Shaikha 5/30 t.i.d. Day 4 + midcycles

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Member Since 2010
Last night Shaikha was at 193 and I shot 0.8U but as you can see she spiked. I'm thinking she may actually do better with slightly less insulin given the more frequent dosing, so this AM I cut her back to 0.6U since she was again at 192 AMPS. I think we've got several things going on besides just the t.i.d. change. The most important is that I think her recent infection is over, which lowers insulin needs. Also, I think her pancreatitis and IBD flareup from April is finally calming down, which also lowers insulin needs. She's got nice normal stools now and is resting comfortably again plus her appetite is good. When she's having problems, she usually sleeps in a more guarded position, has poop problems, and you have to work to get food into her. I've not seen that. She's even using the litterbox to poop in, something I've not seen for months. She's gone outside once since I"ve been home and that was to have a less solid poop (she'd gotten a few pieces of her brother's food so that's the likely cause, but it hasn't appeared since). So all in all, I think she will be able to get by with a little less vs. more -- at least until her pancreas decides to act up again or she gets another infection. ohmygod_smile Never a dull moment with this girl. Hope my plan sounds good. I was afraid to give 0.8 this AM though given the spike last night when she was also under 200 and I shot 0.8. Will test her at +1 and +3 to see how she's doing on that score.

5/29 PMPS = 193, gave 0.8U
+2 = 369 (took another reading to confirm and it was 425 so a definite spike)

5/30 numbers:
AMPS = 192, gave 0.6U
+1 = 217
+3 = 215 (yeah, no spike!)
+6 = 129
MDPS= 214, gave 0.6U
+4 = 267 (food spike? gave snack before shot since her brother was eating dinner)
+6 = 216
PMPS = 314, gave 0.6U
+6 = 195
 
Wow you are both doing so good. I'm really glad that this is working so well for you both, the infection is gone and she is eating well. It's nice when all the P's are in place and they are feeling well.

I think it was a good idea to lower your dose a tad, we'll see how she does on this dose today.
 
Sounds like you have a handle on things, and nice to see those pretty greens & blues last night! Wonderful that she is feeling better, that is what is the most important.
 
She's doing GREAT today! No spikes!! I don't know how low she really went in the AM since I didn't test as often, but no huge swings either way which is good. Hope this continues!
 
Not bad overall today, though we are a bit inverted on the mid-day cycle today. No outrageously high numbers, which is good, but it seems she had a food or other spike earlier in the cycle and is now lower. We haven't 't been able to capture a blue this cycle. I'm guessing she's still sorting out getting insulin more often plus the changes in dose. Am still glad we are not seeing reds or blacks though. Hope that continues! One possibility on the numbers this cycle is that she may have gotten into some of her brother's food again. I gave him a snack at the same time as her MDPS meal, but cannot recall now whether I checked to ensure all pieces of his dry food were gone. If any were left, I know she scarfed them up, which might account for a food spike. That's just speculation though. It could very well be a mild bounce or a food spike from her own canned food we are seeing. She's back to eating RC Intestinal HE today, which has 10% more carbs than the rabbit I'd given her yesterday. The venison should be in later this week so I can cut the carbs again which may help some.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top