Shaikha 4/28 AM & PM PS

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Member Since 2010
Very poor appetite this AM, so had to coax her to eat again. Will call vet shortly, but will probably try to switch her to canned food as when she is feeling poorly that sometimes sparks an interest. Plus with canned, I can assist feed if needed and it will be better for her BG levels if I can get enough food into her. Here are the readings for today (will update as new readings done):

+10 512
AMPS = 560, gave 1.5U (shot 1 hour early as needed to get her on a more normal schedule)
PMPS = 489, gave 1.5U
+3 = (not done -- have been dead tired this week and needed to get to bed early)

At work a good deal today, so no curve possible, but I plan one tomorrow, especially since she seems to be feeling more poorly.
 
:YMHUG: Hope she is feeling better soon. I got confused on the food - is she normally eating dry food? I'm glad you are seeing some blues again, hopefully that will help you feel at least at little more relaxed on that front. Those all reds & blacks can be so scary.
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
:YMHUG: Hope she is feeling better soon. I got confused on the food - is she normally eating dry food? I'm glad you are seeing some blues again, hopefully that will help you feel at least at little more relaxed on that front. Those all reds & blacks can be so scary.

Yes, she's a kibble eater. I can get her to eat some wet food if she's really, really sick, but usually she will only eat a tiny bit and walk away. She'll be curious about it and nibble at it, but it only lasts a day or two and she will snub it entirely. Since she has IBD, changing flavors and foods constantly isn't a great idea (causes diarrhea), so I've had to find novel protein foods that agree with her and stick with those. Part of the problem too is food aversion caused by nausea. She'll go great with a food for a while, then go off it entirely. I can usually rotate it back in after a while, but have to go slow. For a long time I could get her to eat Hills d/d duck and green pea, and she even liked the canned after she first got diagnosed with pancreatitis. Then she went off the canned entirely and would only eat the dry. She ate that for a long time, but since her flareup in February she refuses to touch it anymore. So I had to go back to z/d, then tried various Royal Canin foods that were either low fat and highly digestible, or novel protein. Since mid-March I've been able to keep her stable on the Royal Canin hypoallergenic rabbit or soy versions. She's eating the soy right now and doing okay on it, despite this latest flareup. I've got canned versions of foods on hand that have agreed in the past along with the dry, but again unless she's really sick, eating wet food isn't an option unless I hand feed all the time.

She's unfortunately back to red and blacks, but we do think she's having a flareup of pancreatitis now. She ate okay this AM, but I also gave a painkiller. The past two days she's been VERY jumpy, and in the past that has meant she's in pain. She's also not entirely interested in food, but I've been able to get her to eat with coaxing. If she's in pain, giving treatment helps with her appetite, so her reaction this AM is confirmation that's likely what we are dealing with. Hoping we can keep this flareup minimized in duration.
 
Awwww....

I'm surprised her #s aren't higher really w/dry food. You might want to put that in your signature or something (with a note that it is all she will eat due to health issues), so people won't lose sight of that when making dosing suggestions. Reducing a dose on canned food is a different beast than reducing the dose on dry food.

Hope she is doing better ((((Hugs))))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top