Shadow's Spreadsheet

Status
Not open for further replies.

CLAIRE MARSHALL

Member Since 2021
I changed Shadow's insulin dose on the 23rd February.

I understand it can take around 7 or 10 days to level out.

Can anyone advise me on his levels.

Am I right to gradually lower the dose down?

He gets fed at 6.30am and PM every day then insulin not long after.

Extra food when he goes too low in the green areas.

His spreadsheets is attached for advice.

Thank you.
 
Does his spreadsheet and numbers look okay!?
Yes perfect, I can't give dosing advice so let's see what the others have to say :cat:

This is from the caninsulin link
The general guidelines for making dose changes are:
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
  • HOWEVER, there are some situations which signal that a larger than usual dose reduction is needed. If you are unsure, please post on this forum or in the Health forum and ask for input about your dose.
 
Yes perfect, I can't give dosing advice so let's see what the others have to say :cat:

This is from the caninsulin link
The general guidelines for making dose changes are:
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
  • HOWEVER, there are some situations which signal that a larger than usual dose reduction is needed. If you are unsure, please post on this forum or in the Health forum and ask for input about your dose.


Thank you.

I always check him at 3AM when he nadir's, and again at 6pm before dose.

Does it look like he is going slowly into remission?

His last fructosamine test was 316, vet wanted to up the dose I said no.
 
Thank you.

I always check him at 3AM when he nadir's, and again at 6pm before dose.

Does it look like he is going slowly into remission?

His last fructosamine test was 316, vet wanted to up the dose I said no.

The scale for normal on a human meter is 50-120
I don't think he's going into remission going by Shadows numbers
I wish I could be more helpful , we'll just have to wait for one on the members to reply back
 
Last edited:
I've already bought a box of 10 vials for the vet pen x
You need to buy syringes and draw out the insulin from the vet pen, insert the syringe into the rubber stopper , if it has one, I've only seen people use the vials
SYRINGES
Caninsulin and Prozinc are U40 insulins; that means they have 40 units of insulin per ml of liquid. They are used with corresponding U40 syringes.
Syringes are usually far cheaper to buy online than from your vet. You could use the Caninsulin or Prozinc branded syringes, but many UK'ers use the generic U40 syringes as they are very much cheaper. However, these are all 0.5ml which, while the same size as the Caninsulin syringes, are larger than the (0.3ml) Prozinc syringes.
There are some generics made by VetUK, and there are also 'Sol-Vet' syringes, which cost a little more. (Some UK folks consider that the Sol-Vet U40's have clearer markings and sharper needles):
VetUK U40 syringes: https://www.vetuk.co.uk/veterinary-...nsulin-syringe-with-needle-box-of-100-p-11335
Sol-Vet U40 syringes: https://www.petdrugsonline.co.uk/sol-m-u40-insulin-caninsulin-syringes-0-5ml
https://www.viovet.co.uk/SOL-V-Insu...u-bmMgyt3OomMGToKpkmtKE0G7ktXXvhoCklAQAvD_BwE


Looks something like this , even though this pic is not for a caninsulin vet pen
Look for it on your vet pen
syringe-in-pen-pic-jpg.45006
 
Last edited:
Am I right to gradually lower the dose down?
Hi Claire, the dose is absolutely TOO HIGH and needs to be reduced. He dropped into dangerous hypo levels on the current 1.5 unit dose.
If a cat drops into hypo levels the dose needs to be reduced IMMEDIATELY. 'Holding the dose' does not apply if the blood glucose drops too low. If you see the a number in the light green range then reduce the dose. Always.

Shadow has had many hypos. And when this happens it is possible that the glycogen stores in the body become depleted and unable to raise the blood glucose in an emergency. It is also possible with repeated hypos that the body can cease to recognise hypoglycemia as dangerous ('hypoglycemic unawareness').

The general advice for cats on Caninsulin is that you 'aim' to not let the blood glucose drop below about 5mmol. This is to give some protection in case the blood glucose does actually drop lower than that.
Also, no shot if the pre-shot blood glucose is below 11mmol UNLESS it is clear from the cat's blood test data that it may be safe to give insulin below this number.

As @Diane Tyler's Mom says above you can use syringes with your Vetpen cartridges. :)

Eliz
 
You need to buy syringes and draw out the insulin from the vet pen, insert the syringe into the rubber stopper , if it has one, I've only seen people use the vials
SYRINGES
Caninsulin and Prozinc are U40 insulins; that means they have 40 units of insulin per ml of liquid. They are used with corresponding U40 syringes.
Syringes are usually far cheaper to buy online than from your vet. You could use the Caninsulin or Prozinc branded syringes, but many UK'ers use the generic U40 syringes as they are very much cheaper. However, these are all 0.5ml which, while the same size as the Caninsulin syringes, are larger than the (0.3ml) Prozinc syringes.
There are some generics made by VetUK, and there are also 'Sol-Vet' syringes, which cost a little more. (Some UK folks consider that the Sol-Vet U40's have clearer markings and sharper needles):
VetUK U40 syringes: https://www.vetuk.co.uk/veterinary-...nsulin-syringe-with-needle-box-of-100-p-11335
Sol-Vet U40 syringes: https://www.petdrugsonline.co.uk/sol-m-u40-insulin-caninsulin-syringes-0-5ml
https://www.viovet.co.uk/SOL-V-Insu...u-bmMgyt3OomMGToKpkmtKE0G7ktXXvhoCklAQAvD_BwE


Looks something like this , even though this pic is not for a caninsulin vet pen
Look for it on your vet pen
syringe-in-pen-pic-jpg.45006
 
The insulin dose is currently too high for this to look like remission.

However... IF you can reduce his dose and keep him safe from hypo. And IF his insulin needs continue to decrease, then who knows, perhaps remission will happen in the future. He may be lucky...

Eliz

I've ordered the syringes from VetUK as I have an account with them, first class delivery.

Shadow is on 0 carb wet food only, Nature's Menu and Nature's Variety.

His weight is currently 5.44kg.

Considering he's only been a diabetic since October, I am very happy with what I have achieved so far, especially due to lack of help from the vets.

I will let you know when the syringes arrive which hopefully will be in the next few days.

I would like to thank everyone for taking their time to help.

I shall continue to upload his spreadsheet daily, and monitor him as normal and ask for advice when needed.
 
I've ordered the syringes from VetUK as I have an account with them, first class delivery.

Shadow is on 0 carb wet food only, Nature's Menu and Nature's Variety.

His weight is currently 5.44kg.

Considering he's only been a diabetic since October, I am very happy with what I have achieved so far, especially due to lack of help from the vets.

I will let you know when the syringes arrive which hopefully will be in the next few days.

I would like to thank everyone for taking their time to help.

I shall continue to upload his spreadsheet daily, and monitor him as normal and ask for advice when needed.
Sounds good let us know when you get the syringes and please reduce to 1 unit like Elizabeth suggested :cat: you're doing a great job testing
 
Considering he's only been a diabetic since October, I am very happy with what I have achieved so far, especially due to lack of help from the vets.
Claire, you have become extremely proficient at testing Shadow's blood glucose. Well done, you! And you are doing a great job with Shadow's spreadsheet. :bighug:
Now it's a matter of getting the dose right for Shadow, and keeping him safe from hypo.
You can do this. And we're cheering you on. :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top