Shaikha 7/19 TID - a definite puzzle!

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Member Since 2010
Take a look at her SS the past few days and you'll see what I mean about her being a puzzle. I thought we had a bounce (and may actually have had one) because she was staying high or even rising with insulin, BUT then I gave subQ fluid and her numbers dropped. She absorbed all the fluid very quickly too, so despite her seeming hydrated I'm not sure about that. It is possible that their her pancreatitis is acting up (causes dehydration), though that isn't consistent with the increased appetite (though higher BG is plus impact of steroids). It is also possible that she's got some infection/urinary tract thing going on that is messing with the numbers. Or it could be she just suddenly decided that less insulin was needed or was just bouncing. I can't figure it out. I'm debating between taking her to work with me and trying to get her to the vet when they open, or trying to give it another day or two and take her when my schedule is freer. She is acting fine, just hungry, so she's not fitting typical patterns for sure. I'm sort of waiting for the other shoe to drop. :shock:

Okay, you wise ones! What do you think is going on???

7/18 numbers:
+6 = 338
PMPS = 273/265, did NOT give insulin as was falling

7/19 numbers:
+13 after last insulin = 263
AMPS = 271, gave 0.6U (this was at +14 after last insulin)
+3 = 200 (tested at vet's office on their meter)
+9 = 269 (tested at vet's office on their meter)
MDPS = 335, gave 0.4U (dose given at +10 actually; vet didn't have an open bottle of PZI)
+5 = 256
+6 = 232
PMPS =
 
Yikes!
Sorry but your situation is so over my head!
If she is acting good and eating well maybe hold off on the vet....
but dont take my advice...I am still trying to figure my kitty out!!
hope you have a great day!

Denise and Shakes
 
UDPATE: I did take her to the vet this AM because with Shaikha trying to nip things in the bud is better than waiting. She tends to go south quickly.

The good news: PCV is holding at 21%, liver enzymes look good, and kidney function is better, with a drop in creatinine from 3.5 to 2.5. We suspect that her higher values were due to a kidney infection and that the antibiotics are likely the reason for the improvement in function. She didn't seem in pain on examination and looks good otherwise. No fever.

The bad news: We haven't a clue what is wrong, if anything. It could just be a simple bounce, or it could be that her pancreas is gearing up for inflammation. Unfortunately there's no way to tell that until it happens. Her appetite was down this AM and she ran away from her bowl like it was going to bite her, so that's not a good sign. She gets skittish when it is acting up. Will keep an eye on her and hopefully things will improve. I plan to keep giving fluids and just monitor. If it is pancreatitis again, there's not much else to do other than give fluids and bupe anyway. The fact that she's needed a stronger anti-nausea drug does suggest that she may be heading for another flareup. Hopefully we can keep it under control, if that's the case.

Life with this cat is one huge roller coaster! :? :shock: confused_cat
 
Yes, life with a cat is .... ohmygod_smile

Wendy, she could be having an attack but you are doing everything for it now, you are giving the bupe? She is an interesting kitty, in a weird kinda way. She needs very little insulin but it doesn't last or it lasts too long!

You are doing SQ fluids daily? I found that was really helpful when Payne's CP was acting up.

I'm sending you both good vibes from the redwoods!!
 
Good news on the vet front--at least the anemia and kidneys are improving or holding steady. Hopefully, nothing eventful is around the corner!
 
Nancy and Payne said:
Yes, life with a cat is .... ohmygod_smile Wendy, she could be having an attack but you are doing everything for it now, you are giving the bupe? She is an interesting kitty, in a weird kinda way. She needs very little insulin but it doesn't last or it lasts too long! You are doing SQ fluids daily? I found that was really helpful when Payne's CP was acting up. I'm sending you both good vibes from the redwoods!!

