Shaikha 8/9 - ketones again blah!

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Member Since 2010
Shaikha continues to be doing well. We got off schedule yesterday so she only got two shots in, so her AMPS was higher than usual as it had been 12 hours since her last shot. She may have bounced a little too as I gave a little more insulin in the PM to compensate for less throughout the day. One thing for sure is the lack of duration. She's nadiring very early in the cycle, usually around +3.5 to +4 and even as early as +2.5 has got a good drop going. By +5 she's rising again. One good thing in addition to lack of fever and good appetite is that she's back to 0.0 ketones on the meter. Hoping for a good day! I've got a conference later this week I'll have to juggle to get mid-day shots in, but we'll work out something. She may get some shots an hour early or late as schedule permits. She definitely cannot handle insulin less often since this flareup. She's had some periods of longer duration, but she spikes too much if she goes too long between doses. She seems to be back to using insulin up like jet fuel. Hope you all have a great day! Sorry I didn't post much yesterday; was having internet issues at home.

8/8 PMPS = 264, gave 1U (to compensate for one less shot during day; reading at +12 after AM insulin; ate canned food)
+2.5 =81
+3.5 =70
+4.5 =90

8/9 AMPS = 372, gave 0.8U (at +12 after PM insulin; back to TID dosing today; ate canned food)
+2.5 = 167
+5 = 151
+7.5 = 318
MDPS = 395, gave 0.9U (shot at +8.5; had a bit of a problem getting food into her this time)
+3 = 170
PMPS = 341, gave "fat" 0.9U (had to assist feed canned food; not interested otherwise)
+7.5 = 254
 
Re: Shaikha 8/9 - back on schedule!

I am so glad that she is feeling better,
Great numbers yesterday! :mrgreen:
It must be so difficult to do TID, you are so wonderful with her!
you are a great momma!

have a greast day!

Denise and Shakes
 
Re: Shaikha 8/9 - back on schedule!

I'm hoping those nice numbers return because she's not such a happy camper today. I think she feels okay, but she was playing games at the mid-day meal and not wanting to eat. I think she was holding out for dry food. I had to try several different options before I got enough in to give a shot. The last two days she's wanted the two foods she normally can eat blended together into a smooth thick milkshake consistency. I feel like I'm running a kitty restaurant! Hoping her PS numbers will settle out today and that I didn't throw her pancreas into too much of an uproar by missing that shot yesterday. I can stay around here today and tomorrow, but Thursday and Friday will be dicey due to meetings. Will likely have to skip the luncheons and come home for feeding/shot duty.
 
Re: Shaikha 8/9 - back on schedule!

So glad she is feeling better and is eating. Good kitty cat_pet_icon .

You will get her back on track, dont worry.
 
Re: Shaikha 8/9 - back on schedule!

I'm trying to figure out what is going on with her. I was thinking the higher numbers today were due to yesterday, but now I'm not so sure. She's not feverish, but she wanted no part of dinner. I had to syringe feed to get food into her. She did eat a couple pieces of dry food as an experiment after I'd fed her, but I didn't get the sense she'd have eaten a whole meal of it. I gave her some bupe in case she's hurting. One worry is that she's throwing ketones again -- 0.4 this time on the meter. Combined with lack of appetite and rising glucose levels I'm a little nervous. Will be around for part of tomorrow and may try to test urine if I can get her to use a box where that's possible. I've got some hydrophobic sand so may try to set that up in a litterbox and see what we find. If she's like this tomorrow I will call the vet and possibly let her camp out there during the conference. Am hoping this is just a bad day. She's acting okay, just not hungry. :cry:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top