:
Would it be possible to bribe your husband into doing tests? My boyfriend would not do them at first, and one day I came home and Bandit's PMPS was 49. I told my boyfriend that for every week he helped bloodtest, I would take him out to the restaurant of his choice as a treat. He immediately started getting a couple numbers during the day for me. When Bandit went to lower doses and I didn't need the afternoon numbers anymore, he would call me at work and ask if there was anything at all he could do for Bandit.

I don't even think he ever noticed that used the same method on him to get him to cooperate with bloodtesting that I did with Bandit.
 
Larry and Kitties said:
What did yur vet say about tapering the budesonide? I would not expect a taper since he is on the pred. I switched my Bailey from 1.5 mg sid of budesonide to 5 mg bid of prednesolone with no taper, just changed. Bailey BG fluctuated a lot and I would just add N insulin with high PSs, above about 400. Sometimes with with low BG I would reduce the Lantus dose. My Mitten is on budesonide and her BG fluctuate a lot also and I sometime give N.

Honestly, my vet didn't know whether we should do a taper or not since it wasn't supposed to be absorbed systemically as much. He'd not used budesonide previously, and the one place he consulted about using it didn't like the drug, so they were no help. I just lost another very sick cat last week :( so we'd been preoccupied mostly with trying to keep him alive and he didn't have time to research more. To be cautious, we tapered, though we plan a faster taper than I would have done with pred.

The good news is that so far, she's doing much better without the budesonide (or as much, that is). Her BG levels yesterday and today were MUCH improved (<300, which is a good change!). I think getting her off of it will be a good thing for her BG at least. So far, no change in her behavior so that's good. She doesn't seem to be in any more pain, and her stools still look great.

Wendy
 
Hi Wendy, and, of course, you too, sweet Shaikha,

wombat88 said:
The good news is that so far, she's doing much better without the budesonide (or as much, that is). Her BG levels yesterday and today were MUCH improved (<300, which is a good change!). I think getting her off of it will be a good thing for her BG at least. So far, no change in her behavior so that's good. She doesn't seem to be in any more pain, and her stools still look great.

We love improved BG levels! And a good poop report as well...

Our hopeful healing thoughts, prayers, and hugs continue for you both,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top