I didn't try bupe this morning because it was all I could do to get out the door on time with cat and stuff for work, but will use it if she acts like that again at the mid-day dose. I was doing subQ fluids daily but stopped for a few days because she developed a fluid pocket that wasn't being absorbed fully. It is definitely gone and she sure soaked up what I gave her quickly, so I'll go back to doing it daily again. I may try giving only 75ml vs. 100ml since she's so tiny and see how that goes.

I envy you on the redwoods!!! I've never seen them but have always wanted to go. Definitely on my "to do" list. We used to live in CA but my husband always wanted to hang out at the beach so trying to do other things was a tough sell. He was really into scuba diving back then, but so was I so I didn't mind too much.

Off to pick up Shaikha and get her home for the mid-day testing and dose.
 
If you think the CP is flaring again, I would start the bupe if she is in pain, will help the attack. Payne doesn't seem like she ever has pain but I throw everything at her now in the beginning!

I also go to 75 ml SQ fluids daily when she isn't doing well, I find it keeps her hydrated and she can concentrate on healing .... trying to keep level, the yin/yang ......

Scuba diving is great! I am waiting for the gamblers (Indian gaming close) to get back, then we are going to need to eat around here so we can give Payne her mid-shot in a little over an hour! ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile THEN we are off to the redwoods and I will take some pics. They make you feel? so small and yet so big at the same time!
 
She's got bupe on board now. She got home and seemed to want to eat, but only ended up eating about maybe half of her food, if that. Something is definitely going on with her. I will try to get the rest of the food into her in a little while once the bupe has had a chance to kick in. If necessary, I'll just start assist feeding to get her full ration in. The vet said she has lost weight. I've got to start weighing her daily as that will help me to track both hydration and food intake better.

I wasn't able to get to the vet when planned and they didn't have an open bottle of PZI, so she ended up being 2 hours late on her mid-day shot again (ugh). I shot a lower dose because tonight she'll have to get an early shot. Will see how her numbers go. I wish I'd have shot 0.6 though but too late now. Then again, maybe the lower dose will help clear a bounce if there was one and it isn't CP causing this pattern.
 
UPDATE: About 90 minutes or so after her bupe, I decided to try her food again. She scarfed it all down, plus a little more I'd added to the bowl. Didn't run away from the bowl either like it would bite her like she did earlier. So whatever it is, it seems that bupe has helped. Will monitor her BG closely tonight but if it is pancreatitis kicking in, that explains a lot about her glucose levels, the increase in nausea, impact of fluids, etc.
 
Glad the bupe helped. Yikes you guys, you are leaving us in the dust. If I ever get a tummy ache I'm going to call you before a doctor.
 
For the amount of carbs she is on, it's pretty cool she is a low-dose kitty, wow! Looks like you've got a handle on things - high mid-cycle and then drop later pattern like you saw yesterday can be from the dose too high, but there are other things too like food spike, etc. that you mentioned, that could be it. Can't quite get my mind around it, but looks like the #s today are a bit better, so yay!
 
Wendy--how much bupe do you give--are you giving it orally?

At first, I was giving the injectable orally .2--bid, now I am using an oral compounded bupe at .5 bid--does that sound reasonable?

Glad the bupe helped her......I have thought about trying a little---seems like good stuff!!!!!
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
For the amount of carbs she is on, it's pretty cool she is a low-dose kitty, wow! Looks like you've got a handle on things - high mid-cycle and then drop later pattern like you saw yesterday can be from the dose too high, but there are other things too like food spike, etc. that you mentioned, that could be it. Can't quite get my mind around it, but looks like the #s today are a bit better, so yay!

I'm not entirely sure either. I also think there may have been a spike caused by dose, so I've cut her back a tad to see how that goes, but do think something else is going on. I was relieved to see the improvement in her kidney numbers though. Her urinalysis was clear too, though she was off the charts on sugar in her urine this time which wasn't good since that does tend to contribute to UTIs. Hopefully she's got enough ABs on board to ward things off.

Since the bupe there's a definite change in her attitude. She's more relaxed, less jumpy. I hadn't really noticed it, but now that she's got the bupe on board I do think something is bothering her physically.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top